We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

5.0 of 5 R536, Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    29
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
104
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (173)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

My wife and I booked a treatment at the spa, and had a wonderful experience. As we arrived my car gave trouble. They took everything out of my hands to allow us to have an awesome experience whilst my car was picked up by the dealer and a rental car was delivered. They really try their best to give you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It´s very quiet, they have an excelent service and truly kind and polite employees. It was an amazing experience in South Africa and we would like to have this kind of experience in every hotel in the world!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The most romantic place we have ever stayed. We found it to be an oasis of calm. Incredibly well organised and run. Everyone was charming, helpful and capable - a real contrast to most of our experiences in South Africa. The beauty was in all the many details. The room was fabulous but not over the top - quiet excellence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 star barefoot back to nature. Relaxing, amazing friendly staff. Food organically grown 5 star cuisine. A must for anyone looking for something out of this world....well placed for maximum privacy, the outdoor shower and bath are little touch of heaven where you are surrounded with the greenery of nature. The spa has great therapists and the setting is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cullinan, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have visited this spa for four years in a row and was least impressed by our last visit. On our first visit we were received at our arrival and showed to our lockers where our gowns etc. awaited us with our names on the locker. Unfortunately this time round no such luck. We had to go into a bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After an exhausting for 4 hours on the road, We finally arrive TEN minutes late for supper and No, apparently we can't have diner, even though it was already paid for. Shaun the manager or whoever he is was so rude !!!! Not even apologetic , just giving us directions to Spur, if we wanted Spur for our anniversary ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrevanHeerden, Owner at Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Moyo We are so sorry that we didn't manage to get hold of you to keep open the kitchen. We were expecting you at 16h00 as per your predicted eta, and called your mobile at 18h00 and again at 20h00. Assuming you were not coming anymore, we closed the Kitchen and sent the staff home, and so, it... More 

Nelspruit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this was the best weekend of our life......everything is out of this world....we were all over RSA , Africa and Europe and Summerfields Rose Retreat is the best...thanks for the 100 red roses in our room, thanks for the romantic bath.....we will come back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

my wife and I spent one night here and treated ourselves to a Swedish massage and facial. The massage was an hour long and wonderful and the massage areas are based right next to the roaring river so you lie their and have this natural water sound. The room was stunning, each room is on stilts and is a canvas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We popped in for lunch at the River Front Cafe and ordered a Caesar salad and some drinks The service was outstanding and the salad fantastic Crocodiles in the river kept us watching the river long after we had finished lunch Great value in stunning surroundings Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Summerfields is set on a beautiful working farm,with luxurious tented camps overlooking the Sabi river. The farm procedures various nuts, fruit including litchis and of course the beautiful roses. Summerfields tries to incorporate all the fresh produce into their menu's to ensure that seasonal and organic produce is used as much as possible. Breakfast and lunch are served in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536, Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay