We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
R536, Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    30
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
108
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had an absolutely great stay in summerfields. Everyone was so nice and they would do everything to make your holiday perfect. I can also recommend the restraunt it's one of the best 100 restraunts in south africa. If you want to relax and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere right on the river it is totally worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Place is very, very nice, a very nice crew and the our chalet, n/3, was stunning, the sound of the water under our feet, the outside shower, the tub, really a experience to remember, surely recommend as a place to enjoy with your loved one !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Me and my wife visit the Retreat & Spa for only treatment and was it a wonderfull experience. From the day we make the appointment, professionalism speak throughout until we left the Spa. Treatment was excellent and could not be better. Perhaps the most wonderfull of our experience was the background sound of the river passing buy. Nou music or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

My wife and I booked a treatment at the spa, and had a wonderful experience. As we arrived my car gave trouble. They took everything out of my hands to allow us to have an awesome experience whilst my car was picked up by the dealer and a rental car was delivered. They really try their best to give you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

It´s very quiet, they have an excelent service and truly kind and polite employees. It was an amazing experience in South Africa and we would like to have this kind of experience in every hotel in the world!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The most romantic place we have ever stayed. We found it to be an oasis of calm. Incredibly well organised and run. Everyone was charming, helpful and capable - a real contrast to most of our experiences in South Africa. The beauty was in all the many details. The room was fabulous but not over the top - quiet excellence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

5 star barefoot back to nature. Relaxing, amazing friendly staff. Food organically grown 5 star cuisine. A must for anyone looking for something out of this world....well placed for maximum privacy, the outdoor shower and bath are little touch of heaven where you are surrounded with the greenery of nature. The spa has great therapists and the setting is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cullinan, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I have visited this spa for four years in a row and was least impressed by our last visit. On our first visit we were received at our arrival and showed to our lockers where our gowns etc. awaited us with our names on the locker. Unfortunately this time round no such luck. We had to go into a bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

After an exhausting for 4 hours on the road, We finally arrive TEN minutes late for supper and No, apparently we can't have diner, even though it was already paid for. Shaun the manager or whoever he is was so rude !!!! Not even apologetic , just giving us directions to Spur, if we wanted Spur for our anniversary ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrevanHeerden, Owner at Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Moyo We are so sorry that we didn't manage to get hold of you to keep open the kitchen. We were expecting you at 16h00 as per your predicted eta, and called your mobile at 18h00 and again at 20h00. Assuming you were not coming anymore, we closed the Kitchen and sent the staff home, and so, it... More 

Nelspruit
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

this was the best weekend of our life......everything is out of this world....we were all over RSA , Africa and Europe and Summerfields Rose Retreat is the best...thanks for the 100 red roses in our room, thanks for the romantic bath.....we will come back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question