We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    149
    49
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
62
72
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Shangri-La is a just the place for a weekend getaway. The gardens are beautiful. We stayed there from 17-18 July. Special thanks to Eva, Lawrance and chef William for the warm welcome and good food. A very special thanks to Joey for making us feel so at home. The Sunday morning breakfast was awesome. The monkeys were entertaining. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kindly accept my thanks and appreciation with my visit to your hotel from Friday 25th of July to Monday 27th 2015. I went for a weekend breakaway and to be in a country-stile atmosphere. This hotel is an exception in this regard. I was impressed with the outstanding quality and service, the friendly attitude of the staff and the good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience during our Wine Tasting Christmas In July weekend with Doran Vineyards on Trip Advisor. We're happy that you had a memorable time and look forward to seeing you soon when we host our next event. We'll be sure to share your review with the team who will be thrilled. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were part of a group visiting the hotel for a celebration. At arrival we all received welcoming drinks and popcorn from the friendly staff - a nice touch. The hotel area has a beautiful garden leading up to the inviting reception area where other staff members gave us a warm welcome. Our family room (inter-leading), however, was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take note of your comments and will discuss this with our team. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shangri-La situated not far from Nylstroom are quite a breath taking experience. The garden makes you feel like you're in paradise the food are phenomenal. As for the rooms they lack of expectations, There are no two point plugs in the rooms so remember that for when you want to charge you phone or shaving machine, another down to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re honoured by your compliments and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We take note of your comments regarding two point plugs. We do offer two point plugs for the rooms which may be collected at reception, but we will look in to it to introduce them into our bedrooms.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second time staying here. They are doing great job upgrading the place. Service is great. We spend very tranquil nights and cellphone service is getting better in the area (at least vodacom). Will definetely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us on your return visit and that you are approving of our renovations. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived with a warm welcome to Shangri lodge and found the beautifully lush gardens pleasantly peaceful.All the staff made you feel welcome. The relaxed feel of the authentic "bellows" lounge and dining area with its big roaring fires made for a cosy and comforting evening. The food was really good hearty and tasty. I do feel the rooms could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review of your recent stay Fiona. We take note of your comments regarding our rooms and will present this to our management team to discuss. We will investigate the room you have stayed in to see if there are any problems that we need to address or that are not up to standard. More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

When we decided to surprise my dad for Father’s Day, I was concerned regarding my meals, seeing that I was recently tested with gluten, milk, egg and sugar allergies. It was a challenge, because I wasn’t sure that I would be accommodated. I was pleasantly impressed with the effort of the kitchen staff to make it a gluten-free stay. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We'd like to thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We value your comments and are delighted that we could help in making your stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I decided to surprise my husband for Father’s day and also testing the hotel of healthy meals, being sensitive to lots of foods. I was pleasantly surprised that they accommodated us in all possible ways. All the staff, from reception, housekeeping, managers, waiters and kitchen staff, were friendly and helpful as always.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your lovely images. We're delighted to read about your experience. We value our guests' experiences and do whatever we can to make your stay more memorable. We look forward to see you again soon. More 

Vaalwater, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

No one to welcome / show you around lodge. Didn't know about our booking. Rooms we were allocated in a dingy dark part of the lodge. High tea booked and was not arranged. No GM to attend to our complaints. Dogs running around facility, chasing cats. We ended up leaving after being there for 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, we take note of your review and wish to address your feedback. Upon your arrival our team showed you to the rooms booked by your travel agent. When requested to change the rooms (because one of your party could not manage the stairs) we gladly offered you alternate choices which you agreed to. We gladly refer you to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic service and competent staff. We would like to mention Alfred who went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The environment was good, but it was the positive attitude of the staff that impressed us. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

You are most welcome Karin M! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Alfred will be commended for his fantastic customer service. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

381 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (343)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.9 mi away
Warmbaths - A Forever Resort
10.9 mi away
Highveld Spa Resort
Highveld Spa Resort
#2 of 4 in Bela Bela
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 20 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
22.8 mi away
Itaga Private Game Lodge
Itaga Private Game Lodge
#1 of 35 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
7.8 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#4 of 35 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay