We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    147
    49
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
62
72
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Shangri-La situated not far from Nylstroom are quite a breath taking experience. The garden makes you feel like you're in paradise the food are phenomenal. As for the rooms they lack of expectations, There are no two point plugs in the rooms so remember that for when you want to charge you phone or shaving machine, another down to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Second time staying here. They are doing great job upgrading the place. Service is great. We spend very tranquil nights and cellphone service is getting better in the area (at least vodacom). Will definetely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived with a warm welcome to Shangri lodge and found the beautifully lush gardens pleasantly peaceful.All the staff made you feel welcome. The relaxed feel of the authentic "bellows" lounge and dining area with its big roaring fires made for a cosy and comforting evening. The food was really good hearty and tasty. I do feel the rooms could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we decided to surprise my dad for Father’s Day, I was concerned regarding my meals, seeing that I was recently tested with gluten, milk, egg and sugar allergies. It was a challenge, because I wasn’t sure that I would be accommodated. I was pleasantly impressed with the effort of the kitchen staff to make it a gluten-free stay. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I decided to surprise my husband for Father’s day and also testing the hotel of healthy meals, being sensitive to lots of foods. I was pleasantly surprised that they accommodated us in all possible ways. All the staff, from reception, housekeeping, managers, waiters and kitchen staff, were friendly and helpful as always.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vaalwater, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No one to welcome / show you around lodge. Didn't know about our booking. Rooms we were allocated in a dingy dark part of the lodge. High tea booked and was not arranged. No GM to attend to our complaints. Dogs running around facility, chasing cats. We ended up leaving after being there for 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, we take note of your review and wish to address your feedback. Upon your arrival our team showed you to the rooms booked by your travel agent. When requested to change the rooms (because one of your party could not manage the stairs) we gladly offered you alternate choices which you agreed to. We gladly refer you to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic service and competent staff. We would like to mention Alfred who went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The environment was good, but it was the positive attitude of the staff that impressed us. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

You are most welcome Karin M! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Alfred will be commended for his fantastic customer service. More 

Nelspruit
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

Every one of the staff treats you like royalty. The reception are amazing and the food are tops! Thank you Shangri-la ... an amazing experience, every one of you deserves a thank you. Thank you for making us feel so special xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Shangri-La and look forward to welcoming you back to paradise in the near future. More 

Centurion
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We spent 3 nights here during the week (Wed-Fri night) - it was absolute bliss to have peace & quiet around us. Beautiful gardens, lovely labyrinth to walk (thanks to Alfred for giving us a tour of the grounds). We got really good service during lunch & dinner, but getting food on the table was really slow - if you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We're delighted that you had a memorable time at Shangri-La. We take note of your comments regarding our service, cuisine and wine list and will address this with the Food & Beverage department. Our apologies that this area was not up to standard but we thank you for bringing this to our attention.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We were treated very well by the staff friendly welcome and very much hospitality indeed .Our room was very much we expected and we urge all to try the establishment. Food breakfast was great supper was excellent. We stroll around the hotel out of this world peace and tranquility. We will be back once again . We are coming back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your memories with us on TripAdvisor. It's a delight to read of your stay at Shangri-La and we can't wait to welcome you back to paradise - in room 37, of course! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

378 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (340)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay