We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birdsong Cottages

Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Birdsong Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Birdsong last weekend and I must say Patrick is the best.From the day we check in till our departure even our car was cleaned. Thanks Patrick. Unfortunately we will never come back due our money being stollen in the back after room was cleaned.We were told the manager will call us on Tuesday and no one phoned.i then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Maggy. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We've been in contact with you by e-mail about the unfortunate experience you have had and our team gladly offered to pay you the money that was lost. We take this matter very seriously and apologize for your inconvenience in the delayed reply. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Birdsong Cottages with 4 of my friends on the weekend of 24-26 July 2015. The place is nothing like what they show on the Website. we stayed in a 2 bed cottage. The bedroom and the Bathroom was okay. Everything in the Kitchen was slanting. From the Microwave that you need to Open with a trick, to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and are sad to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Our farm pool is accessible from all cottages via walkways through the bush, since our cottages are all scattered across the property. We do not advertise that the pool is closeby. We gladly invite you to advise where it was promoted as such in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Modimolle (Nylstroom) hotels

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We stayed at the Owl cottage not too long ago, the view was beautiful and we had a good stay overall. The place was quite nice even though the setup was not the smartest. The major problems with out weekend was that we had rats in the main bedroom and that the kitchen was quite ill equipped. There were hardly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that the unit was ill-equipped. This is not our standards and it will be investigated and rectified with immediate effect. We apologize that there had been a rodent problem during your stay and will also address this with our exterminator. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We checked in on the 5th with our Kids, and the stay was just bed, the kids were not even comfortable sleeping along, because they called it a GHOST house, the showers had a smell, the kitchen floor was just bad, we did not feel like touching anything. The living room couch was dark in colour but with lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mpho. We thank you for sharing the photographs and apologize for your experience. Our unit was renovated in 2014 and we will use your feedback to discuss the matter with our housekeeping and maintenance department. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

firstly the pictures of this place are misleading, the common area is old and has bats and mice residing comfortably on the top floor. secondly mysterious damage to our vehicle took place while on the property and the supposed manager was not very helpful in the matter only after it was escalated to senior management was there more promising responses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear lesego_shoke, we are disappointed in the manner in which your review portrays our property. Our efforts to assist you further with your claim depends solely on the action still outstanding by yourself, and we have offered to be of further assistance when you have provided the documentation as per our e-mails to you. During our conversations there was never... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

The best experience ever I had with my partner Sphiwe n itu and the staff are very welcoming and lovely must say and the place is peaceful n beautiful. We are definitely going to come back more often because of the manager n de staff n de place as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your photos with us on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled to read that you had a memorable experience and we can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

A two day break in the bushveld is just what the doctor order. Thank you to Joseph and William who went out of their way to ensure that our group had a good stay. Joseph, thank you for always going that xtra mile or us, it was much appreciated. The only problem we found was that there were no rubbish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Birdsong Cottages. We take note of all your suggestions and feedback and will address these issues with our team. We're delighted that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

They have large grounds that you can safely go walking in The rooms have lots of character and charm, (old colonial style) The staff are helpful There is a place to cook or barbeque The breakfast area is fabulous - very unique - it has a massive indoor fish pond

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled that you found our charming piece of paradise in the bushveld a delightful destination. Birdsong Cottages offers a selection of self-catering units boasting unique interiors to add to the tranquil atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you back soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Thank you so much for a delightful weekend away. The owl cottages are gorgeous and we loved the setting. The one unfortunate aspect that put a damper on the weekend was the pool. Unfortunately it was not in great condition and it was an extremely hot weekend. The staff were so amazing and I have to say that they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous feedback about your stay in the Owls Cottages. The units are a unique addition to our portfolio and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying here. We would appreciate it if you could send us more feedback as to the problems pertaining to the swimming pool. Please contact us at experience@southofafrica.com. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Thank you for a wondeful weekend.. We were in the area for a wedding. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were very pleasant, and nothing was too much trouble We will be back..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Lyn for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
9.1 mi away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 9 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.3 mi away
Modimolle Funky Stay
Modimolle Funky Stay
#3 of 9 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 20 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
9.8 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 20 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shondoro Mountain Retreat
Shondoro Mountain Retreat
#1 of 3 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay