We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birdsong Cottages

Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birdsong Cottages
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Birdsong Cottages
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

A two day break in the bushveld is just what the doctor order. Thank you to Joseph and William who went out of their way to ensure that our group had a good stay. Joseph, thank you for always going that xtra mile or us, it was much appreciated. The only problem we found was that there were no rubbish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Birdsong Cottages. We take note of all your suggestions and feedback and will address these issues with our team. We're delighted that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

They have large grounds that you can safely go walking in The rooms have lots of character and charm, (old colonial style) The staff are helpful There is a place to cook or barbeque The breakfast area is fabulous - very unique - it has a massive indoor fish pond

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled that you found our charming piece of paradise in the bushveld a delightful destination. Birdsong Cottages offers a selection of self-catering units boasting unique interiors to add to the tranquil atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you back soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Thank you so much for a delightful weekend away. The owl cottages are gorgeous and we loved the setting. The one unfortunate aspect that put a damper on the weekend was the pool. Unfortunately it was not in great condition and it was an extremely hot weekend. The staff were so amazing and I have to say that they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous feedback about your stay in the Owls Cottages. The units are a unique addition to our portfolio and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying here. We would appreciate it if you could send us more feedback as to the problems pertaining to the swimming pool. Please contact us at experience@southofafrica.com. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Thank you for a wondeful weekend.. We were in the area for a wedding. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were very pleasant, and nothing was too much trouble We will be back..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Lyn for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. More 

Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We loved the accommodation and the fact that you can have a BQ without a lot of people making noises. You can sit and listen to you own thoughts. We would love to go again but the finance manager (My wife) says next year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Japie for your lovely review. What a thrill to receive such lovely compliments. We pride ourselves that Birdsong offers peace and tranquillity and it's delightful to hear that our guests enjoy this. Feel free to visit our website regularly for great deals and offers that will please both you and the "financial manager" :) We look forward to... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The only positives were the way the staff treated us, as well as the natural setting. We were disappointed with the facilities themselves in that the kitchen was not equipped properly - there was for instance no braai utensils, the kettle took ages to boil, etc. The fact that there was no hot water was absolutely unacceptable! We considered staying... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Gerhard. We apologize for the inconvenience with the lack of hot water. We will investigate your feedback regarding the utensils. Because of the location of our property, there is no cellphone reception, and we advertise it as such. We understand that the dirt road is not to everybody's taste, however this adds to the charm... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had such a great time. The silence and natural beauty was overwhelming. The rooms are beautiful and the staff delightful. We did not expect the level of comfort and convenience we encountered. A real gem in the bushveld.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Christiaan for your wonderful review of our establishment. We are very proud of the Birdsong Cottages and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Many thanks to William ( care taker/ receptionist) for the brilliant service. The rooms were amazing as well. The overall property was breath- taking. We will definitely want to return for the experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Birdsong Cottages. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience at our property and we are delighted that William's customer service made your stay a memorable occasion. We look forward to see you again. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thank you for the great service and hospitality, we really enjoyed the beautiful surrounds and views. The rooms were homely and very nicely decorated. There did seem to be a slight issue with the toilets though as they did not flush properly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Louise, many thanks for your review. We value your feedback and will investigate your remarks regarding the flushing system. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked the 8 sleeper cottage with friends. The living room is a bit small to accomadate all 8 people but cosy. The location of the cottage is beautiful, surrounded by a lake, allowing you to absorb the peaceful tranquility and wildlife. Joseph (general manager) and William (who I renamed Dr William after I fell and he attended to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday at the Birdsong Cottages outside Modimolle. We appreciate your feedback and compliments and will be sure to share your message with the team, who will be thrilled. Joseph and William will be commended for their great service. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question