We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 Kruger National Park accommodations

Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp to your Saves list
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
93%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JudySanford Austin, Texas
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    9
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is an incredible experience to be way out in the bush, but in the most comfortable and luxurious setting. Each tent, really a structure, is on the river and you can hear the hippo and baboons. The staff are extremely helpful, warm and enjoy making the guests laugh. Our safari guide, John, was outstanding - so knowledgeable and experienced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear JudySanford, Thank you for your positive review. Your kind words are much appreciated and have been shared with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp soon. Regards, The Hamiltons Team More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Hamiltons for 3 nights and I was sorry we did not stay for 10! What set this camp apart from any of the others we have stayed in, is the attentive, friendly and personal service we received. The tents are comfortable and with excellent facilities. Dinner at the main lodge is special, with excellent food and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear 1972BushBaby, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled that you had such a lovely holiday with us and hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Hamiltons team More

uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cane to the lodge based on a recommendation from a work colleague and was not disappointed. We had about two weeks previous safari lodge stays previous to the visit but this one was one of the most special. The staff were wonderful and friendly and it was great to be cut off from civilisation for a while. You do need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rahh, Thank you for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that we could make your honeymoon memorable and we hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary! Warmest regards, The Hamiltons team More

Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had 3 tent cabins for our family. All of our cabins and the main lodge were well-appointed in what I presume was the old colonial style. Very attractive and comfortable. We definitely felt as though we were in another era. The food was good. The fresh rolls were outstanding! The game drives were very good. We saw so many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Bkseatridr, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a great safari vacation with us! We are happy that you enjoyed the unique ambiance, the food and the game drives. We hope to see you again soon at Hamiltons. Warm regards, The Hamiltons Team More

California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was traveling with my son in Africa the summer of 2001 and stayed here a couple nights. For comfort and beauty, it was unmatched in my experience in Africa. We spent some weeks in the villages with Africans and that was amazing as well! Anyway, if you want to have a guaranteed safe, beautiful, and incredible experience, this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear lostmywalletagain, Thank you for your comments on Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp. We are delighted that you had a great time with us, and hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, The Hamiltons Team More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This proved to be an awesome experience, seeing all the Big 5 within the first 24 hours. The leopard with its kill was about 3 metres away from us and then, just when we thought it couldn't get any better, we saw a male lion with a huge buffalo it had recently killed and were about 5 metres away, watching... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Kim2213, Thank you for your comments on Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp. We are so glad you had a wonderful safari holiday. Your encounters with the leopard and lion sound incredible! We hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Hamiltons Team More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

A party of 6 of us visited Hamiltons, 4 of us were overseas guests. We had great expectations and it delivered. The game viewing despite it being Summer with long grass was still very good, excellent sitings of cats and the rest of the Big 5. The food was good, not all of it was perfect but given where we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing Representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer4477, Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are delighted that you had a lovely holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp soon! Regards, LBucceri More

zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Hamiltons in Feb. The place is great if you are looking for a relaxing, tranquil and close to nature Experience. Bungalows very nice, with high likelyhood of having animals just outside your window. Food and service good. We had good drives and saw most of what we wanted to see despite it being summer and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LBucceri, Marketing Representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Krister Z, Thanks for your feedback, we are so glad you had a wonderful time at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp. We hope you see you again soon. Regards, LBucceri More

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited the greater Kruger National Park and surrounds during December 2013 / January 2014. We stayed at four lodges during our visit and 4 nights at Hamilton's. This was our second visit to Hamilton's, i.e. our experience some years ago warranted a return visit. Everything was much the same except the management has changed - it was previously a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Martin O, Thank you for your comments and feedback on your holiday. We are glad you had a good time, and will take note of all your comments in order to improve our guests experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, The Hamiltons Team More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is as close as you will get to an Out of Africa experience. The staff were so helpful and the rooms lovely, they have outside showers which is a bit different, but the water is piping hot. The food was good, we ate Kudu,Impala and Ostrich none of which I had tasted before. In fact they never stop feeding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear sunseekerCoDurham, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled that you had a great time with us, and hope that you come again soon. Regards, The Hamiltons Team More

Been to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel
Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 137 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.