We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

5.0 of 5 Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 4 nights and loved every minute. We love the bush and have stayed at many lodges and loved the small and personal experience that we received at Hamiltons. An overall exceptional experience for our family, the bush, the feel of the luxury tented camp, the food and most of all the team working at the camp made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear AshleyVWyk, Thank you for your lovely review of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday with us! We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons for another visit soon. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. This was our flrst Safari experience. The facility is beautifull located on a river bed. The tented cabins are lovely facing the river bed with private decks and a private outdoor shower as well as an indoor tub. It has a very old school english Safari feel. The staff is warm and attentive. Meals were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear mychel53, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a memorable safari holiday with us at Hamiltons Tented Camp! We hope to welcome you back soon for another holiday on your next visit to South Africa. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Berwick, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot recommend this camp highly enough. We had the most amazing time in our short 4 day stay. We had travelled for 3 weeks in Africa and this was the most memorable part of our holiday. Our Ranger John was so interesting and very switched onto his visitors. We were left spellbound by his knowledge and willingness to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda H, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us! John certainly is fantastic, and we will pass your compliments on to him. We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp for another visit soon. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights in October. From arrival to departure we could not fault the Hamiltons camp and would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting an "Out of Africa" safari experience. There are only 6 luxury tents (more like 5 star room) in the camp therefore there is a max of 12 guests at any one time. We were travelling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Phunter62, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the luxurious tents and exciting safaris with us. We are also glad that we could make your wife's birthday so memorable. We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp again soon. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A truly remarkable place that has left a lasting impression. Harold and his team ensured that all our needs were anticipated and catered for so all we had to do was relax and enjoy the experience.....and what an experience the game drives were. Highlights: Watching a male leopard devour its kill in the dark A close encounter with a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear JMC131313, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful safari experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp again on your next visit to South Africa. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

connecticut
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To be fair, I'll start out by saying that we did not get to stay at Hamilton's and are deeply disappointed since it looks like a lovely place and we were looking forward to our stay. But I felt that I needed to warn others about our experience with our booking, which was cancelled, out of the blue, by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear tinathetraveller, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are most distressed to hear of your bad experience due to the lodge over-booking. This is not the experience we wish for our guests. We do take complaints very seriously and ensure that the situation does not happen again. We are investigating this complaint thoroughly at a senior management level,... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing weekend away with my now wife to be. Proposed over a private dinner, arranged by the very accommodating staff, whilst watching the sunset over the river and listening to a herd of elephants pass bye in the distance! Couldn't have asked for more. The great staff, great views, great food and sheer remoteness of the venue make it one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Tim and Candice, A big congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted that we could help you in making such wonderful memories. We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp again soon. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Gaborone
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a family get together at Hamiltons in September and it was an absolute pleasure to find a small, exclusive, wilderness type (but really luxurious) camp in the middle of the Kruger. The setting of the tents overlooking the dam and the feeling of being in the wild- but safe - is somewhat unique. We had amazing game viewing,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear DHTGaborone, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday with us at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another visit soon. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Often you read reviews and your expectations are high, perhaps too high and then disappointment sets in. Not in this case - we did have high expectations, and they were met time over again. I could not fault the service at Hamilton's. The staff are focused, extremely friendly and only too happy to help and make your stay memorable. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Liz L, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a good stay with us, and that your expectations were consistently exceeded! We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp for another memorable safari holiday. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I treated my partner to an action packed BIG birthday holiday to Kruger and Hamilton's was our first stop. Arriving after a long journey from London via Jo'burg and Hoedspruit followed by a 2hr drive to the lodge, we were blown away by the warm welcome and glorious ambience of the resort. After a speedy and efficient check-in, we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear ElsH711, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and such an incredible experience with all the wildlife sightings. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp on your next visit to Africa. Warm regards, The Hamiltons team More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay