We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
P.O Box 112 | Jagurst Rust, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    73
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
125
25
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although we enjoyed our stay at unit 26, The Cottage was not up to our current standards as we use holiday club resorts. Compared to a resort like Champagne Sports Resort , the cottage had out-dated kitchen appliances and were very limited pertaining to the the utensils. I thought that it was very odd that firewood could only be purchased... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
durban
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed here with my family at unit 39. Yes the units are dated, the carpet is dirty, the toilet roll holder is missing, the tiles are chipped, the kitchen tap is almost falling off, the hand shower in the bath sprays water out of the bath etc... but all is forgiven once you realise that this is the resort... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day FS30 Thank you for taking some of your time to write a review in regards to your recent visit to our Resort. All feedback from our guests assists us to identify the areas we can improve. We are glad to hear - as a repeat guest - your whole family once again enjoyed your time with us. Our... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

restaurants served excellent food, especially the pizza place and the breakfast menu resort was excellent and appealed to all age categories activities were great although rooms needed brighter lighting

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Mureen_S Thank you for taking some of your time to give us your feedback and share your experience during your visit at our Resort. It is a pleasure to hear from our guest again, especially if they enjoyed their stay in our Chalets as well as enjoyed their meals in our various food outlets. We are looking forward... More 

Boksburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Met at the gate by a very friendly fellow, Praisegod. Reception also friendly and helpful. Chalet was clean and neat, a few things needed attention but minor wear and tear. Renting of a braai was a little expensive for one night, firelighters were old and one of the staff had to bring some stuff to help it along. The mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day JBB88 Thank you for your review and sharing with us your experience during your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the view from chalet. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future. Best regards Peter More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great entertainment in and out the resort. Horse riding. Squash. Hikes. Tours. Swimming. Spa. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Pleasant. Rooms clean. Units need an upgrade and the kitchen could be better equipped so take some of your own equipment. The braai should be part of the unit. R 120 to hire per time. Overall highly recommended for an active... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Aisha_W We would like to say thank you for taking the necessary time to write a review and share with us your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear back from our guests when they had a great time and managed to enjoy the various outdoor activities we have to offer. Currently our chalets do not have... More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Obviously you'd find varying opinions about a resort with 100 chalets, but we were very satisfied with almost everything: the only thing we complained about were the ants -- a big problem in the kitchen. I would also suggest that if you charge guests a proper fee for a charcoal/gas grill, then please include a proper braai set -- we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Mr/s Helene_V Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Resort. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our chalets are getting treated by our Pest Control Contractor on a regular basis to help control all types of insects. However during the rainy season it is... More 

Durban
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the efficiency and friendliness of staff everywhere. Chalets, gardens and hotel area were very clean, well kept and tidy. Activities for all ages Good selection of food choice and good food. Cellphone reception not good & no wifi. Kitchens stocked only with very basic items.( I would not have liked to cook in that kitchen for a week)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Kevcon999 We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the necessary time to share with us your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you and the rest of your family soon back again. The cell phone signal in our area is dependent on... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were in unit 90 and had an extremely bad experience with the people in 89 . they made loud noise the entire night . later we found they had brought prostitutes on the property and where more than 8 people in the unit . we asked to be moved and you obliged by moving us to unit 87 .... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for taking the necessary time to give us you feedback and share with us your experience during your stat at our Resort. All feedback from our guests assists us to continuously evaluate the level of our services as well as the quality of our facilities. Please accept our sincere apology for the bad experience you had... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Not so good memories. Not ideal for business. Wifi unavailable in conference venue; no airconditioning in venue; no airconditioning in rooms. Food far below average. An experience Zi would like to forget.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day jmm2015 We would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent conference at our Resort. Both positive and negative input from our guests assists us to identify the areas where we can implement changes if necessary. Unfortunately none of our chalet's bedrooms have air-conditioning in... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We set off from Johannesburg around 9am, the N3 after the first toll is always a pleasure to drive, with average speed enforcement, no one seems in too much of a hurry. When we got to the R74 offramp I was met by a stop go system, construction on the road leading to the Oliviershoek Pass. The road is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Nizaama Thank you for your review about our Resort based on your experience during your recent visit. Yes we do agree; give our location, the Resort offer great views of the Northern Drakensberg. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, from your check-in to the chalets itself as well as the various activities we have to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
3:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question