We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort

4.0 of 5 P.O Box 112 | Jagurst Rust, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    64
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
114
19
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

No Aircons. very hot in summer. lounge Furniture need upgrade. Bathroom taps need renovation. More kitchen dishes/pots required for self catering purposes. No dishwasher. Fringe does not work well. We had to be moved from the initial chalet due to plumbing leak. This should have been check prior to the room being allocated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Sheetal2015 Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your recent stay at our Resort. All feedback from our guests assists us to maintain our desired standard or implement changes where improvements are necessary. Yes, none of our chalets have air conditioners in them. However all bedrooms are equipped with ceiling fans with different setting capabilities in... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the resort in the northern Drakensberg is absolutely stunning. Our family of 12 (ranging in age from under 2 to over 70) stayed for seven nights and we were fortunate to have two chalets (nos.18 & 19) in the lowest area, with no chalets in front of us, and so we had uninterrupted views down to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Wbowler Thank you for giving us your feedback and share with us your experience during your recent stay at our Resort. We are glad to hear you and your extended family have enjoyed your stay at our Resort. As a family Resort we always strive to entertain both young and old in order to ensure the whole family... More 

Durban South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been visiting Alpine Heath for the past 10 years. Great getaway and peaceful. Only resort where all the chalets have great views.Response time very quick to whatever issues we had.All staff were very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Mamotala We would like to thank you for your review and feedback in regards to your recent stay at our Resort. We are glad to hear you - as a repeat guest - enjoyed your recent stay at our Resort. It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon back again for your next well-deserved holiday. Best regards... More 

Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nicely located at the foothills of the cloud-hugging Drakensberg mountains the chalets are superb and the food excellent. The undulating terrain and the criss-crossing streams create an unforgettable scene. However, reaching the place might be a challenge due to bad roads and temporarily flooded bridges.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Kkeetile We want to thank you for sharing with us your feedback and experience during your recent stay at our Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests when they enjoyed their time with us. Yes we are situated in a scenic part of the Northern Drakensberg area, which offer a heaven for outdoors lovers.... More 

Benoni, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't recommend it at all. Management & Staff couldn't care less. Poor service. Poor children's entertainment. Poor restaurant & bar. Poor everything really. Very disappointed - the best thing about it was when we drove out the gates.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day334adeled We would like to thank you for taking the necessary time to give us your feedback and share with us your personal experience during your recent stay at our Resort. We welcome all feedback from our guests since it assists us to identify the areas where we can improve our services - especially in the areas where it... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Alpine from 30th Dec 2014 to 2 Jan 2015, and all five of us enjoyed our stay. The place is magnificent, from the "mountainous" surroundings to the actual terrain. Speaking for myself I needed the relaxation and I got it. Chalets are very cozy, neat and clean and the "facilities" were sufficient. The accommodation was overall lovely. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Potlakol Thank you for sharing with us your experience throughout your recent stay at our Resort during the festive season. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay in our chalets as well as our various activities. Although most of our activities are exclusively for our guests and free, it is only certain activities... More 

Mahikeng
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Alpine Heath is definitely the place to visit if you are looking for a family vacation/holiday. The views and scenery are breath-taking. The accommodation is top class-"a home away from home". The kids will enjoy the activities and the surroundings. thank you Alpine Heath we will most certainly visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Keo_T Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay during your recent stay at our Resort. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon again. Best regards Peter Behrens More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent three nights here. Chalets very comfortable and well equipped . had an issue with the kettle and a shower head- both were replaced within a few minutes . We did self catering so did not eat at the restaurant Wifi is only available in the coffee shop and is very variable because of location and weather conditions. We traveled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter-Behrens, Public Relations Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Rose4105 Thank you for your feedback and review. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guest. By sharing your experience during your stay at our Resort assist us to constantly evaluate our level of services. Therefore we are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday at our Resort. We do hope to welcome you back again... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best part of this hotel is its location. It has amazing views and is peaceful and quiet even with all the families staying here. Obviously with its secluded location, it is quite a drive to get here on a few bad roads, but well worth it. We stayed in a chalet at the bottom of the resort, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Zanda_Norval We would like to thank you for your review and rating on Trip-Advisor. It is great to hear you and the rest of your family loved our location in the berg area as well as enjoyed your stay at our Resort. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the Northern Drakensberg for you next... More 

South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The resort is nested in a lovely valley with mountains all around. Lovely friendly relaxing setting. The accommodation is very basic. Chalet are linked to each other one would expect a braai or bbq stove This is available at an enoumous cost of 120 per day rather expensive. The resort had a small convenience store badly stocked and hugely over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Ebrahim_L Please accept our sincere apology for your recent stay at our Resort not meeting your expectations. However we do appreciate the fact that you took the necessary time to give us your feedback. All feedback from our valued clients assist us to make improvements or implement changes where and when necessary in order to ensure all our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort

Address: P.O Box 112 | Jagurst Rust, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and South African Hotels so you can book your Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Heath Hotel Drakensberg Region

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
3:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay