We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
P.O Box 112 | Jagurst Rust, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
Add Photo

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    77
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
139
28
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic activities for entire family. Easy access to facilities. Accommodation was clean and units are serviced. Buffet selection wasn't that great but food could be ordered from the a la carte menu from the other venues. Consistent friendly, warm and helpful service from all staff, especially noticeable was Praisegod (the Security Guard at the entrance). He has been friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

pleasantly suprised by the amount of activities they have for both young and old. You never have to leave the resort for anything. very comfortable, laid back, rested atmosphere, guests made to feel like home as most people where still in the pjs walking and playing in the village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have been to this place at least twice a year. Awesome venue for families. Lots to do for every age. The spa is a special treat and the games area is fun as well. They have karaoke on friday nights and normal disco theme on Saturdays. These cut off at midnight so there are limited disturbances. 4 star and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Vijay_za Thank you for taking some of your time to write the great review about our resort. We are always pleased to hear when our guests are able to relax during their stay and have a good time with the various indoor and outdoor activities we offer our guests. We are looking forward to welcome you soon back... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our stay at Alpine Heath was excellent.  With outstanding service starting from the security at the boom gate (sing hallelujah to Praisegod) to the house keeping staff. I would return in a heartbeat. Clean and tidy chalet. Absolutely outstanding activities planned daily for kids and adults.  Keep it up. You guys are brilliant. was really sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Ishara_B Thank you for your feedback. We are always pleased to hear from our guests when they - as a family - had a great time at our resort We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the not so long future. Best regards Peter Behrens More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You have to pay for extras like a braai stand, coal and wood for the fireplace. There was no wood to buy on day 2 and the hotel receptionist refused to bring it our chalet. I was also refused a late check out of an hour. I complained about the noisy guests at the spa while trying to enjoy a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Devika_A Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to the shortage of fire wood. Our supplier was under pressure to deliver according to the high demand. However we did identify a new supplier to assist us to meet the demand during the winter months. Thus our shop is able to provide fire wood... More 

Centurion
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you say 6 sleeper - be sure there is six seats for dining table. If you say 6 sleeper - be sure there is six seats on patio outside. Self Catering - 2 pots one pan - not up to standard for six people. No braai dish. Cutlery in a very bad shape - no steak knives and dish... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day 20Adelm We want to thank you for taking the necessary time to give us your feedback and share with us your experience during your recent stay at our Resort. All feedback from our guests - both positive and negative - assists us as management team to identify the areas we can implement changes to ensure our guest have... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only thing that saved this vacation, was the location! Absolutely stunning. Checking-in and check-out was very simple and easy, however customer service as a whole was disappointing! The coffee shop was a real disappointment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Keithr372 Thank you for taking some of your time to complete our online survey and share with us your experience during your recent stay at our Resort. All feedback from our guests assists us as management team to identify the areas we can implement changes to enhance our guest's overall experience. Please accept our sincere apology for the... More 

Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay and couldn't think of a better way to spend quality time together. The staff were friendly & professional and the activities for the kids were super. Thank you very much! We'll be back :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Marlene263 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us and were able to make use of the various activities we have to offer. It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed my stay here very much- just didn't want to leave!😊 The place was clean & had fresh food! Loved the Big Boy burgers😀! Enjoyed the horse-riding and walks around the park! The staff was very accommodating to our special needs!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day 608athurz It is always a pleasure to hear back from our guests, especially if they enjoyed their stay. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family soon back again at our Resort in the Northern Drakensberg. Kind regards Peter Behrens More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly I woud like to say that Alpine Heath is such a lovely place with huge potential. we had booked 2 chalets, last wed and thurs with 3 kids included. When we arrived at our chalet, it was not cleaned, the patio was dirty, the counters were dirty, there was no fridge light, the lamp shades light kept flickering and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review

Good day Sheryl282015 We would like to thank you for your feedback and sharing with us your experience during your stay at our resort. Feedback from our guests - both positive and negative - assist us to identify the areas where were need to implement changes in order to ensure our guests have an exceptional experience. All our units go... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
3:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay