We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tshukudu Game Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Tshukudu Game Lodge | On route R40 between Hoedspruit & Phalaborwa, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tshukudu Game Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    112
    43
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
61
63
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed there for only one night and wished we had stayed more. The staff was very friendly and courteous, beds were comfortable and we were able to see animals during the morning drive, evening drive and the bush walk. The sunset was very spectacular when we stopped for a sundowner drink by the watering hole and saw herds of water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great experience during our two nights stay at Tshukudu. We will never forget the walks with the cheetahs, sundowners with the Hippos and following the Lions to a kill. Food in the restaurant was perfect and personnel was very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for an AM Game Drive at Tshukudu today, and sadly I have to report that this was the most disappointing game drive that I have ever been on. Being someone that has previously worked in the Hospitality industry in Hoedspruit, I have had the chance to go on many game drives at various reserves. This was by far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy your drive. I would like to clarify that we do not have "feeding pits" to lure out the animals for better game viewing. We are experiencing a very dry season and we unfortunately do not have adequate feed/grass for our animals. We therefore have to buy in lucern... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our time here and had some amazing animal encounters. Food was nothing special, but adequate. Rooms were basic, but we overlooked a watering hole and could view animals from our porch. Can't ask for better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the good review. We look forward to a future visit from you More 

Randburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good friendly service. The food was typical boma fare but adequate and tasty. We stayed in chalet No 9 which was very comfortable with covered patio. The Lodge is close to the town of Hoedspruit which is clean and safe (we are from Joburg!) Good shops and places to eat. Many places of interest to visit in the area. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Your complaints have been noted and will be attended to by the adequate department More 

New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

We have been to Tsukudu 3 times now and the place never disappoints. We stayed in one of the refurbished rondavels and it exceeded expectations - good value for money compared with the other "private" game reserves. By its very nature the lodge is not teeming with wildlife as its fenced off with the Kruger but you will not get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very fortunate to have rangers who are passionate about the bush and wildlife More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

The food was nice I enjoyed the breakfast more than the supper though,if maybe the chef could cater different cultural food not that theres anything wrong with the menu but some of us don't eat pork and would love to eat something like rice, pap as starch for example and I was dissapointed when I had to R100 for my... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tshukudu001, Public Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We do cater according to guest preferances - if requested.If you notified us beforehand that you do not like pork we would most definitely have made you something else. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Had a very quick work trip to Tshukudu, and really exceeded my expectations (as it is rated three stars and for the bed and breakfast price, in comparison to other game lodges). Did not get to go on a game drive but on the short drive in and out the camp saw giraffe, buffalo and impi's. Comfortable resort with big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review More 

Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Our stay at Tshukudu Game Lodge was our first step in our trip to the SA wildlife. This was the right choice. We were guided by JP, a young and passionate ranger, who spent the 24 hours with us, explaining us the bush, its fauna, flora and landscape, sharing his passion for wildlife. We had a early morning walk in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review More 

Witbank, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

For the amount of money paid the accomodation is pathetic, either reduce your price or upgrade the facilities. For the rest food and game drives, the experience is the best we have had, Matt our ranger is exeptional really good temperment loves his job and very knowledgable, all the cooks fantastic personalities and good food and enough food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tshukudu001, Guest Relations Manager at Tshukudu Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are in the process of upgrading some of our older rooms More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
9.1 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#9 of 88 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.3 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#4 of 88 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
18.3 mi away
Panzi Bush Camp
Panzi Bush Camp
#18 of 88 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#15 of 88 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
#12 of 88 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
14.9 mi away
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
#25 of 88 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay