We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushriver Lodge

4.0 of 5 R40, Mica | Along the Olifants River, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bushriver Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bushriver Lodge
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nicely decorated room with stunning riverview, huge bath, big enough for two, nice viewing deck with braai en well equipped communal kitchen.Very friendly and welcoming host.Highly recommend this property!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our lodge. I agree, that bath-tub is just the best..... and many people from around the world have become friends around the fire on the deck at night!!!!! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful and peaceful lodges on the river with loads of game on site. Close to hoedspruit and many of the private games parks in the area. About 1 hour from Krugers orpen gate. Shared kitchen facilities available. No WiFi access in the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to send a review. It is much appreciated. More 

Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Natalie was a great host. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Lodge was very nice. We didn't want to cook so with notice we were able to get dinner and breakfast and it was delicious. It's a bit out of the way, 20 minutes outside of Hoedspruit, but worth it. Definitely a relaxing place to be.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. More 

France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best Lodge ever at a very reasonable price. If you like romantic and restful holidays by the river side while lsitening to the songs of birds in the trees above your head and if you do appreciate luxury and good food , well go to Bushriver Lodge and stay longer than me.Next time I'll know better because on night... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this awesome review. We sincerely appreciate these lovely words and I truly hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you again at Bushriver Lodge in future. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay, very clean and friendly staff. Great views and surroundings lovely place and lovely staff. Had a good break there. Would recommend it. Didn't see much wild life, that would have been better if we had, wrong time of year for hippos.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Erika, Thank you for your review. It is a pity you did not see the hippo's. Being wild animals, they come and go unfortunately. Perhaps you have more luck next time. More 

Vereeneging
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This place is beautiful, just some of the things that did not sit well with us. We were travelling as a family of 8, in the rondavel, this is self catering, it's really beautiful but, there is only one bathroom in the main lodge, other bathroom is outside, considering that we stayed there 7 nights, it' would have been nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review More 

Delmas, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Would like to sea game in camp ( taimed walking between shalets and on lawn ). this will add to the very very nice place you have. It will also be another plus to your overseas clients. You will also make much more money if you have the fasility to book a braai dinner and or breakfast. I have seen... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pieter. Thank you for the review. Being a game lodge, our guests enjoy walks, mountain bike cycling and drives on the farm experiencing our fast range of wildlife in their natural surroundings. However the nyala, impala, kudu, duiker and bushbuck love to sneak into the garden late afternoon and early in the morning to eat from the flowers and... More 

White River, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The cleaning of rooms was very good. Like the setup of the rooms and decor. We enjoy the game drive with Monica and the Ladies to the KNP even when we have to drive a distance in the game view vehicle, and the CHEETHA ENDANGERED SPECIES at Hoedspruit was interesting, was a bit hot but that's Hoedspruit. Wessel was friendly... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessel-Bushriver, Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Christina - thank you for the nice review. All our 4 legged friends are doing well. Bambu started to explore the bushes around the lodge and is getting braver every day! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had an amazing 5 nights at Bushriver Lodge. It was everything that we were looking for to escape the chaos of Johannesburg....peace, bush, beauty, luxury, great service and fun :) we will be back as soon as possible!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wessel-Bushriver, Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracy - Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope to spend soon some peaceful luxury bush time together again! More 

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Rooms and main house looks like as a expensive lodge. The braai area is excellent and the lodge ist very well organised for self catering. Our room had a stone bath bei the windows, overlooking the River and gsme.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wessel-Bushriver, Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our Room 1, which is indeed a very nice room. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bushriver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushriver Lodge

Address: R40, Mica | Along the Olifants River, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bushriver Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bushriver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay