We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Marula Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tshukudu Game Reserve | KT 207, Portion of Vienna, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Marula Camp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goirle, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a great place is Marula Camp! Warm welcome. Comfortable tents with enormous bathrooms and good beds. Very quiet. At night, all you hear are the animals around you. Well equipped kitchen. Good service. Nice playground and small pool. Swimming towel were nicely provided. Friendly staff. We really enjoyed the drives with Andy!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
71Vicky1234, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Marula Camp. It's always wonderful to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and found the experience to surpass their expectations. We look forward to having you back with us again in the future. More

Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A place that we will for sure visit again! We prefer self catering and found a very clean spacious kitchen and an open fire at night for a brai. Thanks to jairos and kitty who were always very friendly and helpful. Because the chalets are in the reserve you are really close to the bush with vegetation and wildlife. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
71Vicky1234, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Marula Camp. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we are very happy to hear that our staff were able to assist you in every way. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was the best wildlife experience. Animals are well looked after...and so are the guests. Zahida's 50th was mad so special...We found Marula Camp to be outstanding, clean kitchen, clean pool and all staff willing to help.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
71Vicky1234, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Marula Camp. We are thrilled that your 50th birthday was enjoyable and that we were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The place is one of three lodges in this reserve. We rented a little cottage a few meters away from the bush. The place gives you a real experience of what could be life in the bush. We chose to have breakfast and dinners at the main lodge a few hundreds meters away and the food was home made and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the review regarding Marula Camp. We are glad that you found our Ranger friendly and resourceful and that he was able to make your stay with us unforgettable. The convenience of being able to have catered meals in such close proximity to Marula Camp, is definitely to the advantage of self-catering guests hoping to have a breather... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Exceptional hospitality and personal attention from Chris leaving everybody with a once in a lifetime experience. Knowledge of the wildlife and vegetation shared makes this a unique experience. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Marula Camp. We are thrilled that you found your stay with us exceptional and that Chris' passion for the bush and wildlife made the experience unique. We look forward to having you visit us again in the future. More

Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The accommodation and the game viewing far exceeded what I had expected. Staff members were friendly and helpful. The game viewing was informative and there are plenty of game on the reserve. I will definitely go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Marula Camp. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. More

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It was great being back to Marula for our 20. wedding anniversary. Thanks for a warm welcome, we were treated not like guests, but as friends and a part of the "family". We are looking forward to be back again zoo. Thanks Jess, u are a wonderful Ranger.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review regarding Marula Camp as well as the kind words. It was a pleasure having you with us again and we hope that you will spend many more special occasions with us. More

Sasolburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The staff were well informed and did everything in their power to make our stay worth the while. We loved the morning walk with the Cheetah but the game drive was a little bit disappointing because we did not see that much animals as we expected to see. The facilities at the camp were the best and clean. We would... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to review Marula Camp. We are please that your stay with us was enjoyable and that the walk with the Cheetah was a highlight. Game drives at this time of the year can always be a little disappointing due to the very thick bush. We hope that your next stay will provide you with... More

Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dear Chris & Vicky Sussens I don't know where to start because you have paradise all set out at Tshukudu, not one thing stands out on its own because it's owned by the best and managed so perfectly. Chris your knowledge and experience made us all hang on your lips each and every day. Thank you for sharing it with... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Marula Camp. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Cheetah kill in the back garden was definitely a treat for all! Chris' knowledge and passion for the bush and wildlife can clearly be seen during his daily interaction with the guests, and his wonderful stories and... More

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

nice place, friendly people, very animal orientated, came to see animals and saw some, nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner, very good service. we stayed in a tent/room, clean, bit dark but very OK - Hendrik 54 years young

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Marula Camp. We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and hope to see you again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marula Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marula Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marula Camp

Address: Tshukudu Game Reserve | KT 207, Portion of Vienna, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marula Camp 3*

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hoedspruit with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self-Catering Accommodation consists of 3 luxury, African style safari tents with bathrooms en-suite and 3 air conditioned thatched cottages sleeping 20 guests in total. This is a family safari camp so guests of all ages are welcome. The camp has an indoor lounge and bar area fitted with DSTV as well as a fully equipped communal kitchen and FREE Wi-Fi. The friendly staff will provide a fire in the traditional African Boma for your evening meal. The camp is fully serviced and all linen, towels and a limited amount of firewood is provided. (Additional firewood can be purchased at R20 per bag.) You only need to provide your own food, drinks and towels used for swimming. Experience the sounds of the bushveld and observe wildlife at the drinking trough from the pool or the veranda of the African style safari tents or cottages.An experience of a lifetime in this small, intimate camp as well as the unparalleled hospitality of Chris & Vicky Sussens will surely make you return again and again. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marula Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer