We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 85 Hoedspruit accommodations

Shikwari Bush Lodge

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R36 Lydenburg / J G Strydom Tunnel Road | Valley of Olifants,, Hoedspruit 1308, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Shikwari Bush Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shikwari Bush Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014
Brian_Yvette Johanne
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Groblersdal, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What we were told to be an english breakfast turned out to be eggs, mushrooms and beacon for the entire holiday. The dinner was mostly disappointing, nothing spectacular. I believe the lady who cooks is not a qualified chef, my wife cooks better dinner than what i was eating. I would recommend take away if you staying there. The rooms... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polokwane, Limpopo, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed at the self catering Pangolin Bush Camp for 2 nights (2 Adults 2 Kids) in 1 rondavel which was fine as the kids did not want to say on their own. When we arrived their beds had not been made so Annie had to arrange for it (2 mattresses on the floor, again the kids did not mind)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johanne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The three night at Shikwari were amazing. The personal service was impeccable, the food phenomenal and the smiling faces just made the trip! We were never left wanting anything. I'd recommend you visit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Enjoyed a magnificent view of the surrounding mountains as well as great food & great animal sightings. The rooms were well furnished and private with outdoor shower. (Note: No TV or Wifi in room). Had a good time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

the road map was good did not have a problem to get there . the food was great but why was we asked to put dislikes and preferences if they did not read it ? lights to chalets was very poor. lots to see but you have to drive there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was perfect! very nice place to stay. The owner is really nice and helpfull. She's also knowlegable about wildlife. There are zebras, giraffes, an ostrich and other animals on the property. No complaints

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tzaneen, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Eager to experience the tranquility of the bushveld and the luxury of a 4 star lodge over Easter, my wife and I arrived at Shikwari and were warmly welcomed by Sue and Ann who showed us to our room. Although the room did not seem to have all the trimmings of other 4 star lodges we have stayed at, such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that your experience was not all you would have wished for. I would like you to know that we receive a dispensation for not having TV's in the suites as long as we had one in the guest lounge. This in line with the grading council. Phones are not possible here as there is not... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely, friendly and warm people, well deserved of its four stars, a place I would definitely visit again in the near future. Thank you Shikwari for a memorable start to our long trip through the Kruger National Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your glowing report. It all makes our endeavors worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Regards Sue Lawrie, Owner. More 

Dullstroom South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Pangolin Camp wich is a selfcatering camp. The room (no airconditioner) was okay, but we were surprised to learn that there was no en-suite bathroom! The communal bathroom (bath only with a toilet and wash basin) wasn't clean, and the bath was clearly patched with a large brown stain. The pool's water was murky and definately not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, We would like to apologize for the pool, is has been a bit of a headache during the heavy rains and then takes an age and many chemical to get is right. Our text state clearly that there is one large family bathroom plush and outdoor shower. Unfortunately the bath did get damage and we were unable to get... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in self-catering for R1800 (~$180) in the middle of the summer. The room was a little rondavel (round hut) with 1 king sized bed, 1 small closet, 2 bedside tables (one of which was broken and kept falling over), 2 lamps (one of which was broken and would not turn on), and an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Bush Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our Pangolin Bush Camp. I must reiterate that none of our rooms have keys and that we have never need one. We took this place over 4 years ago and there were no keys then. Most lodge we have had the pleasure of stay at also do not have keys,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shikwari Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikwari Bush Lodge

Address: R36 Lydenburg / J G Strydom Tunnel Road | Valley of Olifants,, Hoedspruit 1308, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shikwari Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shikwari Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay