We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Timbavati Safari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Orpen Road (R531) | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We staid with a group on the camp site of Timbavati. It was a great experience with wild animals walking around our tents. Facilities were perfect, clean toilets and showers with enough hot water. Nice bar and swimming pool, though the water was a little bit cold. I can highly recommend the diner buffet. It was very tasty and if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank v
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Frank, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The team are glad to hear you had a great experience and wee look forward to seeing you again. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been visiting Timbavati Safari Lodge on a regular basis for the past 10 years. For me, this is one of my favourite lodges. It is casually laid back in style, but make no mistake, there is nothing laid back about the efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of Ryan, Kylie and Rob and their entire team. The rondavels are comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan v
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for writing a review on your recent returning visit. We are so glad after 10 years, and im sure many lodge experiences we are one of your favourite. Laid back and Efficient is what we are always striving for :) We look forward to your next visit! More 

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wart hog with babies; mongoose family - all outside our room. Close to Kruger park but more importantly able to give safaris to private reserves where we could get close - in 3 days saw the big 5, lions with a kill; leopard just after starting to eat; lionesses with their v young Cubs - elephants galore - so amazing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonHappyGuy
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LondonHappyGuy, Wow what incredible sightings in just 3 days!! Thank you for letting our future guests know what possibilities there are to see so many animals on our safaris, but I must add you guys were very very lucky!!! We all look forward to your next visit. More 

Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We stayed from November 23 to November 25 at the Lodge. The receipt by Kylie was perfect. The Lodges are situated nicely and neatly furnished. We found only personally the bed a bit narrow because we ourselves two single mattresses are 90 wide. But as I said that's personal. It is a pleasure to stay at this lodge and also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan N
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in November. The team are proud to hear you enjoyed your welcome, the lodge and the meals. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

We were visiting the Kruger during the recent Reconciliation Day holiday period. Accommodation was booked solid throughout the park, so we needed to leave for the night to find an alternative place to stay. We exited the park through Orpen Gate and most places we found were also booked out, however, Timbavati Safari Lodge was able to accommodate us. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alanna211
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Alanna, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 'surprise' stay with us. We are glad to hear we could be of assistance last minute and more so that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back to visit soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 4 days and it was delightful to sit on our veranda early evening and watch animals wander by. Breakfast was okay and the dinners were excellent. Our major complaint is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, despite TripAdvisor comment going back to February2013 in which the owners/manager advised that air-con units... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnneJhbSA
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. The team are glad you enjoyed your meals and were able to take the time to relax on your veranda and enjoy your surroundings. I do apologize for the miss-leading information, we had planned on air-cons and due to other circumstances these were unable to be installed.... More 

San Clemente, California, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Lodge was very clean and nice. Seems to cater primarily to tour groups. Not so much independent travelers. Food buffet style, not our preference. Staff very helpful. If want safari experience, stay inside Kruger Park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JeannineS275
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jeannine, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit on your stop over with us on your way to Kruger. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

An amazing lodge that offers a truly authentic African experience. The staff are amazingly friendly and make you feel like you are home away from home. You can see that the ground are taken care with much attention to detail and care. Very close to the Kruger and loads of activities on offer from the ease of the lodge. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndrewRoyHarris
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The team are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were bale to enjoy not only the lodge but its surroundings also. We all look forward to your next visit. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Being so close to nature was such a wonderful experience. It is here that you can see God's hand in the creation of our world. Giraffes, zebras, kudus, etc. grazing in front of your rondawel is absolutely blissful and so relaxing. Facility very well kept. Keep it up!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gwen_baadjies
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Gwen, Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had many little visitors to your room. We do hope you'll be back soon. More 

Nederland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

We have had 5 nights in the lodge. The rondavel (house) was very pleasant and quit with a lot of space. The lodge personal was very helpfull en friendly. On the bar we have had a fine good drinks and the restaurant buffet is very good. We have get good values for our money and give this lodge than also... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HikinginBryceCanyon
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Corry and Erick, Thank you for expressing your views on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed yourself for the 5 days you were here, and we also enjoyed your company. We all look forward to your next visit and do hope it is sooner rather than later. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#4 of 92 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 16 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#7 of 92 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#20 of 92 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay