We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Centurion hotels

Protea Hotel Centurion

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Gordon Hood & Hendrik Verwoerd Ave | PO Box 7999, Centurion 0046, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Waterfront)
Hotel amenities
Protea Hotel Centurion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Centurion to your Saves list
54%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Claes T Bålsta
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
11
5
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Bålsta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Parameter security is very conspicuous with barrier, (unarmed) guards and some kind of id-control when arriving by vehicle. None of this for pedestrians. Friendly, helpful staff, nice room and good sleeping quality. Compared to other hotels close by this is a shining star. One serious draw back is the fact that you cannot get an airport pick up without completing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PHCentruion, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Claes T Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor site. Thank you for the positive feedback posted and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with the TEAM. We take all matters regarding GUEST satisfaction very serious, I would like... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had the most pleasant time at Protea hotel centurion this past weekend 29 -31 August 2014 the staff was great and helpfully and friendly this past experience has made me a loyal customer to the protea hotel forever ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHCentruion, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Tsholo M Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor site The TEAM and I were overjoyed to receive your feedback and it was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you. We are looking forward in welcoming you back soon. Regards, Etienne Potgieter General Manager More

Maputo Province, Mozambique
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

So. Ive been at the Protea Centurion for 10 days now. I chose them from a list through our travel agent... I should have stayed at one of the other options! Ive had better experiences at 3 star venues. No help getting luggage up to the room on the first day. Daily they only clean the room late even after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Mr Slabbert Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such in depth feedback and for bringing your concerns to my attention. We value all feedback and corrective action has already been taken with many of the matters raised. I would like to apologise for sub-standard level of service, inconvenience and discomfort experienced and in... More

Montagu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed again and almost felt sorry that I have been so critical in the past but the friendliness of the staff did not appear contrived and the service was excellent, making me feel at home this time. No good deed goes unpunished they say........there is still something I would like to mention regarding maintenance and Smoking in the Hotel namely,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear FriendofGrand Once again thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your invaluable feedback. We are excited to learn that we are getting better every month, as it is our highest goal to make all our GUESTS feel at home! There is absolutely no justification for quality and product delivery failures particularly from a well-established... More

Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The first thing that struck me was that on checking in, the porter did not help me with my bags to my room. I had to change rooms and even when changing the porter did not come to assist. the food is good, I enjoyed the salads on the room service menu. However the rooms on the road side are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Atuweni-tupochi…P Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor site. Your feedback is highly appreciated and I will definitely use it constructively to maintain the standard of service offered. Every GUEST is important to us and we are fully committed in providing the superb service experience particularly by getting the basics right consistently.... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two days and were happy with the service and room we received. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. Good location near mall, movies, restaurants and entertainment. All within walking distance... We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear TravelJoe2014 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!! Yours Sincerely Etienne Potgieter General Manager More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I would like to thank the hotel for awesome service we received, from the check in to the housekeeping staff they were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed there over the long weekend in March and it was amazing they really made us feel at home!! They are walking distance from the mall and they have a playroom for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear simonvoster Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that the STAFF offered impressive service. Housekeeping and front of house did receive your commendations with great joy and I can assure you that we have praised the STAFF for not compromising what was promised. Most of all, it... More

Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Being away on business isn't great so accommodation is important to make the trip as pleasant as possible. I was greeted by friendly, competent staff. The only glitch was they put me in a smoking room which smelled terrible. They promptly changed it. The room was light and comfortable with all I needed for a business stay. The a la... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Andre H Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am over the moon to hear that the STAFF were very friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued and I wish to assure you that I have praised my TEAM for their warm personality and well prepared mouth-watering meals. We have... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in Hatfield Protea and it was a pleasure. This hotel is in very poor condition considering the price of R850 with no breakfast. Smell of paint down the halls. Carpet in bad need of replacement. Poor silicone jobs around room and bathroom. My friends stayed at the new Eco lodge in centurion for next to half the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member I appreciate the time you have taken to post valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise that you did not find value during your stay, as this is not the experience we want our GUESTS to leave with. I completely understand your concerns, which is why I am delighted to inform you, that... More

Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in October for a little break away. The room was spacious and quiet but there was no drinking water available. I had also found the bath tub to be quite small but that is just my opinion. The weather was fantastic and we enjoyed what I believe to be the best breakfast ever! We were well attended to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Koekie84 Thank you for your feedback and for posting it on TripAdvisor. It is always refreshing to receive feedback from our GUESTS as we strive to meet and exceed their expectations. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do offer complimentary water upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Natalie... More

Do you own or manage Protea Hotel Centurion?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Centurion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Centurion

Address: Cnr Gordon Hood & Hendrik Verwoerd Ave | PO Box 7999, Centurion 0046, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Waterfront)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Centurion 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Centurion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Waterfront

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay