We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Centurion hotels

Protea Hotel Centurion

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Gordon Hood & Hendrik Verwoerd Ave | PO Box 7999, Centurion 0046, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Waterfront)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Centurion to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Centurion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
53%
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Centurion
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
simonvoster Cape Town Central, South Africa
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
10
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to thank the hotel for awesome service we received, from the check in to the housekeeping staff they were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed there over the long weekend in March and it was amazing they really made us feel at home!! They are walking distance from the mall and they have a playroom for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Being away on business isn't great so accommodation is important to make the trip as pleasant as possible. I was greeted by friendly, competent staff. The only glitch was they put me in a smoking room which smelled terrible. They promptly changed it. The room was light and comfortable with all I needed for a business stay. The a la... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Andre H Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am over the moon to hear that the STAFF were very friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued and I wish to assure you that I have praised my TEAM for their warm personality and well prepared mouth-watering meals. We have... More

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in Hatfield Protea and it was a pleasure. This hotel is in very poor condition considering the price of R850 with no breakfast. Smell of paint down the halls. Carpet in bad need of replacement. Poor silicone jobs around room and bathroom. My friends stayed at the new Eco lodge in centurion for next to half the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member I appreciate the time you have taken to post valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise that you did not find value during your stay, as this is not the experience we want our GUESTS to leave with. I completely understand your concerns, which is why I am delighted to inform you, that... More

Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in October for a little break away. The room was spacious and quiet but there was no drinking water available. I had also found the bath tub to be quite small but that is just my opinion. The weather was fantastic and we enjoyed what I believe to be the best breakfast ever! We were well attended to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Koekie84 Thank you for your feedback and for posting it on TripAdvisor. It is always refreshing to receive feedback from our GUESTS as we strive to meet and exceed their expectations. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do offer complimentary water upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Natalie... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a great stay at Protea Hotel Centurion. The Staff was friendly, service was great. Stayed in one of the suites on the top floor and the room was lovely. Only thing is I think the hotel is due for a bit of an upgrade as it is starting to look tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear 365Solotraveler Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor. It’s always our number priority to deliver nothing but the best GUEST service and I am delighted to learn that my STAFF has provided you with what was promised. I will certainly pass on your comments so that this high standard can always... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Seriously? This hotel is 4 Star? How is this possible? Let's start from the top and work our way through this hotel... My partner and I were staying in this hotel for three nights before driving to the Kruger Park, all I can say is I wish we had booked another hotel. The room, and hotel, was in a poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Soton-Mike80 Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at our hotel! First, let me start off by sincerely apologising for the poor standards received during your recent stay with us. It certainly does not reflect the standard of what to expect from a Protea Hotel. There is simply no excuse for the poor... More

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks (Business booking). In short, not good, definitely not 4 stars, and won't go to a Protea again. Good: - Central Centurion location - Next to a shopping mall - Room cleaning service is ok Bad: - Extremely smelly rotting lake in front of the hotel. You cannot be outdoors, and forget about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Maastricht_traveler Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, It is our goal to meet and exceed GUEST expectations and it is concerning to me that your experience does not reflect this. I would like to sincerely apologise for the bad experience on your stay due to the lake’s condition. The lake belongs to the City of... More

Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at Protea. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious, especially for two adults and two children. The restaurant service and food was excellent. The waiters were very friendly and helpful with the children. A very nice touch is giving a welcome pack to my four year old. We will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Anneke880 I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It is always nice to hear if GUESTS enjoyed their stay and that the STAFF was friendly and helpful! Hope to see you soon at the hotel again for another awesome stay! Kind Regards, Natalie Botha General Manager More

Durban
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Normally stay at Proteas for business, never this one again! !! Someone else's old dirty soap in my shower, obviously bathroom not cleaned, unhygienic! Made me wonder how long it'd been since the sheets had been changed. Noisy corridor with a slamming door all night, plus no room service breakfast. When I told the manager Catherine she said there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PHWaterfront, Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear sassysister Feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Please accept my sincere apologise for the poor service delivery you received from the... More

PARIS
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
83 hotel reviews
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

You definitely need a car to reach this hotel , not walkable from Gautrain Station, The hotel is closed to a shopping mall with good restaurants cause the hotel restaurant isn't that good and people working there are not really attentioned, the rooms are ok despide we had the visit of a hudge spider during the night, the swimming pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
PHWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear 75014PARIS Thank you for valued feedback, Your patronage is valuable and your honesty is truly appreciated; as it is imperative for us to know what we did wrong and not just what we did right. Just to provide you with some feedback to your concerns. We do provide complimentary transport to all our GUESTs coming from the Gautrain Station,... More

Been to Protea Hotel Centurion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Centurion

Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Waterfront
Address: Cnr Gordon Hood & Hendrik Verwoerd Ave | PO Box 7999, Centurion 0046, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Waterfront)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Centurion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Waterfront Centurion – Affordable elegance on the Water’s Edge. Protea Hotel Centurion is located on the safe and tranquil Centurion Waterfront, midway between Johannesburg and Pretoria. The Hotel is situated adjacent to the Centurion Mall shopping complex with its variety of restaurants, bars, boutiques, cinemas and banks. This elegant 4–Star Hotel is surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens, complimented by an outdoor pool and lake deck overlooking the Centurion Lake, ideal for sundowners. If it is luxury you are after, the hotel offers 131 standard African themed bedrooms, 44 modern contemporary self-catering suite apartments, 1 additional studio room and 1 VIP presidential suite with a balcony, overlooking the lake. Located on the water's edge is Protea Hotel Centurion's a la carte restaurant, Emanzini, with its contemporary African atmosphere. The trendy bar and lounge area is the ideal place to come and enjoy a drink after a hard day’s work. Protea Hotel Centurion's mantra is to offer exceptional service, style and comfort with the best rates guaranteed. The tranquil location, as well as attention to personal detail, guarantees an experience unmatched by others for both leisure and corporate travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Centurion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Centurion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.