We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Centurion hotels

Protea Hotel Centurion

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Gordon Hood & Hendrik Verwoerd Ave | PO Box 7999, Centurion 0046, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Waterfront)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Centurion to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Centurion
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Centurion
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
FriendofGrand Montagu, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (66)
  • Photos (49)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
10
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montagu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed again and almost felt sorry that I have been so critical in the past but the friendliness of the staff did not appear contrived and the service was excellent, making me feel at home this time. No good deed goes unpunished they say........there is still something I would like to mention regarding maintenance and Smoking in the Hotel namely,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear FriendofGrand Once again thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your invaluable feedback. We are excited to learn that we are getting better every month, as it is our highest goal to make all our GUESTS feel at home! There is absolutely no justification for quality and product delivery failures particularly from a well-established... More

Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing that struck me was that on checking in, the porter did not help me with my bags to my room. I had to change rooms and even when changing the porter did not come to assist. the food is good, I enjoyed the salads on the room service menu. However the rooms on the road side are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Atuweni-tupochi…P Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor site. Your feedback is highly appreciated and I will definitely use it constructively to maintain the standard of service offered. Every GUEST is important to us and we are fully committed in providing the superb service experience particularly by getting the basics right consistently.... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two days and were happy with the service and room we received. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. Good location near mall, movies, restaurants and entertainment. All within walking distance... We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear TravelJoe2014 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!! Yours Sincerely Etienne Potgieter General Manager More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I would like to thank the hotel for awesome service we received, from the check in to the housekeeping staff they were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed there over the long weekend in March and it was amazing they really made us feel at home!! They are walking distance from the mall and they have a playroom for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear simonvoster Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that the STAFF offered impressive service. Housekeeping and front of house did receive your commendations with great joy and I can assure you that we have praised the STAFF for not compromising what was promised. Most of all, it... More

Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Being away on business isn't great so accommodation is important to make the trip as pleasant as possible. I was greeted by friendly, competent staff. The only glitch was they put me in a smoking room which smelled terrible. They promptly changed it. The room was light and comfortable with all I needed for a business stay. The a la... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Andre H Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am over the moon to hear that the STAFF were very friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued and I wish to assure you that I have praised my TEAM for their warm personality and well prepared mouth-watering meals. We have... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in Hatfield Protea and it was a pleasure. This hotel is in very poor condition considering the price of R850 with no breakfast. Smell of paint down the halls. Carpet in bad need of replacement. Poor silicone jobs around room and bathroom. My friends stayed at the new Eco lodge in centurion for next to half the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member I appreciate the time you have taken to post valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologise that you did not find value during your stay, as this is not the experience we want our GUESTS to leave with. I completely understand your concerns, which is why I am delighted to inform you, that... More

Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in October for a little break away. The room was spacious and quiet but there was no drinking water available. I had also found the bath tub to be quite small but that is just my opinion. The weather was fantastic and we enjoyed what I believe to be the best breakfast ever! We were well attended to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Koekie84 Thank you for your feedback and for posting it on TripAdvisor. It is always refreshing to receive feedback from our GUESTS as we strive to meet and exceed their expectations. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do offer complimentary water upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Natalie... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a great stay at Protea Hotel Centurion. The Staff was friendly, service was great. Stayed in one of the suites on the top floor and the room was lovely. Only thing is I think the hotel is due for a bit of an upgrade as it is starting to look tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear 365Solotraveler Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with feedback on TripAdvisor. It’s always our number priority to deliver nothing but the best GUEST service and I am delighted to learn that my STAFF has provided you with what was promised. I will certainly pass on your comments so that this high standard can always... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Seriously? This hotel is 4 Star? How is this possible? Let's start from the top and work our way through this hotel... My partner and I were staying in this hotel for three nights before driving to the Kruger Park, all I can say is I wish we had booked another hotel. The room, and hotel, was in a poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Soton-Mike80 Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at our hotel! First, let me start off by sincerely apologising for the poor standards received during your recent stay with us. It certainly does not reflect the standard of what to expect from a Protea Hotel. There is simply no excuse for the poor... More

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks (Business booking). In short, not good, definitely not 4 stars, and won't go to a Protea again. Good: - Central Centurion location - Next to a shopping mall - Room cleaning service is ok Bad: - Extremely smelly rotting lake in front of the hotel. You cannot be outdoors, and forget about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHWaterfront, General Manager at Protea Hotel Centurion, responded to this review

Dear Maastricht_traveler Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, It is our goal to meet and exceed GUEST expectations and it is concerning to me that your experience does not reflect this. I would like to sincerely apologise for the bad experience on your stay due to the lake’s condition. The lake belongs to the City of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Centurion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Centurion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Centurion

Address: Cnr Gordon Hood & Hendrik Verwoerd Ave | PO Box 7999, Centurion 0046, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Waterfront)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Centurion 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Centurion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Waterfront

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Waterfront Centurion – Affordable elegance on the Water’s Edge. Protea Hotel Centurion is located on the safe and tranquil Centurion Waterfront, midway between Johannesburg and Pretoria. The Hotel is situated adjacent to the Centurion Mall shopping complex with its variety of restaurants, bars, boutiques, cinemas and banks. This elegant 4–Star Hotel is surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens, complimented by an outdoor pool and lake deck overlooking the Centurion Lake, ideal for sundowners. If it is luxury you are after, the hotel offers 131 standard African themed bedrooms, 44 modern contemporary self-catering suite apartments, 1 additional studio room and 1 VIP presidential suite with a balcony, overlooking the lake. Located on the water's edge is Protea Hotel Centurion's a la carte restaurant, Emanzini, with its contemporary African atmosphere. The trendy bar and lounge area is the ideal place to come and enjoy a drink after a hard day’s work. Protea Hotel Centurion's mantra is to offer exceptional service, style and comfort with the best rates guaranteed. The tranquil location, as well as attention to personal detail, guarantees an experience unmatched by others for both leisure and corporate travellers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
177

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;