We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ballito hotels

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Muhammad Anees H Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    57
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
37
110
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The reception staff are warm and professional. Porters are prompt and neat. Exceptional service at security when we arrived. Very arrogant security individual when we checked out. The room view was spectacular. Unfortunately towels are tired. The room tiling in certain areas looked worn out and the fridge had a funny smell. I also found a cockroach in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SayedFarah Thank for taking the time to review the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and for your lovely comments regarding our Reception Staff and our Porters. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you had a bad experience when departing the Zimbali Estate. Please rest assured that your concerns have been raised with... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, however, it is very far from the beach. The conference venue was disappointing and the conference rooms were small with no airconditioning working. The food quality was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Muhammad Anees H Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious rooms at our beautiful property. Please accept our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with while conferencing at the Lodge. We hope that your future experience will be a more pleasant and memorable one.... More 

London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no dout that the Zimbali Lodge is a lovely place to stay, however I have say that it just falls short of it's five star rating which is disappointing. This was our second visit here, the last was five years ago. On the plus side it's a huge, secure site with the spacious rooms set in a living... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JohnT42 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are disheartened to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We have taken note of your concerns regarding the key cards not working and lack of amenities within the... More 

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I find it bizarre that you stay at a beach resort and have no access to the beach. The receptionist had to phone the Fairmont hotel to take me down to the beach. At a cost of R 50 too. The Lodge is not able to give you an access key. There are far better hotels to stay if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael M Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing to stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. The Zimbali Coastal Estate is a secured gated estate, with 2 beach access points. One of the beach access points can unfortunately only be reached on foot, due to the fact that one needs... More 

Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We attended a wedding at Zimbali and stayed at Zimbali Lodge for 2 nights - 24/25 Oct 2014. I must say for such a beautiful location and buildings the service is extremely disappointing. The food quality is not good and the staff are dis-organised. Room service food quality is a lot worse than the dining room quality. That being said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Waldorphian Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do hope that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended. We’re sorry that the service and food quality was not up to your expectations. Please rest assured that we are investigating to get a better understanding of the challenges which you experienced. The... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I have been staying at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for over 10 years, admittedly I have stayed there I think on five occasions. There is no doubt that the standards have been lowered and the service has slipped. Let’s start with the bedrooms; the rooms are nicely appointed and reasonably spacious. There are definitely not enough hangers in the wardrobe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 2Travelmore75 I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. I am most disappointed that your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not live up to your expectations. The rooms at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge have recently been refurbished, so we’re glad that you found them well... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for one night of our honeymoon and one night was definitely not enough! Our room was located in the heart of what seemed like a forest and overlooked the beautiful golf course and dam. Upon arrival the room was setup with rose petals and a both was already set for us. My favourite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pumpkin0099 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I must say that we are delighted to be chosen as one of your honeymoon destinations! We’re very happy that we could assist you in creating special memories during such a special time. We hope that you and your husband will be returning to... More 

south africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic position. It is a nice 4 star and most definitely not a 5 star!! Room has a fantastic view, good sleep quality but furnishing is a bit old. Breakfast staff are quite disorganized . Food quality and cleanliness could be improved . No information about wifi or how to move around the estate was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Topons8, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that overall your time with us was very positive, complimenting the fantastic location, views and accommodation. Your feedback is highly valued. I will ensure your input is shared with our management team and used to further enhance the guest... More 

Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We did an add on at the end of our Safari to Lakeside Lodge for 5 days with Saga. What a wonderful place it was with such kind and considerate staff. Even on 1 occasion when it was raining the staff came and collected us on a golf cart to take us to the Restaurant. Our Saga guide Obe was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, Thank you for sharing your positive experience of staying at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that your time with us was enjoyable and truly memorable. Thank you for your kind compliments of the lodge, our rooms, the dining experience, spa and our thoughtful colleagues. I’m so pleased you experienced engaging service and that all was to your... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We arrived to Fairmont Zimbali straight from a long flight from Australia. We got an excellent rate and were very impressed by the resort. The breakfast was delicious and the pool was gorgeous. The resort felt very empty which we really liked. The walk down to the beach was a real adventure too. Also, we had access to the beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rimona, Thank you for taking the time to share this great review on TripAdvisor! It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team strives to create memories for all our guests. They are grateful to have achieved this during your stay; as well as for your recognition and recommendation. We hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby