We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JamesShades Johannesburg, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    72
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
46
125
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was comfortable, intimate, and clean. The staff were friendly and always greeted. There was a good variety for breakfast . We walked down to the beach and saw game and a variety of bird life. Don't expect to leave the Lodge much, you will be absorbed by the tranquility and the time will fly past. Dinner at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JamesShades Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing getaway at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our friendly staff. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali again... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights as a stopover to our Safari vacation. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of this hotel, having stayed at Fairmont's in other parts of the world before. I learned my lesson and will not choose a hotel in the future based on the reputation of the brand. After we had booked, but before we arrived,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Larry S Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are saddened to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations and that you left feeling disappointed. We would like to apologise for the challenges experienced with the shuttle service as well... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Lodge is set in dense natural coastal forest which gives it a surreal tropical ambiance. At night we could hear nocturnal animal calls and in the morning we were woken with bird song. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom including a big tub and spacious shower. Service up at the Resort was fantastic! I found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Skoees Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the natural scenery of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge left a lasting impression on you. We always strive to deliver service that is engaging and we are very happy to hear that this... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've heard so much about Zimbali Lodge that it's an uncompromised 5 Star, indeed it is, my family and I love the place, as there is so much to do here ranging from Good restaurants, incredible surrounding and perfect views of the beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AdorableDoris Thank you for sharing your review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to live up to your expectation and that you and your family love our property, as well as all that it has to offer. We hope that you will be back again in the near... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

After reading some bad reviews about the place I could not find anything wrong with this awesome place on the natal North coast. Golf course was awesome. Did not play but drove a cart around it twice. breakfast was super, had dinners at a couple of their restaurants and all our needs were met. The rooms are revamped and fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pierre P We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that all your needs were met. We are glad that you found the rooms to be fit for a king. Thank you... More 

Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Room was large but very dated and needed renovating. Restaurant only served breakfast, which was a menu on weekdays and buffet at weekend. Other meals could be taken at the resort. The hotel is well situated and after a 15 min walk can reach the sea and swimming pools. Very expensive drinks but nice bar area next to the infinity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Janice Y Thank you for your sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the bar service next to the infinity pool at the Lodge, and that you were able to make use of the other facilities within the estate. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We where looking so forward to our break at Zimbali only to be met with disappointment. Services is non exciting, 90% of the services has been closed down at the lodge, which is something they omitted to tell us at the time we made our booking and at the time we booked into the hotel. It's extremely expensive, even by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RonnieB79 Thank you for sharing your review with us. We value your feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for the disappointing experience had during your stay with us at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Please can I ask you to send an email to zim.marketing@fairmont.com with all the details of your stay, including all the challenges that you... More 

Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Too expensive, over the top cost on drinks (including soft drinks) and cigarettes (more than 2.5 times the cost). Breakfast buffet very basic. Front desk were not prompt as should be for a 5* establishment. One of our room access cards were demagnetized, we handed in before having breakfast, went to conference for the entire day but the card was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RoshneeG2803 Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We would like to extend our apologies for the issues that you were faced with during your conference at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are sad to hear that you left feeling disappointed by the service and that we did not live up to your expectation.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

My wife and I returned to Zimbali lodge after 10 yrs, having had a 5 star experience back in 2005. Wow how things have changed unfortunately not for the better. On our arrival at the lodge we were looking for a quick bite before heading off to a wedding, we were informed that lunch and dinner were no longer served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kia1tow Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your recent return to the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not live up to expectation and previous experience. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused with the closure of our lunch and dinner restaurant at the Lodge. We would also like... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We enjoy 5 Star accommodation and Fairmont lives up to this level around the world, but the venue at Zimbali Resort outside Durban disappoints. It's a 4 Star facility.... badly leaking shower, slanting sink, no minibar, noisy doors and no central heating in the rooms describes our experience over a couple of days. We do not recommend unless it's 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tony B Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Fairmont Zimbali with us. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to your expectation, and that you were faced with some maintenance challenges at the Hotel. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences caused and we are sorry that you left feeling disappointed by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
14.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay