We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ballito hotels

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
IvanJenkins Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
39
111
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having our booking messed up at the restaurant, no apologies offered at the time. Dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms, room service took over two hours..Waiters laughing when the situation got a bit tense. Poor overall management as well as a complete lack of client service. To top it all off, two of us who happen to eat the same thing left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MikBtrip Thank you for taking the time share your feedback with us. We are saddened to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that you found the service that you experienced not in keeping with a 5 star establishment. Kindly email us at zim.marketing@fairmont.com to further discuss your stay with us.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

December is really busy so much of the feedback below is related to this time of the year: Around the pool, there are often non hotel guests using the loungers, so you need to get in early. We managed to get a lounger most days, but ended up sitting on the floor one day, staff did not offer any assistance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IvanJenkins We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful and efficient staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though you experienced some challenges with the service around the pool which has been duly noted. We are glad... More 

hartebeesportdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would not visit this Place again.I waited for an ice bucket for 7 hours it never arrived. The chef cnt even make eggs he is pathetic. The meals are not varied n boring. You dnt always get the exact meal as per the menu. When it comes to the shuttle service my goodness horrid. Toilets are smelly n unhygienic and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ophelianate We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. We really do appreciate your valuable feedback. We are saddened to hear that your experience was not in keeping with the level of service that we strive to deliver at Fairmont, and apologise that you left feeling disappointed. Your feedback has already been reviewed by our... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception staff & staff in general were friendly and welcoming, setting was lovely, right in the forrest & a great pool. A walk down to the beach is recommended. Room was dated with a lot of upgrades needed, furnishings looked and felt cheap. While showering the plastic shower head broke off and fell on my head. Maintenance staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon C Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. This is much appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to constantly improve our guest experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery that surrounds the Lodge. This is truly a magnificent location and we are very... More 

Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

No adequate words to describe this lodge - amazing setting, beautiful surroundings and superb attention to detail - service in line with any five-star resort. The Trophy bar at the pool offers some of the best curry in South Africa as well as some of the best poolside drinks. Spend most of your time lazing at the pool for total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Esme L Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive comments with us and for choosing to stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge during the festive season. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and hope that you’ll visit us again soon – even if it’s just for another chance... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014 via mobile

The reception staff are warm and professional. Porters are prompt and neat. Exceptional service at security when we arrived. Very arrogant security individual when we checked out. The room view was spectacular. Unfortunately towels are tired. The room tiling in certain areas looked worn out and the fridge had a funny smell. I also found a cockroach in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SayedFarah Thank for taking the time to review the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and for your lovely comments regarding our Reception Staff and our Porters. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you had a bad experience when departing the Zimbali Estate. Please rest assured that your concerns have been raised with... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, however, it is very far from the beach. The conference venue was disappointing and the conference rooms were small with no airconditioning working. The food quality was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Muhammad Anees H Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious rooms at our beautiful property. Please accept our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with while conferencing at the Lodge. We hope that your future experience will be a more pleasant and memorable one.... More 

London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

There is no dout that the Zimbali Lodge is a lovely place to stay, however I have say that it just falls short of it's five star rating which is disappointing. This was our second visit here, the last was five years ago. On the plus side it's a huge, secure site with the spacious rooms set in a living... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JohnT42 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are disheartened to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We have taken note of your concerns regarding the key cards not working and lack of amenities within the... More 

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I find it bizarre that you stay at a beach resort and have no access to the beach. The receptionist had to phone the Fairmont hotel to take me down to the beach. At a cost of R 50 too. The Lodge is not able to give you an access key. There are far better hotels to stay if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Michael M Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing to stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. The Zimbali Coastal Estate is a secured gated estate, with 2 beach access points. One of the beach access points can unfortunately only be reached on foot, due to the fact that one needs... More 

Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We attended a wedding at Zimbali and stayed at Zimbali Lodge for 2 nights - 24/25 Oct 2014. I must say for such a beautiful location and buildings the service is extremely disappointing. The food quality is not good and the staff are dis-organised. Room service food quality is a lot worse than the dining room quality. That being said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Waldorphian Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do hope that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended. We’re sorry that the service and food quality was not up to your expectations. Please rest assured that we are investigating to get a better understanding of the challenges which you experienced. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay