We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
skövde
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only stayed for one night because they do only serve breakfast. No minibar, no room service, no food, no nothing. We got a room with a big balcony and the view was just trees. We arrived late and was very hungry and thirsty and there was noting for us to eat or drink, but two small bottles of water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank catarinaallert
brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I love the location on the coast, in the forest / bush reserve. The Zimabli resort is terrific, close to the airport, not far from Durban and not far from Unhlanga with restaurants and shopping etc. Golf course, right next to the Lodge remains very attractive. HOWEVER, the Zimbali lodge now 1) does not provide free wifi, 2) there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank david w
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend so dissatisfied with everything the bathroom smelt of urine Our aircon was not working had maintainance in and out our room about 5 times and still slept the night in a hot box with my very pregnant self my toddler and husband. Breakfast was hideous just not to my liking also lots of insects I... More 

Helpful?
Thank sadiyyahm
Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am very sad to say that we were quite disappointed with our trip! It was our anniversary and of course the beckoning 5 star luxury was definitely something to look forward to. Excitement soon turned to disillusionment. Don't get me wrong, the property is magnificent with beautiful views of the ocean from reception and blocks of rooms situated amongst... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndrissaFerreira
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel around very well and stay in great places around the world and always booked great hotels. We have had a fantastic time in South Africa and planned to end our trip here in the lap of luxury of a 5 star hotel. I kid you not it is not and can not be five star hotel, why? Well... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank scott j
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear scott j Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologise for any inconveniences that you may have experienced due to the limited meal options available at the Lodge and hope that... More 

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Fairmont Lodge at Zimbali offers a complete holiday with a nature reserve, golf course, swimming pools and beaches. It offers walking trails, small wild life as well as being close to many restaurants and bars.

Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond G
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Desmond G Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful facilities that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to deliver yet another memorable stay... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've spent 10 days here, and its been really great. My family has loved it too. There's many options at offer from chalets to huge houses and their highly rated hotel, all depending on the amount of people you're with and your budget. If you a lover of nature,then this estate is the perfect place for you. From golf courses,... More 

Helpful?
Thank wandile_04
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear wandile_04 Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you had the perfect getaway at our beautiful property and that you and your family loved your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Maye Khuluse Director of Guest Services Fairmont... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Zimbali Lodge used to be one of our favourite hotels but unfortunately standards have slipped a lot. The venue has all the ingredients to be awesome but it's just become average. The positives: -The location in the forest is fantastic and it's just a short drive into town (Ballito). -Service is generally very good and most staff were helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RosG101
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RosG101 Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We would like to extend our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with during your stay and that you left feeling disappointed by your experience with us. This is certainly not in keeping with Fairmont standard and we... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Our stay in room 707 was very comfortable and the view was exceptional. The service was very good and the staff always friendly. When we reported a problem with the basin plug it was promptly seen to. The only thing that was not good for a so called "self catering" room, was that the fridge is exceptionally small with almost... More 

Helpful?
Thank A5840KKjana
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear A5840KKjana Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service left a lasting impression on you. We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back to our beautiful property again soon. Kind Regards, Maye Khuluse Director... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
14.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay