We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ballito hotels

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
39
114
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

What a beautiful hotel this is. Several pools, gorgeous lodges and 5 restaurants. However there is no night time entertainment and the nearest town is about 20 mins. This place shuts down at 11 at latest. We felt the staff at reception discouraged us from visiting ballito and Durban by charging a lot to get to them. It is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Once again had a great experience at the Zimbali Lodge! The resort is an amazing getaway with some beautiful dining experiences. The monkeys by the pools are very cheeky so watch out for any food you have around you! The rooms are lovely with some amazing views over the jungle and to the sea. Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for four nights at the end of a touring holiday. We found the hotel to be delightful. The surrounding estate is filled with trees and wildlife. The rooms are big and spacious. The housekeeping staff do and great job and nothing is to much trouble. Generally speaking the whole team are friendly and charming. The restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first visit to the North Coast, and upon arriving at the beautiful Zimbali Lodge we were greeted with smiles, booking in was quick and a pleasure. Our room was clean and neat, service from any of the staff, any time, day or night,excellent. Nature is mesmerising and breathtaking, and you feel welcome and peaceful from arrival till departure. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rian En Yolandi P Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor Community. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and that you were able to experience our excellent service and breathtaking scenery. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that the North Coast will... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Having our booking messed up at the restaurant, no apologies offered at the time. Dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms, room service took over two hours..Waiters laughing when the situation got a bit tense. Poor overall management as well as a complete lack of client service. To top it all off, two of us who happen to eat the same thing left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MikBtrip Thank you for taking the time share your feedback with us. We are saddened to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that you found the service that you experienced not in keeping with a 5 star establishment. Kindly email us at zim.marketing@fairmont.com to further discuss your stay with us.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

December is really busy so much of the feedback below is related to this time of the year: Around the pool, there are often non hotel guests using the loungers, so you need to get in early. We managed to get a lounger most days, but ended up sitting on the floor one day, staff did not offer any assistance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear IvanJenkins We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful and efficient staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though you experienced some challenges with the service around the pool which has been duly noted. We are glad... More 

hartebeesportdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Would not visit this Place again.I waited for an ice bucket for 7 hours it never arrived. The chef cnt even make eggs he is pathetic. The meals are not varied n boring. You dnt always get the exact meal as per the menu. When it comes to the shuttle service my goodness horrid. Toilets are smelly n unhygienic and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ophelianate We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. We really do appreciate your valuable feedback. We are saddened to hear that your experience was not in keeping with the level of service that we strive to deliver at Fairmont, and apologise that you left feeling disappointed. Your feedback has already been reviewed by our... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

The reception staff & staff in general were friendly and welcoming, setting was lovely, right in the forrest & a great pool. A walk down to the beach is recommended. Room was dated with a lot of upgrades needed, furnishings looked and felt cheap. While showering the plastic shower head broke off and fell on my head. Maintenance staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon C Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. This is much appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to constantly improve our guest experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery that surrounds the Lodge. This is truly a magnificent location and we are very... More 

Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

No adequate words to describe this lodge - amazing setting, beautiful surroundings and superb attention to detail - service in line with any five-star resort. The Trophy bar at the pool offers some of the best curry in South Africa as well as some of the best poolside drinks. Spend most of your time lazing at the pool for total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Esme L Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive comments with us and for choosing to stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge during the festive season. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and hope that you’ll visit us again soon – even if it’s just for another chance... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014 via mobile

The reception staff are warm and professional. Porters are prompt and neat. Exceptional service at security when we arrived. Very arrogant security individual when we checked out. The room view was spectacular. Unfortunately towels are tired. The room tiling in certain areas looked worn out and the fridge had a funny smell. I also found a cockroach in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SayedFarah Thank for taking the time to review the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and for your lovely comments regarding our Reception Staff and our Porters. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you had a bad experience when departing the Zimbali Estate. Please rest assured that your concerns have been raised with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay