We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
AdorableDoris Pretoria, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    70
    56
    20
    11
See reviews for
44
124
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've heard so much about Zimbali Lodge that it's an uncompromised 5 Star, indeed it is, my family and I love the place, as there is so much to do here ranging from Good restaurants, incredible surrounding and perfect views of the beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AdorableDoris Thank you for sharing your review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to live up to your expectation and that you and your family love our property, as well as all that it has to offer. We hope that you will be back again in the near... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some bad reviews about the place I could not find anything wrong with this awesome place on the natal North coast. Golf course was awesome. Did not play but drove a cart around it twice. breakfast was super, had dinners at a couple of their restaurants and all our needs were met. The rooms are revamped and fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pierre P We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that all your needs were met. We are glad that you found the rooms to be fit for a king. Thank you... More 

Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was large but very dated and needed renovating. Restaurant only served breakfast, which was a menu on weekdays and buffet at weekend. Other meals could be taken at the resort. The hotel is well situated and after a 15 min walk can reach the sea and swimming pools. Very expensive drinks but nice bar area next to the infinity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Janice Y Thank you for your sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the bar service next to the infinity pool at the Lodge, and that you were able to make use of the other facilities within the estate. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We where looking so forward to our break at Zimbali only to be met with disappointment. Services is non exciting, 90% of the services has been closed down at the lodge, which is something they omitted to tell us at the time we made our booking and at the time we booked into the hotel. It's extremely expensive, even by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RonnieB79 Thank you for sharing your review with us. We value your feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for the disappointing experience had during your stay with us at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Please can I ask you to send an email to zim.marketing@fairmont.com with all the details of your stay, including all the challenges that you... More 

Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Too expensive, over the top cost on drinks (including soft drinks) and cigarettes (more than 2.5 times the cost). Breakfast buffet very basic. Front desk were not prompt as should be for a 5* establishment. One of our room access cards were demagnetized, we handed in before having breakfast, went to conference for the entire day but the card was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RoshneeG2803 Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We would like to extend our apologies for the issues that you were faced with during your conference at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are sad to hear that you left feeling disappointed by the service and that we did not live up to your expectation.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I returned to Zimbali lodge after 10 yrs, having had a 5 star experience back in 2005. Wow how things have changed unfortunately not for the better. On our arrival at the lodge we were looking for a quick bite before heading off to a wedding, we were informed that lunch and dinner were no longer served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kia1tow Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your recent return to the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge did not live up to expectation and previous experience. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused with the closure of our lunch and dinner restaurant at the Lodge. We would also like... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoy 5 Star accommodation and Fairmont lives up to this level around the world, but the venue at Zimbali Resort outside Durban disappoints. It's a 4 Star facility.... badly leaking shower, slanting sink, no minibar, noisy doors and no central heating in the rooms describes our experience over a couple of days. We do not recommend unless it's 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tony B Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Fairmont Zimbali with us. We are disheartened to hear that we did not live up to your expectation, and that you were faced with some maintenance challenges at the Hotel. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences caused and we are sorry that you left feeling disappointed by... More 

Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge is a lovely hotel built in colonial style with stunning views over the Indian Ocean. You travel in golf carts to your lodge along forest paths. The real downside is the fact that the restaurant is only open for breakfast. As we were full board we had to be ferried to the hotel for lunch and dinner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cber51 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly during your stay. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused regarding your lunch and dinner arrangements at the Hotel.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

Where do I begin! From the perfectly manicured 18 hole golf course with breath taking views of the Indian Ocean...to the finer details. Giving new meaning to the word "VIP treatment'. I want to thank the hotel staff, in particular Samuel Moralo for helping my husband to organise a great surprise for my 40th birthday from 650km away.The memories of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear HoneyMamabolo Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to be part of your special day, and that we could turn your moment with us into a memorable one. We hope that you had a wonderful 40th Birthday. We loved receiving your feedback and will certainly pass your... More 

Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Tranquil and beautiful setting with beautiful views. Excellent front of house service, very professional staff and overall service. Restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and also offer cap classique by the glass. Food was scrumptious and of very high quality. Our waiter was exceptional and offered above- average service. The rooms are spacious and tasteful, but didn't feature a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anja V Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you found our service to be professional and of excellence, and that you had a lovely experience at the restaurant. We are disheartened to hear that our rooms did not live up to your expectations, and that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay