We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Ballito hotels

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to your Saves list
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Tamish B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (120)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    51
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
33
97
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful place Excellent service Fantastic food I was only disappointed by the lack of the romantic turn-down which was part of the package. I still say that the package is absolute value and the Lodge is romantic for a couple. This was our first night as a married couple and I was pleased overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tamish, Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are truly honored that you chose the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for your honeymoon and delighted that you experienced the charm and ambiance that gives the Lodge its romantic appeal. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to the romantic turn-down. We sincerely apologise that you... More

Johannesburg
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for a week and LOVED it. Amazing views from the balconies, beautiful rooms and superb service all round made this a holiday to remember. The staff are excellent and we could not have had a better time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tascha1, Our sincere thanks to you for your five-star rating, we are truly honoured and humbled by it. We could not be more thrilled that you found in Fairmont Zimbali Lodge a little slice of heaven. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the views, accommodation and experienced... More

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The public spaces of this hotel are outstanding, but the rooms do not live up to the same quality. The views and the comfort of the public areas are amazing, and the staff are really helpful and mostly seem to be proactive. This is not a city hotel so don't expect the same speed of response, but do expect helpfulness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are so pleased that you had a great experience at Lodge. It is indeed ideally located amid the natural beauty of Zimbali’s forest canopy, complete with stunning views, golf, swimming, spa and host of other things to experience. We are delighted that you got... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful luxurious property located in the most magnificent and evergreen jungle of the north coast of Durban, Ballito. Spacious chalets (most of them with no sea views), each surrounded by tropical high trees. If you are lucky, you may hear and see the crowned eagles that live in this coastal piece of land. Delicious breakfasts and pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear LoveThePlanetFamily, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the luxury, ambiance, location and facilities that the Lodge has to offer. We are however very disheartened to hear that you did not experience the... More

Glasgow Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We wanted to stay somehwere out of Durban near the airport for the start of our fly drive holiday and Zimbali Lodge was ideal. We had 3 nights at the start and one at the end and had a very enjoyable stay. The Lodge is in an eco forest so the rooms are dark and sitting on the balcony you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bella, Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We’re delighted you had a pleasant experience with us, and humbled that you and your partner choose to begin and end your holiday at the Lodge. We couldn't agree with you more. Nestled within a coastal forest reserve, the... More

Richterswil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I know it was low season, but the lodge seemed remarkably empty. With it the atmosphere was a bit flat and the staff seemed slow/reluctant to serve the few guests who were there. The rooms are a good size with great views, but ours seemed to be a little tired looking. All in all, it was great to spend a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CMJohnsonn, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of staying at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We’re so pleased you enjoyed the tranquility of the Lodge and were able to enjoy a relaxing two days away from the hustle and bustle of Durban city. Furthermore, that overall you enjoyed the spacious rooms and breathtaking views.... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were here for a wedding in Zimbali. It's a very present hotel, set amongst some amazing scenery and has a lovely chilled vibe. The rooms are clean and have a real rustic feel to them. The food is ok, breakfast is very overpriced and average tasting, the curry dinner was very nice though but there were places off the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lozza999 Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking scenery and relaxed ambiance of our beautiful hotel. We will most definitely look into your recommendation on including a wider variety of vegetarian meals. Our chefs are also... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My partner and I spent the last weekend of our honeymoon at the lodge and could not have asked for a more relaxing experience! Check was fast and efficient and we were taken to our rooms by a very friendly porter on the golf carts. Upon entering our room we were welcomed by a chilled bottle of sparkling wine, two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stevie, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of staying with us. We are truly humbled you choose Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for your honeymoon, and delighted it was so memorable. Please accept our congratulations again on your most happy union. We wish you continued happiness together and we look forward to welcoming you both back... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked in for our 6th wedding anniversary. All was well until our anniversary supper was spoilt. I made a reservation at Thandi Restaurant. When we got there,we were given a table that seemed it was pulled out of a conference storage and not part of the rest of the lovely furniture. It made me feel very inferior to the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Prindha, Congratulations on the occasion of your 6th Wedding Anniversary. We are truly humbled that you chose to mark this momentous occasion at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge, however we were disappointed to learn that the challenges you encountered while dining at Thandi Restaurant marred the five-star experience for you. Please... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful holiday made infinatly better by the manager Ryan crow. Looking forward to returning as soon as we can. Perfect food, weather and golf. 2by2 were first class in delivering a service. Complementary 3 bottles of wine were much appriciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, and our thanks to you for recognising Ryan for his great service. Although we can’t take credit for the weather, we are pleased you enjoyed the meals and golf! We sincerely hope... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate, PO Box 404 | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
76

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer