We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Montagne

100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Montagne
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had to pay R20 entry per person to go eat up on the terrace & use the pool which I fully understand. But what a disappointment. Service really slow - they need more waiters. Toilets were absolutely appalling. No toilet paper and filthy. No toilet staff around at all. This place is packed and should have full time toilet staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
First_Resorts, Director at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, we are pleased that you enjoyed our meals on offer. We endeavor to ensure that all our guests enjoy great service, and apologize that we did not deliver on this promise during your last visit. Please be assured that all concerns raised will be dealt with at the highest level,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has great potential, but unfortunately it needs a lot of maintenance, the rooms need to be modernised, the building needs to be painted. For what you pay, it is not worth the money. Most importantly, when you want to use the swimming pool and loungers, you need to put your towels out at 6am in the morning to... More 

Helpful?
Thank rmailich
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your expectation with regards to service delivery on this occasion. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ballito hotels

Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Familly frendly, and nice to visit as day visitors, food is desant but a bit pricey. Waiters can take long with service on busy days. Kids entertainment and nice pool to cool off. .. On the beach, with direct axxess

Helpful?
1 Thank johannj479
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking time out to review our beautiful property. We pride ourselves in striving to deliver the best possible guest experience. I am very pleased to hear your positive feedback and that the little ones enjoyed our entertainers. We are working on our service delivery and hopefully you will visit us again to see... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

Worst place to stay in Ballito. Arrived, terrible service at reception. We asked for braai and aircon before making the booking, they had none. Hot plate as a braai and no aircon. Needless to say we got a refund and booked ourselves in at a place that had everything we wanted and more. But that's how you learn. La Montagne... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene K
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a comment. We do strive to meet our guest expectation and it is with great regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time. I would like to offer you a apology and only hope that you would provide us an opportunity to improve on our... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

From the check in till the check out our stay was great. Housekeeping needs a bit of work but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Blessing was the best waiter. We order shooter and they did not have some of the stuff to make it and the waited was long but we can live with it. I believe the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esmari T
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our property. I would also like to thank you for the positive comments and acknowledge the comment on housekeeping. We will be working on this. I will be sharing your comments with the team and especially with Blessing. I am certain that the team will appreciate this and it will... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

It was a terrible experience for my newly wedded brother and his wife from Germany. Their room and bathroom were so dirty, they did not even dare to sit down.. not to mention the smell. They just stayed 2 hours and left. We were contacted from Joanne from fun holidays to write an email with the complain but until now... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ricarda S
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your recent stay, and it is with regret that we failed to match your expectations of the hotel on this occasion. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for your disappointment with our... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

La Montagne feels like it's stuck in the nineties. A Ballito landmark, the hotel is adequately maintained and clean, but its finishes are old-fashioned. We stayed in a tiny two-sleeper room, which at first made us feel a little claustrophobic, especially the bathroom. However, the spectacular views made up for it, since we were about twenty steps from the promenade.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jani V
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your comments of our lovely property on Tripadvisor. We agree that the property is on the old side but we are in the process of renewing the rooms. We have increased our surveillance and our security is very attentive. It is important for us, that you... More 

Howick, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

What was promised at this resort was lovely restaurants, beautiful rooms, etc. We arrived to a mediocre to awful room, the doors did not close, the bathroom door was off its slider, the curtains did not close properly, the hairdryer plug was not even connected properly and had loose wires, the restaurant that was meant to be open Monday to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank remarks2015
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time out to write a review and raising your concerns. I would like to apologize that you had a bad experience and at no point are we there to make your stay uncomfortable. I have taken note of the issues that you have mentioned and have already addressed this with all relevant parties. We... More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Hi my wife and I stayed at La Montagne From 24th September to the 27th September 2015, room 607. What can I say about a place where u were made to feel at home. The staff was so friendly and I would like to give a special shout out to Sandra Govendar B&F waiter. What a lady, she really made... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying at our beautiful resort and thank you for taking time out to review our property. It gives us great pleasure to know that had a wonderful stay and that we have met your expectations. I will communicate this message to the rest of our wonderful team. I will also communicate the positive response, especially,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

This is the first time we have stayed at La Montagne and it won't be our last! The hotel is very family orientated, which is really great for children. There is lots to do for both adults and children. From when you enter at the security gate to reception and in any of the eating places you are greeted with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine756
First_Resorts, General Manager at La Montagne, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to write a review on our lovely property. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received great service from our friendly staff. We are looking forward to hosting you again and to deliver the same service excellence. Kind Regards Dolf Groenewald General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#4 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.7 mi away
Vetho House
Vetho House
#4 of 13 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay