We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ballito hotels

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Zimbali Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
289julianj Cape Town, South Africa
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    108
    55
    28
    16
See reviews for
94
131
10
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Attendance for a weekend at Zimbali for a medical conference. Experienced great service from friendly and professional staff. Beautiful and spacious room with all amenities available. Food choices great!

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This large resort hotel is still good but not a great Hotel to match its room rates. On our 3rd visit in the past few years, we perceived a drop in standards. The rooms are large and very attractive, with bathroom integrated with the bedroom with sliding glass partitions allowing the bathroom to be visually separated from the bedroom. Stunning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I started at he lodge, moved to the resort and graduated to the estate houses available for renting. The experience is wow. everything you could look for. away from the fast city life. security on the estate is number 1. they exist to make sure guests are well looked after.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tshwane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed my stay and immaculate service. The room service, the place and all its amenities, the ambiance is very relaxing. I will like for the Lodge staff to ensure that they do not dramatise the snake issues as they make the stay uneasy.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear kebalepilem Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a relaxing holiday. We will certainly take your feedback regarding the snake issues under advisement. We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali again in the near future. Kind Regards Leon Meyer General Manager... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the final stop of our South African road trip/tour. It was left to last on purpose, so that we could completely relax and unwind before heading home and back to work and that's exactly what we did! We enjoyed the spa, the pools, the room, the restaurants and the Zimbali Lodge. My highlight was the lodge. The view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear -BEES-Bee Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the restaurants and all the amenities at Fairmont Zimbali on your recent stay. We strive to deliver memorable experiences for all our guests and we are thrilled to see that this was accomplished by our very helpful staff, and that you... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Will recommend the hotel to every one coming to SA Thank you for the hospitality also from the staff at the Thandi Restuarant. The food was amazing. I still have the taste of their curry even now on my mouth.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Montlafi R Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed your delicious curry at the Thandi Restaurant. It was a pleasure hosting you at our property and we thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you again on your... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Some of the service was a little slow and not always with the correct level of training but, really, this is Africa and we loved it. The concierge staff were simply the best and nothing was too much trouble. The Indian restaurant in the Lodge is a 'must visit' for some of the best curries ever. Avoid breakfast at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Norman J Thank you for your valuable review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the curries at the Thandi Restaurant to be some of the best ever. We are also happy to hear that you were well taken care of by our simply-the-best Concierge team.... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time at this property although I have stayed at the Fairmont Lodge before. Potentially a lovely hotel. However, small issues of well-meaning but unprofessional service spoil the luxury ambiance. Staff try hard but just need the fine training that is usually indicative of the Fairmont brand. The hotel has a magnificent pool area - one of the best I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear polanalyst Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor Community. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pools and outdoor area of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We would like to extend our apologies for the challenges that you faced while checking in to the hotel. We are saddened to hear that... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently came back from a 4 days stay in this place and very few times in my life I felt so compelled to share a bad experience widely but this place surely deserves it. It all started even before we set foot in the reception: arriving by car, I asked for two different employees where could I park the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear SachaRMC We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to apologise for the inconveniences and challenges that you faced during the check-in process at the hotel, and that you found the staff to be unhelpful during your stay with us. We strive to deliver service that is engaging and excellent, and feel... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this property in July for a friend’s wedding. Being my first time in South Africa I was pleasantly surprised by its natural beauty. Check in was smooth and we were offered an upgrade to a suite for small amount extra, I am pleased to say the suit did not disappoint. Fully stocked bar, a bath to die... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andrew E Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us while attending a wedding in our beautiful country last year. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairmont Zimbali. We are glad that we were able to deliver a memorable experience and that you will be visiting our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (226)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay