We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
HamzaYacoob Gauteng, South Africa
Share an Experience

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    112
    58
    31
    16
See reviews for
95
144
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (370)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

my wife and i spent the weekend at this fabulous resort. we stayed in the Sea facing rooms. We would like to thank Keeshan for the brilliant Welcome as well as all the breakfast, spa and valet staff for their outstanding service! this was truly a brilliant property with activities for the whole family or just the couple who want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear HamzaYacoob Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us. We are happy to hear that we were able to deliver a memorable birthday getaway with outstanding service. Thank you for your kind words about the breakfast, spa and valet staff that left a lasting impression on you, as well as Keshan who offered you... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful time at Fairmont Zimbali hotel with my husband. Loved the natural environment. The hotel staff were very helpful. The cushions around the pool area could do with some cleaning. Otherwise a memorable stay indeed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vuyelwa Thank you for your lovely review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time soaking up the natural environment of the North Coast. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful. We have taken note of your concerns... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort on business I can certainly say it was an epic retreat after a hard day at the office. The staff can not do enough and the food and facilities are exceptional, my favourite being the omelettes at breakfast. I will certainly be back to this hotel and recommend that you pay it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Broadstock Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the Trip Advisor community and recommending our property. We are thrilled to hear that you had an epic retreat at Fairmont Zimbali Resort during your recent business trip, and that you found the food and facilities to be of exceptional standard. It sounds like our omelettes certainly left a lasting... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an amazing place! Very friendly and professional staff, with the most amazing rooms and facilities. A bit on the pricey side but for a change I didn't mind the extra spend. This was a lovely place to kick start our honeymoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear ilze_pienaar Thank you for your lovely review of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. Firstly a big congratulations to you and your spouse on your big day. We wish you many years of happiness together. We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and professional. It was... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not worth the money you pay for a night stay. The service received from staff around pool area was very slow and the staff were not very well trained. At one stage there were no towels and no staff could help to get more towels.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear J S B Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to say happy 10th year anniversary to you and your loved one from all of us at Fairmont Zimbali. Please accept our apologies for your recent experience at our hotel. We would like to discuss this matter with you personally to... More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a week here . Lacks character but it is efficient . Not cheap but one is getting the American resort hotel experience with all that implies in that it lacks soul or any real feeling of being in Africa but fine if that is what you want and the plumbing works! They make a point of their Indian food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear 364tilley Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are saddened to hear that we did not live up to your expectation of the Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that you left feeling unhappy with your experience. We strive to deliver experiences that are authentically local and places of... More 

London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at Zimbali Resort. At first it appears to be a beautiful oasis where you can enjoy a truly 5 star hotel experience. While the staff and people are in general great, there were a few aspects of my stay which truly disappointed me about the experience: Room 3016 & 2002 Room Cleanliness and Maintenance: At check-in everything... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sameer M We would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. Please accept our apologies for the maintenance and cleanliness issues that you experienced. We are sorry to hear that you had some difficulties sleeping at our Resort during your stay due to the noise. We... More 

Empangeni, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went there recently with my wife for a romantic weekend. Everything was perfect from the time we parked @ the main entrance, the luxurious rooms, service, food right up until we checked out. Will be back.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear terryshava Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent romantic getaway to our beautiful resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious rooms, the service you received and the food that you experienced at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and hope to deliver another perfect getaway... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Buyi Mlangeni is an asset for Fairmont Zimbali resort, from the day we enquired about spending our honeymoon at this facility, Buyi was there with us every step of the way. She explained the different packages the resort offered and helped us choose the best package which suited our pocket. She even advised that if we wanted to upgrade our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hlayiseka Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us and the Trip Advisor community. We are thrilled to hear that you will be returning to the Fairmont Zimbali Resort because of the excellent client service that you received from Buyi and some of our other fantastic staff at the Hotel. We will certainly pass on your gratitude to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 5 days here on a conference. The experience was good BUT it was spoilt by a dishonest staff member who removed R1500.00 in cash from my room. The room was superb and very comfortable. Very well appointed. Spotlessly clean. Apleasure to stay in BUT it was spoilt by a dishonest staff member. The Coral Tree Restaurant was good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bryan A Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are devastated to hear that your stay with us was spoiled and that you had the unfortunate experience of theft take place at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team we would like to once again extend our apologies to you. As discussed,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (232)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question