We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Protea Hotel Umhlanga

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Umhlanga to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
73%
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Joanna K Warsaw, Poland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (55)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
19
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spend there 1 weekend, arriving to the Hotel Friday night, unfortunately it was raining. We were sent to floor 4 of parking. Lift was not working, everywhere was dark ( saving of electricity?) and raining. We had to get one floor lower with all suitcases in dark and on slipery floor (no pavement for pedestrians) to get to working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Protea Umhlanga after 15 years on a recent business trip... the hotel is of a good standard, as close as can be to some of the many popular restaurants of Umhlanga, but some distance to walk to get to the popular parts of the beach (if you are a beach goer)... my room (standard twin on the 3rd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear JonM Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. Great to have positive feedback on our friendly STAFF. I appreciate your observation on the breakfast and have given your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Sylvia De Fries GENERAL MANGER More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In transit, my wife and I were booked for one night only on July 20th. However the staff were more than helpful and the room was SO nice and spacious. Large bathroom and beautiful shower facility. Very clean and fresh. All the modcons, e.g.bathroom toiletries, kettle and tea/coffee facility were there. Excellent TV screen. Very large bed,although ours were two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Les M The Management and STAFF thank you for your recent comments about your July stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. We are happy that we meet and exceeded your expectations. Protea Hotel uMhlanga is conveniently situated it the village of uMhlanga Rocks, close to the beach and on route to the Airport. Our large spacious rooms are equipped... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This I the ideal place to stay if you are on golf tour with some mates. Once arriving at the hotel you will have absolutely no reason to drive a car. There are more than 10 restaurants within walking distance, the best is the Havan Café, excellent food. Once you have finished dinner again you can walk on down to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Grennie47 Thank you for the write up on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga, conveniently situated in the heart of the uMhlanga village. The hotels perfect location allows one to walk to the many nearby restaurants, pubs and a 5 minute walk down to the beach. All rooms are semi self-catering, all equipped with microwave, fridge, crockery... More

Lavallette, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It's one thing to have friendly staff at the check in desk, it's quite another to have every member of the staff just as friendly and it's truly special when you can maintain that same level of quality service over a 2 week stay. The staff and management at Protea Umhlanga more than met that challenge. They commented that after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Todd E We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the Protea uMhlanga and that you experienced the friendly STAFF of Protea. We look forward to you staying with Protea again. Kind regards Sylvia De Fries GENERAL MANAGER More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Always greeted by friendly staff on check-in. The rooms are good, very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotels location is situated on a vibey strip which is packed with pubs, restaurants and coffee bars, all within walking distance. The rates are reasonable. Whilst the hotel undergoes a major refurbishment and and additional facilities, the end result is sure to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Gus Benh Once again thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us, you really are a true Protea Hotel uMhlanga ambassador. The owners of the Protea Mall are upgrading the mall area, which will allow a new hotel restaurant, bar and coffee bar – which our GUESTS will love. Kind regards Sylvia De Fries GENERAL MANAGER More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I arrived at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks very late one evening after an absolutely exhausting day. When I heard that our travel "services" forgot to book me a room my heart fell through the floor. Thankfully the wonderful staff on duty quickly helped me with a room. This room was lovely for the price I paid. It was HUGE!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear MrsvW2012 Thank you for a taking the time to comment on trip advisor. We are happy that we exceeded your expectations and that my STAFF assisted you. Our conference room situated on the 9th floor of the hotel, offers great views overlooking the Dolphin Coast. We look forward to hosting your next conference and accommodating you soon. Kind regards... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location, location, location they say - and this hotel has exactly that. Check in was quick, friendly and efficient and secure parking for the car at R50 per day. I requested an upper floor with a sea view, got a nice room on the sixth floor facing south - very nice views towards Durban, with the sea to the left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear PeterCF44 Thank you for a great review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sylvia De Fries GENERAL MANAGER More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had a great time at the Hotel,the staff is friendly providing excellent service. Hotel is always clean. The location is excellent, it walking distance to the beach and close to all the great restaurants you can think of. Umhlanga Rocks is a great holiday destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Godfrido Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. We pride ourselves on our friendly STAFF and for them to meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations. uMhlanga Rocks is an ideal location for holidays, business trips and conferences, situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village, allowing our GUESTS... More

Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on business. The hotel caters well for the business traveller and is situated close to a large mall with many bars and restaurants. Helpful friendly service but no draught beer - disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Cliff L Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor. The Protea Hotel uMhlanga is situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Village, within walking distance from the local bars, restaurants and the beach. We apologies for not having draught beer on tap, but we do not have the demand for it. We do however stock Millers draught a local... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Address: Cnr Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Umhlanga 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Umhlanga Rocks with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks #5 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
uMhlanga Rocks, near Durban in Kwa-Zulu Natal, evokes a vision of golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of the world. The 3-star Protea Hotel Umhlanga is where that vision turns to reality.Conveniently situated mere minutes from the protected beach and only 10 minutes away from Durban in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the Protea Hotel Umhlanga offers friendly and comfortable accommodation. Most of the well-appointed rooms have sea-views and all are comfortably furnished. Admirably equipped semi self-catering rooms, as well as facilities for disabled GUESTS, are available at this 3-star hotel. The Protea Hotel Umhlanga serves delicious breakfasts on site and is situated in close proximity to a variety of restaurants catering for all tastes and budgets. Conference facilities are available with well-trained and professional STAFF catering for every need. Secure, undercover parking on the premises is also available. For adventure and sports enthusiasts there are lots of activities nearby. There are the classics like tennis, bowls, golf and squash; and then there are the daring like deep-sea fishing, scuba diving and horse riding. After all that, return to the hotel pool on the rooftop to lie under the African sun and take in the sea air. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
120

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Protea Hotel Umhlanga and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer