We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Coastlands Umhlanga

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Coastlands Umhlanga
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coastlands Umhlanga to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
wielietjies Jordan
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    18
    10
    14
See reviews for
17
22
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Jordan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was BIG with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom did not have a bath- seems few rooms do have it- but shower was big and bathroom nice. Entrance to hotel is on the 4th floor and hotel situated in a small shopping mall. Can walk to Gateway- but not anywhere else. Plenty of secure parking. GREAT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was excellent from the time we arrived to our departure! We were a large group of 17 people which required a few extra necessary things to which the staff were immensely helpful. The staff fulfilled all our requests which made our lives a lot easier. The hotel is also very cental so it was easy for us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel appears rather unassuming from the outside and one is not quite sure of what to expect. Check in was a bit of a challenge due to a communication problem, but soon afterwards I was in my room. The rooms are spacious, elegant and clean. The aircon worked well and there was a good selection of TV channels. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have booked to stay our wedding night at Coastlands Umhlanga before we leave for overseas honeymoon the next day. We had requested some sort of honeymoon special like a rose petals or the like. We were simply informed they do no such thing. Surely this would be a personal touch on the part of the hotel to make our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your recent stay at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We appreciate your valuable feedback. We understand that everyones wedding night is a special occasion and our hotel has become a popular honeymoon hotel. We do offer a romantic turndown service according to your budget, which has been offered to you when you made your reservation. We trust... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Trying desperately to make a booking at present but must admit that all I get is rude staff.Got told to call back tomorrow as reservations is closed. How is it possible that almost all hotels can do reservations after hours at reception but not coastlands umhlanga (according to the lady that answers) perhaps they just don't need the reservation

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good afternoon We value your feedback on this site. Please will you contact our Group Marketing and Sales Manager on 031 271 8271 who would like to discuss your review. Our Central Reservations office is open and managed during office hours, however our hotels are able to assist with bookings 24/7. We would like to enquire when you were told... More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We treated ourselves to a package at the spa-Fleur de Lis. 4 people crammed into a small room for treatments. Towels were not clean. No robes or slippers. The therapists were friendly but seemed rushed as they moved on to other clients before finishing our pedi/manicures. The receptionist finished painting our nails. There was no nail dryer and as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at Fleur de lis Spa, situated at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. The spa premise are leased to an independent spa company, however any comments or reviews have an impact on our business. We apologise for the inconvenience and treatment received from the Spa and assure you that this has... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived before check-in time, the gentleman was rude and advised that we are early and no rooms are ready. He advised that he will check. We were so taken back, that we decided to rather return later. The stay was pleasant and the room neat and fairly sized. The next morning the breakfast staff was also not friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for staying at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel, and your valuable feedback. We are horrified that you have received unpleasant treatment from some of our staff members and apologise for any inconvenience as a result of this. We can assure you that we have investigated the matter and have addressed this issue with our staff members. Action were... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The rooms are actually very nice however one cannot say the same for the attention to complaints or the breakfasts: My shower did not heat up at all and I had to shower cold. I brought this to the front desk's attention on the next morning and they said that they would attend. Needless to say, I thought that this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We apologise that you had an unfortunate and unpleasant experience. Your review has been discussed at a Executive Committee meeting and we would like to ask that you contact our General Manager, James Theunissen who would like to discuss the matter with you. We... More 

Arlington, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The Hotel was very clean, comfortable and modern, staff were friendly, Bed was very comfortable. Short drive to Gateway Mall and the beach. Breakfast was just ok. Safe area. enjoyed the night at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good morning Fawzia Thank you for choosing Coastlands Hotels and Resorts. We appreciate and value your feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasant time at our Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. It is not often that guests take the time to write positive reviews and comments, which are as important as constructive criticism and complaints. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The hotel situated walking distance from Gateway shopping centre. Room are very spacious including bathroom. Clean and staff is very friendly, good selection of food for breakfast. Good sea views. Easy access to franchise food places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for choosing Coastlands Hotels and Resorts. We appreciate and value your feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasant time at our Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. It is not often that guests take the time to write positive reviews and comments, which are as important as constructive criticism and complaints. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#9 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay