We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Court Umhlanga

3.0 of 5 Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garden Court Umhlanga
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Garden Court Umhlanga
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    69
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
82
35
2
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am a frequent business traveller and wanted to be near to Durban airport due to late arrival by plane and chose this hotel. Now I can only say wow!!!!. Friendly, efficient and highly competent staff made for a memorable stay. The room was very comfortable and clean, whilst the complementary and fast wifi, together with free secured parking, really... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Garden court umhlanga was all I could've wanted with regards to cleanliness. My room was cleaned thoroughly all three days of my stay. Would definitely advise anyone going on holiday to opt for them.Gateway is at close proximity and so is the airport n beaches.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Family stay at hotel. Service was good. Room was not too big but just right for a family of 4. The price was okay however i think it was a tad bit overpriced. especially as there is not view to speak of.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to Gateway Mall. Umhlanga Rocks is 5mins away by car for the beach and restaurants. Access to highway is fairly close although avoid peak times due current intersection construction. King Shaka airport is 15mins away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good Day , Thank You for completing the electronic trip nadvisor review after your recent stay at the Garden Court in Umhlanga. Feedback such as this is invaluable to us and we appreciate your voluntary participation in this process. I am happy to see that your experience was of a positive nature and that you enjoyed the propertry and the... More 

Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The tv channels lot of sport. You need to make it optional so that the owner can choose the channel them selves. The channels that you guys currently have are the channels that i do not watch. So it was some how boring for me

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good Day to you, Thank you for participating in the trip advisor electronic programme and for posting a review on the Garden Court UMhlanga. We do appreciate your feedback . TV channells remain an ongoing issue for us and we do use data such as this to try and keep our offering fresh and current in order to try and... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awful. Worst valentines day. Check in was a total disaster. Unconcerned Manager. Breakfast NOT Halaal as the concept of Halaal is no longer. The same spatula for eggs are used on bacon and pork sausages. NO English breakfast tea. Tea served in broken (not chipped) crockery - Unhygienic. For an upmarket area like Umhlanga much needs to be desired.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good Day, We apologise for the shortfalls and are grateful to you for passing your comments on to us. We will prioritise all of the information that you have passes on to us and attend to the points which you have raised as a matter of urgency. Kind Regards. Lance Dixon. Deputy Generral Manager. Garden Court Umhlanga. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value accommodation close to Gateway Mall, which has all the shops you need and entertainment. Accommodation is not far away from the beach, which attach is a big plus for travellers who are not from the coast. Generally, a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to pass on your thoughts to us via the trip advisor web site. We do appreciate your feedback and willl apply ourselves to the matters you have posted as a matter of urgency. I do apologise for the poor experience . Kind Regards. Lance Dixon. Deputy General Manager. More 

charlotte
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is key. Very convenient to not only offices but restaurants and mall. The hotel is modern and has safe underground parking. The check-in process is painless and staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very small. When I say small....queen bed, built in IKEA type closet and bathroom. It's fine, but certainly wouldn't want to be in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good Day , Thank you foir taking the time and effort to complete the asessment of trip advisor and pass your sentiiments on too us. We do value and appreciate your feedback. We are grateful for the positive nature of your feedback and hop to see you back at our hotel when you are next in the Umhlanga area. Should... More 

Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had another fabulous stay at the Garden Court Umhlanga. Great location, clean hotel, nice facilities, excellent service and the most delicious breakfast! it is within walking distance from Gateway shopping centre and a 5min drive to the beach.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank You very much for completing the electronic client survey after your recent stay at the Garden Court Umhlanga. We do appreciate youre feed back and are happpy to see that you had a succesful stay with us and are grateful for the positive nature of your asessment. It is always a pleasure to see clients returning to... More 

Sandton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has been one of my favorites for years. It will suit the businessman that requires easy access to the highway and good restaurants for dinner in the suburb. I was somewhat disappointed with my last visit as the hotel had some construction on site and it appears to be aging somewhat?

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
RolandDiener, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for completing the trip advisor assesment. We do appreciate your feedback. I do apoloigise to to you for the inconvenience due to the construction. We did have some work to do in respect of the waterproofing of the lower levels of the hotel and regret any discomfort which was caused as a result of this. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#6 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay