We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Court Umhlanga

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Garden Court Umhlanga
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    132
    88
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
101
44
4
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Liked the location, hotel food/ breakfast. Staff were very friendly but the room size was small. Long very narrow passage was uncomfortable, especially with the dull color of the walls. Garden court hotels are really good for the stay along with family.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was a pleasure to stay in the Garden Court - surely a home away from home. Excellent service and food! I was really impressed with the personal service that I received from the hotel staff. They made me feel important.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to take a tourist with us to visit Durban. The Umhlanga Garden Court hotel (who is linked to our Discovery vitality benefit) was good value for money and we had a lovely stay. We used 2 family rooms with bathrooms en suite. The rooms were well equipped and spacious. The hotel also has an outside heated pool &... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Ms Beyer Thank you for taking the time to review Garden Court uMhlanga after your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated and valued and we are looking forward in welcoming you back soon. More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was good to be back at a old favourite in Umhlanga. The hotel never disappoints and provides in all the requirements as expected. The check-in and check-out was efficient as expected. The breakfast was tasty. The room comfortable and met my expectations.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Morne Brits Thank you for taking the time to review Garden Court uMhlanga after your recent stay. We do value and appreciate your feedback and I am pleased to see that you had another enjoyable stay with us. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in South Africa in September 2014 in Young Chef competition Chaine de chef rotisserie and I stopped at this hotel just 7 days and was very pleased with the service and quality of food .I can recommend to all my friends and acquaintances .happy to be back here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would recommend to anyone visiting Umhlanga. Rooms are superb. Spacious comfortable. Staff are great and eager to assist. Breakfast really does the trick. Terrific heated pool. Lounges and great vibe. You can get around all day and end up back in you room exhausted where you can relax and energise yourself for the next day. Buffet is great... Huge choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Bello T Thank you for taking the time to review Garden Court uMhlanga and providing us with feedback. We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are looking forward in welcoming you back soon More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Within walking distance of gateway. This hotel will see me come back. The rooms are modern, clean and all you need. Breakfast was all the normal good stuff. Staff were professional. Secure underground parking. Well done guys. I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear JPRinZA Thank you for posting a review on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court uMhlanga , we are grateful for the positive feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our property was suitable to you requirements. Should I be able to of any further assistance to... More 

Sandton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was terrible!! The front desk staff were unprofessional and rude. We had to wait a while at the front desk before being greeted and assisted, the lady was very rude and asked us for a greeting. We wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone due to the poor service received.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Pumelac Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your experience with us and allowing us to speak to you about the experience earlier today. I do apologise to you for the frustration which you were exposed to and the substandard service you received on check in, I can assure you this will be addressed with all relevant... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was just fantastic. Even though the family rooms are slightly small, it has wonderful, friendly staff. The pool has lukewarm water and my kids could spend the whole day there. Love the sandpit at the end as well. Cleanliness is key for me, and the rooms and hallways always have a fresh appealing scent. Breakfast was wonderful, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear smz7811 Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you had a great time with us and that your children enjoyed our facilities as well. We are looking forward in welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a family room we were overcharged we were under the impression kids stay free we had to pay an additional amount for the kids the check in staff were trainees they didn't have a clue to what was going on finally sorted that out we got to our room there were no bath towels after a few requests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review

Dear Love2flyy Thank you for your review and bring the short comings to our attention and I do sincerely apologise that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Garden Court uMhlanga offer various room types from a standard room, twin rooms and suites, the various room types are priced differently due to the room offering. It seems that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Cities Gateway Hotel
Three Cities Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay