We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
250 Umhlanga Rocks Drive | Durban, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015
WernervB Pretoria, South Africa
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
23
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Pretoria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Service was terrible. Food was poorly prepared. Blood was on the chairs where guests must eat on the terrace. We were booked into the wrong room after we paid for the Deluxe Room Overall worst experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Claudine, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that I got to meet with you and go through your list of concerns as raised in your review and that we were able to ensure that all was in order for the rest of your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback. More 

south africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently experienced the most horrendous service at the Aquaspa at the Square Boutique Hotel . After booking by telephone, I was asked to pay a deposit for the treatment. I then received an email from the spa dated with the day of the treatment and their banking details, which I then paid the deposit into. Only to then arrive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you for your feedback as well as responding to the email I sent to you. I will be in contact tomorrow 13th March 2015; as you indicated that you will be in meeting and unable to take calls. Thanks and have a wonderful day further. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed only one night and used our free night with hotels.com Welcome Rewards, but it was so worth using our free night at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was luxurious and the king size bed was so comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. Check out the rooftop pool and view!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Werner, Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new found home away from home. Take care and have a great week. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We really loved our stay at this hotel. We found it on TripAdvisor, and it had availability on short notice. It is easy to find, in a lovely business complex, stylish, comfortable and reasonably well priced. There's good access to the Umhlanga beaches (3 minute drive) and 20minutes away from Durban and its beaches, as well as 30 minutes from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear L3702HXMARKM Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been noted we will definitely ensure that the areas which needed attention will be rectified by your next stay with your "new home". Once again, thank you for your feedback and see you soon. Kind Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely, reasonably well-priced hotel stay. Prices are better through sites like Expedia than direct with the hotel. There is a free little gym, sauna and steam room (nice touch) as well as a pool upstairs. Also nice to have a bar, cafe, spa and restaurant all available in the hotel. It's 1 minute's walk to a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new found home. Cheers ! Kind Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Saw a roach during breakfast which was a total put off! Towels in room also had some nasty stains on it. I also sent an email prior to arriving to the GM for a special request and had no response.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and have noted your comments. The hotel does subscribe to a monthly pest control programme. Following your feedback, I have requested a special service from our pest control company and they have successfully completed this. I have also raised your concerns with housekeeping regarding... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

Very good location in Umhlanga, only a short drive from the airport. The reception staff were warm and welcoming. The check in process was easy and the on site parking is safe. The room was really comfortable, and very chic. A great business hotel, but I wouldn't necessarily visit for a holiday. I'd definitely return for a business visit though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear BrentB, Thank you for your awesome feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its offering and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care and have a great weekend. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager PS: You must try us as a leisure getaway as well. There's always fun things happening at our lovely hotel... More 

Mozambique
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Although the quality of the sofa bed for the kids wasn't good, the quality of the services, excelent breakfast, good location and most of all the sympathy of the staff were excelent. Very good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for your feedback and for advising on your experience during your stay with us. We are aware of the issues with the sleeper couches and wish to advise that new mattresses have been ordered and we are awaiting delivery. On the whole, I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I stayed here for a week beach holiday and was happy with the general feeling of the hotel. It was clean and fresh hotel but far from the beach... Room service is slow but worth a stay there as it is new and modern and close to gateway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 11Tess, Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your comments with regards to room service and rest assured we are working on this and much attention will be given to training and development in this area. I am glad you appreciated the other offerings of the hotel. Next time you stay with us, take advantage of our complimentary... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We found the staff very friendly and helpful throughout. The room we stayed in was spacious, especially enjoyed the large bathroom. Hotel itself was slightly away from the beach and the shopping centre, but it was a blessing in disguise in that it was quiet and away from the rush in December

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JFBRUWER, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. I couldn't agree me - peace and quiet is what makes an amazing holiday, especially when you are able to find a hotel likes our's that drives you out of the rat race we in. Once again, thank you for your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question