We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
250 Umhlanga Rocks Drive | Durban, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
joanb620 Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
24
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly, efficient and helpful staff made our stay most enjoyable. Location was great and the hotel shuttle was indeed a bonus for our short stay. Will definitely be back, as we had a terrific experience. Keep up the great hospitality service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joan, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am pleased you had wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. PS: We have noted your comments regarding the sleeper couch and wish to advise that the mattresses are in the process of being changed. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From cleaner to front desk, from driver to chef to management....service was impeccable..... 4 star hotel, 5 star treatment. Rooms were clean. The location is great. You're not in town but 16km from ICC and airport so good peace of mind. You have time for relaxation and to grab a good meal

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tebogo710 Thank you for your awesome feedback. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went in off-season. Had the WHOLE hotel to ourselves, including the spa and pool. The room was nice and clean and our stay was pleasant. The hotel is quick 5-10 minutes drive from the beach, and 5 minutes from Gateway shopping centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Epony, Thank you for your awesome feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our "home". The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a few days on a business trip. Rooms are clean and my bed was of good quality although on the soft side. De Luxe rooms are great (the normal rooms are on the small side). Breakfast was disappointing in some areas - although available from 6:30 the staff were still scrambling around by 7:45 on most mornings to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christiaan, Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your comments and have passed this onto my maintenance team who have worked speedily on resolving these issues. I have also noted your concerns with regards to breakfast and my Executive Chef and Food and Beverage manager are working on resolving these issues. On your next visit to Durban, please... More 

Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a few times and while I would not rush back on my own there is nothing that makes me tell my company not to book me here again. The room had the essentials for a hotel and certainly some room layouts are better than others. My only view is a business parking lot and business building but maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your comments and will discuss with my team accordingly. Rest assured our focus is on customer satisfaction and we will most certainly ensure that this is met. Thank you. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I would recommend this hotel to any business travelers staying in Durban for 1 or 2 nights. I won't recommend this hotel for leisure. The fact that they have a conference centre at the hotel that can seat 250 delegates cinema style is a huge advantage. The staff is friendly but not very helpful and need to numerous times before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your comments and your concerns have been handed to my maintenance team who have since resolved these issues. On another note, I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I have stayed at the hotel on several occasions but my recent visit in Easter I was disappointed with the service. As a four star hotel, you would expect high quality management staff, good quality food and exceptionally good welcome. The amazing part the hotel was not fully booked one would understand if all the criteria was not filled. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your feedback. I did try and make contact with you this morning to discuss your concerns that you described. Unfortunately you were not available and I did leave a message. I will make contact with you again later. Take care and have a wonderful day. Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Pretoria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Service was terrible. Food was poorly prepared. Blood was on the chairs where guests must eat on the terrace. We were booked into the wrong room after we paid for the Deluxe Room Overall worst experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Claudine, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that I got to meet with you and go through your list of concerns as raised in your review and that we were able to ensure that all was in order for the rest of your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback. More 

south africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I recently experienced the most horrendous service at the Aquaspa at the Square Boutique Hotel . After booking by telephone, I was asked to pay a deposit for the treatment. I then received an email from the spa dated with the day of the treatment and their banking details, which I then paid the deposit into. Only to then arrive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you for your feedback as well as responding to the email I sent to you. I will be in contact tomorrow 13th March 2015; as you indicated that you will be in meeting and unable to take calls. Thanks and have a wonderful day further. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed only one night and used our free night with hotels.com Welcome Rewards, but it was so worth using our free night at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was luxurious and the king size bed was so comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. Check out the rooftop pool and view!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Square001, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Werner, Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new found home away from home. Take care and have a great week. Regards, Rekha Sohun General Manager The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities