We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
DenverM73 Singapore, Singapore
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    75
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
30
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

How many more times do we have to fall for this type of daylight robbery! This hotel is new and built for smaller people who can live out of a suitcase. Not your comfort type hotel. I am appalled at this hotel. If this is the future of hotels then travelling is not a pleasure - its a chore!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that our Express Brand Hotel didn’t meet with your expectations. We take great care in ensuring that our Holiday Inn Express Hotel is well represented through the various social sites and do apologise for not meeting with your expectations. We certainly do value all feedback received and do value all the support given to our... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights and this is a hotel that i will never stay in again. Unfortunately no other hotel in Umhlanga was available. Our shower door was broken. Their breakfast is probably the worst i have ever had. We gave our laundry in and only discovered after we had left that they didn't read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations we are very sorry to hear that we did not meet with our normal high standards expected of an international brand. We certainly do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the shower door being in a poor condition and our Express Brand Breakfast not meeting your expectations. We... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first stay in Durban, this hotel was nice with nice views of the sea, it had a great breakfast spread, the rooms were small but well kept and modern, it was only a short walk to the gateway mall which had a lot of places to eat. The hotel has a lovely restaurant just next door which serves some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read that your stay at our Hotel exceeded your expectations. We are extremely fortunate to have the most spectacular ocean view as well as our prime location in that we are closed to Gateway Theatre of Shopping. We do take great pride in the cleanliness and condition of our Hotel and are pleased that this... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Our stay was during the peak season in December 2013. The room was neat and clean. However, it was too small for my family of 4. The sleeper couch is suitable for 2 small children and not 2 teenagers. There are no cupboards in the room just a small space to hang up clothes but I made peace with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us in December 2013. We are sorry to hear that our Express Brand offering did not meet your expectations. The design and layout of the rooms although minimalistic, is designed to cover all the bases for a good night’s sleep. We are pleased that our location, view and staff did exceed... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I stayed here on two separate occasions over couple of weeks and I must say I really liked it. Great sea view room. Loved the sunrise from my room. Very helpful & friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms and walking distance from Umhlanga beach and Gateway Mall. This is really a value for money hotel. Definitely recommend you to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. We are certainly most fortunate with our stunning ocean views and our location being so close to Gateway Theatre of Shopping. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Johannesburg
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

In light of me sharing a bad experience I think it only fair to share a good one & I'll keep it short :) Friendly, efficient, super helpful staff. Clean. Good location close to beach, shops, highway & Gateway:) I didn't regret staying here one bit. Seriously good value for money & affordable rates. Thank you HIE Express Umhlanga for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your extremely positive review from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at our Hotel and your comments have been shared with the entire team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon. Warm regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

staff were unfriendly and unhelpful at check in point. room was not cleaned properly. the sleeper couch was in a terrible state. we checked in after midnight and were told that we could not have a sea facing room because we checked in late. how unfair because i booked a room well in advance of my stay. the staff on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We do understand your disappoint on not receiving a sea facing room on check in at the Hotel, and do apologies for the manner in which your request was dealt with. Your comments have been addressed with our Housekeeping Department with regards to condition and cleanliness. We are a relevantly new... More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We were looking for a venue 'with a view' for my birthday breakfast. We chose the Holiday Inn Express in Umhanga for this occasion, as we were tired of all the pomp en' ceremony at the two hotels down the road, and just wanted something good a straight forward. Well all we can say is this is the most incredible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your beautiful feedback which is so well received. It was really lovely meeting with you both on Saturday and I am so thrilled that you had a wonderful birthday breakfast at our Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager More 

Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The hotel is fairly located and if you dont mind walking a 1/2 km for reaching Gateway. The best this is Sea view rooms give a wonderful view of the SUNRISE. They serve an English breakfast which is nice but quite predictable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your ocean facing room and were able to see the beautiful sunrises! We hope to see you back at the Hotel soon. Warm regards Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in August also had conference in the hotel There is no restaurant in this hotel and you have use another restaurant next door called The Butchers block which is a steak place and very nice. The rooms are poor for the money no mini bar and very small bathroom. I would be careful if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that our Hotel did not meet with your expectations. We truly value IHG Rewards Members, like you and do take great care to ensure not only our IHG Rewards Members have a great stay, but all our guests! Please feel free to contact us on info@hie-umhlanga.co.za if you have any queries regarding your IHG Rewards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay