We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge Umhlanga

1.0 of 5 Cnr Medigate and Hospital Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the perfect spot to stay if you intend an extended shopping trip at Gateway or need to see doctors at the hospital. You can walk to both.Reasonable size room and comfy beds. Just remember to bring along something to drink as there is no coffee or tea in the rooms. (They do serve both in the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Blantyre
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Basic and nothing smart, but everything you need for a short stay. Rooms are clean, bathrooms also small but lovely hot showers, staff friendly and efficient. Taxi service are great and very reasonable! Excellent location for shopping at Gateway and airport!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy that you found the rooms to be comfortable and that you experienced friendly and efficient service from our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Kineton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We stayed in the road lodge as it is close to the airport and very good value for money. The rooms are very basic, with small beds and a postage size television, but the level of cleanliness is excellent. The bathroom is small but the shower is fantastic with lots of hot water and ample water pressure. There is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

We thank you for the positive review. It's great that you took advantage of the location of the hotel, and that you found the rooms to be clean. We're also pleased to hear that you would find us suitable for overnight stays. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Small, but perfectly adequate rooms. Pleasant staff. Good breakfast and located a 2 minute walk from Gateway, which is a Mall filled with great shops, entertainment and excellent restaurants. Rooms were surprisingly quiet. Certainly the best there is on a low budget in Umhlanga.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy that you enjoyed good service from our staff and that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location. It's also great that you found us to be a great value for money hotel in Umhlanga. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Randburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Whilst the Road Lodge is a property that could be classified as 1*, the amenities are clean but very basic, along with the service. The rooms are very small. Standard double bed with a sleeper couch in each room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

We thank you for the informative review. We're glad that you found the lodge clean and the enjoyed the service. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Expect no frills in the room but everything was clean. The staff were friendly and the location is excellent. The breakfast was good, apart from the broken coffee machine. Very affordable and perfect for a business stay or short break, where you are out most of the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Shepstone, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I'm not exaggerating in my ratings because my experience was absolutely great. We booked in at Road lodge Umhlanga due to the availability of the disabilty room and it was one of the best nights of sleep I've gotten. The bathroom and room were neat and clean as well as really accessibly for those with wheelchairs. I suggest anyone wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We’re so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again. More 

johannesburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Checked into this pathetic hotel after a long drive from johannesburg.had phoned them 5 give to confirm my credit card details, not once did they call me back. Arrived at 1:40am, went to open the room only to see naked people.they said their systems were down and said sorry about that. To me this is the ultimate sin that a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for your unacceptable experience which was caused by a technology meltdown beyond our control. The GM of the hotel has written to you to apologize personally and to offer suitable compensation for this unacceptable incident which we are hugely embarrassed about, not to mention the embarrassment suffered by you. Once again, please... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had the worst stay in Road lodge Umhlanga last week. All hotels was full and I tried the Road Lodge for the first time. It was appalling: - During their breaks the staff was lying in the corridor and I had to LITERALLY climb over them on my way to reception. - Despite my room being non-smoking room, my bedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and shoddy service you experienced. We take these matters seriously and will most definitely look into this to find out what transpired and why your stay was with us was so unsatisfactory. More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I organised a training for my distributors from all over Africa to be in Durban. I decided to lodge them all at the Road Lodge in Umhlanga based on the great reviews and also on price. Well, it was the worst decision. No friendly welcome! Not a very accommodating receptionist! No maintenance staff on duty on Sundays! Some guys had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and shoddy service you experienced. We take these matters seriously and will most definitely look into this to find out what transpired and why your stay was with us was so unsatisfactory. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Road Lodge Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Umhlanga

Address: Cnr Medigate and Hospital Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Umhlanga 1*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and South African Hotels so you can book your Road Lodge Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

3 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay