We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Road Lodge Umhlanga

1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Medigate and Hospital Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Road Lodge Umhlanga to your Saves list
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
55%
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014
RoshneeG2803 Randburg, South Africa
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Whilst the Road Lodge is a property that could be classified as 1*, the amenities are clean but very basic, along with the service. The rooms are very small. Standard double bed with a sleeper couch in each room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

We thank you for the informative review. We're glad that you found the lodge clean and the enjoyed the service. We hope to see you again soon. More

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Expect no frills in the room but everything was clean. The staff were friendly and the location is excellent. The breakfast was good, apart from the broken coffee machine. Very affordable and perfect for a business stay or short break, where you are out most of the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Shepstone, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I'm not exaggerating in my ratings because my experience was absolutely great. We booked in at Road lodge Umhlanga due to the availability of the disabilty room and it was one of the best nights of sleep I've gotten. The bathroom and room were neat and clean as well as really accessibly for those with wheelchairs. I suggest anyone wanting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We’re so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again. More

johannesburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Checked into this pathetic hotel after a long drive from johannesburg.had phoned them 5 give to confirm my credit card details, not once did they call me back. Arrived at 1:40am, went to open the room only to see naked people.they said their systems were down and said sorry about that. To me this is the ultimate sin that a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for your unacceptable experience which was caused by a technology meltdown beyond our control. The GM of the hotel has written to you to apologize personally and to offer suitable compensation for this unacceptable incident which we are hugely embarrassed about, not to mention the embarrassment suffered by you. Once again, please... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had the worst stay in Road lodge Umhlanga last week. All hotels was full and I tried the Road Lodge for the first time. It was appalling: - During their breaks the staff was lying in the corridor and I had to LITERALLY climb over them on my way to reception. - Despite my room being non-smoking room, my bedding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and shoddy service you experienced. We take these matters seriously and will most definitely look into this to find out what transpired and why your stay was with us was so unsatisfactory. More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I organised a training for my distributors from all over Africa to be in Durban. I decided to lodge them all at the Road Lodge in Umhlanga based on the great reviews and also on price. Well, it was the worst decision. No friendly welcome! Not a very accommodating receptionist! No maintenance staff on duty on Sundays! Some guys had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and shoddy service you experienced. We take these matters seriously and will most definitely look into this to find out what transpired and why your stay was with us was so unsatisfactory. More

Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Convenient home away from home. Travelled with teenage children. They were able to entertain themselves without me being there because they were walking to Gateway mall where they could meet their friends and watch movies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon More

Winterton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

As a budget hotel at the bottom end of the excellent City Lodge range of accommodation, this unit offers a competitive price structure but has the constraints of small rooms and bathrooms, no hospitality offerings, no source of tea, coffee or even bottled water in the room and minimal storage for bags and their contents. Walls are thin and, apert... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and breakfast area. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise. We will look into this matter. Hope to see you again soon. More

Cape Town
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a good example of a well-run, clean and modern Road Lodge, the budget end of the City Lodge group. The rooms are small but adequate, and the price is excellent. The big downside for us was the noisy guests on our floor having a long and extremely loud conversation in the passage well after midnight. That people can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ladysmith, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Value for Money and neat clean rooms. Adavantage close to the Gatway shopping centre and a peaceful area to ge a good nights rest . will definately make use of the lodge in future. My stay was pleasant no complaints except for trying to get booking which is not easy since they re fully booked most of the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we hope to welcome you again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Road Lodge Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Road Lodge Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Umhlanga

Address: Cnr Medigate and Hospital Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Umhlanga 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Road Lodge Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

3 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Umhlanga Rocks with
any amenities