We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    26
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
25
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and our little, who was 4 months at the time of our visit (June), had a wonderful stay in The Sandringham B&B. We were travelling from Centurion. The warm welcome and the treatment from Sandra was amazing. Her excellent people skills. The service as a whole (even breakfast), we were treated with dignity. The cleanliness of the room,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
uLundi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Definitely coming back for vacations. I was welcomed with friendly smile I enjoyed my stay, the room and bathroom (shower and bathtub) were nice, free wi•fi, great location. I also had a delicious breakfast. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nhlanhla Nhlabathi Thank you so much for the positive review about The Sandringham We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future Many thanks Sandra and The Sandringham Team More 

Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in this hotel for 2 nights. It's in the middle of Umhlanga and not far from the beach and the Gateway mall. There is a beautiful garden and a pool. This is where the positive about my stay ends. There are 3 rooms down stairs, close to the reception and the kitchen area. my room was one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Abongile Sipondo We are really disturbed and hugely disappointed that you were not happy with your stay with us . We will mostly definitely address your issues and rectify them wherever possible Yours Micheal Anthony Goodwin (PROP) THE SANDRINGHAM BNB More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I was very impressed and felt at home! The staff was friendly , the breakfast was lovely and the room was great. Really would go back again any time! The only issue I had was that the people in the room next to me, had a noisy baby which woke me up early.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your really positive review, it really makes a big difference to us all here at the Sandringham. We are however so sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the room next door, your comments have been duly noted and will be addressed. Please visit us again soon . Very best Regards, Mike, Sandra and... More 

Mtunzini, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stayed one night. Couldn't have been more accommodating. Changed our room on the day to accommodate a higher shower, (I am 6ft5), as we checked in. Delicious breakfast and lots of helpful local advice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review , we really are pleased when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and take the time and effort to tell us so . Please come back soon . Very best Regards, Mike , Sandra and all the Sandringham team . More 

Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

It's a good value for money,very clean and cozy room with Good wifi. Breakfast reasonably good.Staff was quite hospitable.Near gateway shopping mall.its not far from the beach also. I would recommend anybody especially somebody driving.its a good place to stay.nice surroundings

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We really appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to post your great review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your recommendation to other visitors to come on over and stay with us . We really hope to see you here again real soon . Our very best regards,... More 

Empangeni
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I enjoyed the staff and the stay. Just though that for dinner one would get smaller portions (my dinner plate was for 2 people) and the pudding was bought cake and a huge chunk too.....I expected something homemade. But other than this I was happy with everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated and we are happy you had a pleasant stay with us , also that you enjoyed your evening meal, even though you felt the portions were a little on the large side !!!! Regards from The Sandringham Team . More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Always feel like I am coming home. I am always made to feel welcome with an exceptional level of service in clean and comfortable surroundings. The staff are dedicated and well turned out. A must stay when in Durban

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

HI Thabo , Thank you once again for your very valued support and for the great review you have given us. We always look forward to your visits , please come again real soon. Wishing you everything of the best , Kind Regards Sandra, Mike and all of the team at The Sandringham. More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Our stay at The Sandringham was too perfect! It was recharging. It's located closer to the lifestyle buzzing town, beautiful inspiring houses,the gateway mall. Sun Basking at the Umhlanga Rocks Beach was AMAZING!. It's child friendly. Great hospitality from the staff, it really felt like home, with everyone willing to help and go an extra mile.They just need to improve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your very valued review , we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we would really like to host you again really soon. Thanks also for your comments, these have been duly noted and please be assured they will be attended to Wishing you everything of the best... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I've been staying at The Sandringham on business trips for the past 7 years. You can be assured of the same high standard on every visit - clean room, comfortable bed and fresh breakfast. I recommend this establishment to my customers, suppliers and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much Vernon for your great review . We really value your support over the years and we will do our utmost to not only maintain but also to improve on our standards. Wishing you our very best regards and hoping to see you again soon The Sandringham Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Cities Gateway Hotel
Three Cities Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay