We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Zeranka Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (105)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Zeranka Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umhlanga Rocks
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    27
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We unfortunately only stayed for 1 night. The Zeranka lodge fully met our expectations. The room was very well equipped, perfect bed and clean. Breakfast was complete and very tasteful. The lodge is situated close to the city centre and beaches. We really recommend the Zeranka lodge when visiting Umhlanga.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Such a pity you were only booked into the lodge for 1 night. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast we had on offer and were more than satisfied with the lodge's facilities. It was so lovely having you stay with us and wish you safe travels on your return trip home, maybe next visit will be for a few more nights. More

Weinheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We, a family of four, had a short but very nice stay at the Zeranka lodge. The hosts make you feel welcome from the first minute. The lodge is very nicely decorated and is right at the beach. The breakfast is wonderful with all that you can wish for. We would have liked to stay longer! The only negative is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bilthoven, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The visit to St. Lucia was in the middle of our holidays and we really enjoyed staying there. The house is big, comfortable and very quiet although close to city center. The host is very friendly and welcoming. We did get some nice advices for our stay and I recommend you to ask for her tips when visiting St. Lucia.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

They say that it is always best to get advise from a local when traveling abroad...we are always so happy to offer a helping hand and some knowledgeable advise to make your stay and trip throughout the area so much more special. Great to hear we where able to help you! hope you had just as nice stay throughout South... More

Helmond, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at the Zeranka Lodge. Although we were not booked correctly (one month later and under the wrong name) we were assured that this would be solved. The guesthouse was perfectly located near the beach and near the center. The kids tried to swim in the pool, but the water in the ocean was warmer even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

We are so thrilled that Mark and his family had a wonderful stay with us. We are truly blessed with our warm winters and wonderful warm Indian Ocean at our doorstep. So sorry about the mix up with your booking, glad we were about to solve it in no time. Wishing you a wonderful stay in South Africa and safe... More

Huizen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

THE Zeranka logde is en Nice place nearbey The beach. at af we minutes drive there are plenty good restaurants. THE peolple who run THE logde are very friendly and helpfull. A good place to stay! THE rooms are Nice and cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you were able to enjoy the walk to the beach and the warmth of the Indian ocean. Wishing you safe travels on your return travels home and hope to see you again, maybe for a couple more nights on your next visit. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice guesthouse, located near both the beach and the center. The hosts are very friendly and helpful - from printing airline tickets for us to phoning several hairdressers to find out who can make dread/plaits for our two daughters. We booked this lodge in a package with other locations, so we cannot tell anything about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

We are so thrilled that we could lend a helping hand through your travels in South Africa. With two lovely daughters looked absolutely beautiful with their traditional hair. Wishing you safe travels throughout South Africa and a safe trip home. More

Tremelo, Belgie
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In between the hectic traffic of Umhlanga and the magnicifent Indian Ocean lies this beautiful guesthouse. A true gem. Beautiful and well-equipped rooms and excelent service. The poolwater was too cold (SA Winter), so we went to the ocean not more than 30m away, through a gate at the end of the garden. Breakfast was excellent, and it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Finding a little gem amongst the city living is always so beautiful. Glad you were able to enjoy the very short walk to the beach and the warmth of the Indian ocean. Wishing you safe travels on your return travels home and hope to see you again, maybe for a couple more nights on your next visit. More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is lodge is beautully located near the uMhlanga beach in a quiet neighbourhoud. The lodge itself is small and cozy and well kept. The service is very good. We booked this lodge in a package with other locations, so I cannot tell anything about the value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

It was so lovely having you stay with us here. Having guests stop by at Zeranka whilst touring through our beautiful country is always a pleasure. We are so pleased enjoyed your short stay. Wishing you safe travels throughout SA. More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at the lodge for 8 days - and from the moment I arrived as a single traveller was made to feel welcome and safe. The accommodation was clean and well decorated and reflected a vibrant African theme. Each night I was lulled to sleep with the sound of the waves and each morning woken to the sound of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Zeranka for 6 nights. From the very beginning we only had pleasant experiences and wonderful service. Marcelle (the owner of the guesthouse) is accommodating and friendly - even allowing us to check in early on our day of arrival. The room we stayed in was perfect and had anything we could have needed. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcelle H, Manager at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Mike and Nina it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at Zeranka!! We are always so delighted when we have guests stay for a longer period of time and are able to truely get to know them! We always try our utmost best to accommodate and help guests in whatever way possible. We are so grateful that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Zeranka Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Zeranka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeranka Lodge

Address: 12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeranka Lodge 4*

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Umhlanga Rocks with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zeranka Lodge is the winner of the B&B sure/Kwababa Award and we are 4 star registered. It is a family run Lodge. We have a beautiful garden with pool and BBQ facilities. We are only 30 metres from the tranquil lower La Lucia beaches which can be accessed via a gate within Zeranka grounds, and approx 4km from Gateway (one of the largest shopping malls in the world) offering a multitude of shops, entertainment, and eating experiences. You will have one secure parking bay on the premises per room/unit and all rooms are air-conditioned. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zeranka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer