We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Scott Road | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Blue Marlin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Marlin to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Huzaifah E
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Blue marlin has a new look ...seems like a very expensive upgrade...friendly staff and very very near to the lovely scottburgh beach ...beach has very good lifeguards and one feels safe to swim there... @@@@@@@#@@@@@@@-@@@@@@ @@@@@@@@@@-@@@@@@@@@@@

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there in early January with family from RSA, the food and service was excellent as were the facilities. We had a recently refurbished room with a fabulous sea view, however the quality of the refurbishment needed attention to detail. The tiling in the bathroom was particularly poor and we had a complete skirting board missing in the bedroom area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Hotel over the New year, 7 nights, after booking in Aug and being promised a new room, we arrived and was given an old room, what a disappointment. I complained, but as it was a Saturday, I was told nothing could be done till Monday. I explained my plight to the manager who had been there 5 days,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Alison S Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Marlin Hotel. We regret that the beverage service was not suitable. Your critique has really assisted in pinpointing areas that require attention. Thank you again. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Blue Marlin in... More 

Margate, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are having the most amazing stay ever, the service was great and the food was beyond delicious. I would definitely stay at the Blue marlin again, we can't complain about anything. Thanks for the lovely stay, you'll see us again defiantly .Renovations nearly completed this hotel is going to be one of the best on the south Coast its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Mr Colin G Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aiming for the top in all that we offer and are so grateful for the amazing support from all our guests. All the best for 2015 and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We had the most amazing stay ever, the service was great and the food was beyond delicious. I would definitely stay there again, we can't complain about anything. Thanks for the lovely stay, you'll see us again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Binx4eebs Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Marlin. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. All the best for the festive season and a healthy, happy 2015 to you. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Blue Marlin expecting a nice quiet holiday by the beach. What did we get, a construction site. Now I know there are times when a Hotel has to be renovated, but must it done while there are quests there. From seven in the morning untill nine at night the noise went on. Now I can't fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Denis D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Marlin Hotel. We did do our best to ensure that all guests were notified of the building works prior to arrival and we really do apologise that you did not get this notification. We are glad that the food and service met your... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I stayed at the Blue Marlin for eight days late October 2014 - what an experience!! The staff were amazing and so accommadating to say the least, accommodation fabulous, food excellent!!!! Location outstanding too ... cannot fault my stay whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Liz Arnold-Smith Thank you so much for your great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. More 

Scottburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I, together with our sons aged 6 and 10 years, stayed at one of our favourite holiday destinations, the Blue Marlin Hotel recently. We found the staff welcoming and as friendly as always and were so happy to see that service remains a priority to all staff at the hotel. The addition of the new cappuccino machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear jdlblr Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin Hotel for your recent holiday. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do appreciate the time taken to post your review. Our first batch of bedroom renovations are progressing at a speed and we are really excited for you to see the finished product. Thank you once again... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel has renovated recently. From What I see is the check in counter, lobby and the restaurant. My hotel room is circa. 1970's. Beds are squeaky, no aircon. In the bathroom, faucets are leaking but there is a large sign to conserve water. You have to really turn it tight to stop water from leaking. Hotel should invest in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear NineDragons Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Blue Marlin. We are pleased to announce that room renovations have begun in earnest, and the revamped rooms will now have air-conditioning. We have addressed the plumbing issue with our maintenance team and do hope that you will visit us again to experience these and other... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Unfortunately I had to stay here for 3 days. Although they are busy upgrading the hotels appearance the staff need one as well.It seems like they are all in a daze. You only have 2 choices of Dinner, and the one night I tried to eat there the steak they served was old and warmed up. It took my food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin

Address: 180 Scott Road | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Scottburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Marlin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Marlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Scottburgh

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay