We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Marlin

180 Scott Street | PO Box 24, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Blue Marlin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scottburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Elizabeth H Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our party consisted of myself aged 75 my son and daughter-in-law. We visited in November 2014. We were disappointed to discover that the refurbishments were not complete but in a short time our rooms were sorted out with no fuss. I would enquire if the alterations are complete because the builders were noisy until late in the evening and started... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth H. Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin Hotel for your holiday, and for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is only through comments like these that we can evaluate and / or improve upon the services that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you the Blue Marlin Hotel again in the not... More 

Basingstoke
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We returned for another visit to the Blue Marlin in January of this year. What a difference the upgrade to the hotel has made. The duvets, sheets and fluffy white towels made such a difference. The upgraded rooms were a big improvement. The air conditioning was very quite too. There were a few teething problems with some of the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Lynda Thank you for your lovely review. Its is always a pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad that you liked the upgrade. Blue Marlin has always been known for great service and we are so blessed to have staff that continue to uplift the Hotel in this manner. Until we meet again, we wish you... More 

Kendal Cumbria UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Blue Marlin in February 2015 and was not disappointed. Have stayed there many times in the past but last visit was 5 years ago and the whole atmosphere has improved since its tasteful and much improved upgrade. The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable, spotlessly clean with full AC and fans and public lounge and dining room/bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin for your recent holiday and we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. There are many more improvements planned for the Blue Marlin and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them with us. Best wishes until we meet again. More 

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed at the Blue Marlin from 24 December until the 3rd of January. We were two families of four and had rooms next door to each other. We had some hiccups but these were sorted out in a flash. The quality of management and staff was fantastic, they made us feel like VIP's. Thanx to all we will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Donovan S Thank you for reviewing your recent holiday at the Blue Marlin. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you and the family back soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Although the foyer is a little lacking in personality, the rest of the upgraded areas are lovely and inviting! The terrace is perhaps our favourite spot .. hard to say because the lounge is also so fresh and welcoming. Our room was large and very comfortable and we loved being able to leave our windows open day and night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Meryl1am Thank you for great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We note your comment regards the foyer and will certainly have the interior decorators look into it. Thank you once again, and all the best until your next visit to Scottburgh and the Blue Marlin. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Blue marlin has a new look ...seems like a very expensive upgrade...friendly staff and very very near to the lovely scottburgh beach ...beach has very good lifeguards and one feels safe to swim there... @@@@@@@#@@@@@@@-@@@@@@ @@@@@@@@@@-@@@@@@@@@@@

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Huzaifah E Thank you for your great review. We hope to welcome you back to the Blue Marlin and Scottburgh again very soon. More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Stayed there in early January with family from RSA, the food and service was excellent as were the facilities. We had a recently refurbished room with a fabulous sea view, however the quality of the refurbishment needed attention to detail. The tiling in the bathroom was particularly poor and we had a complete skirting board missing in the bedroom area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Russjanedavey Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Blue Marlin Hotel. We are pleased to report that the snags that we could not attend to during the season are being attended to presently. Thank you for choosing the Blue Marlin Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Visited the Hotel over the New year, 7 nights, after booking in Aug and being promised a new room, we arrived and was given an old room, what a disappointment. I complained, but as it was a Saturday, I was told nothing could be done till Monday. I explained my plight to the manager who had been there 5 days,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Alison S Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Marlin Hotel. We regret that the beverage service was not suitable. Your critique has really assisted in pinpointing areas that require attention. Thank you again. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Blue Marlin in... More 

Margate, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We are having the most amazing stay ever, the service was great and the food was beyond delicious. I would definitely stay at the Blue marlin again, we can't complain about anything. Thanks for the lovely stay, you'll see us again defiantly .Renovations nearly completed this hotel is going to be one of the best on the south Coast its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Deputy GM at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Mr Colin G Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aiming for the top in all that we offer and are so grateful for the amazing support from all our guests. All the best for 2015 and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We had the most amazing stay ever, the service was great and the food was beyond delicious. I would definitely stay there again, we can't complain about anything. Thanks for the lovely stay, you'll see us again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malthee S, Manager at Blue Marlin, responded to this review

Dear Binx4eebs Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blue Marlin. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. All the best for the festive season and a healthy, happy 2015 to you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question