We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Pietermaritzburg hotels

Protea Hotel Imperial

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg 3200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Imperial
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Agoda.com
and 7 more sites!
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
PeterJK_11 Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great old world style hotel ideal for the business traveler. Nice rooms with great shower and balcony. Easy to find from the Oribi airport - about 10 min drive. The food is above average for this class of hotel. The bar could do with some upgrade to create a bit more atmosphere, but the staff make up for what it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good ribeye steak. Great buffet breakfast. Good rooms. My first room 128 aircon were not working and they moved me to 122. Great service. Not any smoking area. Have to stand in parking to smoke. No bench. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were staying in Pietermartizburg for the SA XCO/DHI Cup. We had difficulty to find a good place to stay over. I booked at two places and was not prepared to stay at at any one of them. We ended up at the Protea Hotel. The hotel is right on a main street and it could get a bit noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "HendrikDuToit", Although, it seems like you were not planning to stay at our hotel initially, we would like to thank you for your kind and honest review. Glad to hear we have been able to pleasantly surprise you and created a comfortable stay. Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when back in Pietermaritzburg. Warm regards, Vanessa... More

Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Before we entered the hotel, I was a bit concerned since it was a very old building, but was I surprised when we entered our room. The room were spacious and well decorated. We stayed there the night after our Comrades run. When we arrived, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They even left each runner an energade drink... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "Leela_cb", Greetings from the TEAM at the Protea Hotel imperial! Thank you for your kind words and recommendations. Its truly much appreciated. I can imagine that you were looking forward to a comfortable and relaxing stay after such a great but intense event such as the Comrades. So, we are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a terrible stay in the Transkei, my boyfriend and I stumbled upon the Protea Hotel Imperial while searching for a place to stay for the evening as we returned back home to Joburg.. As soon as we arrived we knew we had done well finding this hotel. The staff were super friendly and helpful, our room was huge &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "gdemeillon", Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive experiences with your fellow TripAdvisor users. Its much appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon when returning to our beautiful province... Warm regards, Vanessa Hoover - General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had booked to take clients there for a function , on the 1 December. My clients went twice to,organize the function and were told not to,worry that everything was organized, well,it all depends on what you call organized. When we got there, there were no tables prepared at all, eventually after forty five minutes we managed to get the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "Alan312578", As already mentioned during our telephonic conversations in the recent days, let me once more express my and my team’s most sincere regret regarding any inconvenience experienced while visiting our hotel for your recent function. Clearly, your experience was not of the expected standard and is not acceptable. During our conversation, we came to the conclusion that the... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a gracious and historically unique hotel with very good service, friendly staff and elegant decor. The rooms are clean and a desk is provided but it is also pleasant to sit in the courtyard and work. The food at breakfast and dinner was varied, fresh and delicious. It is a particularly safe and comfortable venue in the centre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "ML C", Thank you for the kind and enthusiastic review of our beloved hotel. Your kind recommendations of our facilities and the service received by our TEAM members are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Yours sincerely, Rodney Bull - General Manager More

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We chose this hotel for our New Year's day eve. Although it's in the city central but it's location is not good. When you see it from outside nothing will tell you that it's a genuine Protea Hotel. At first I thought am lost. But once you are inside and reading you will find that in fact the building is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "Boo-ngane", We appreciate your honest and constructive criticism. Our apologies for the disappointing restaurant experience, as clearly this did not make you feel welcome and appreciated as a valued guest. I will most certainly discuss this with our restaurant TEAM. Glad to know that you appreciated our historical site, the hotel being an official monument in downtown Pietermaritzburg. We... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is clean. The rooms are of good proportions, but make sure that you ask for a room facing the insider courtyard, else you will not sleep due to the noise of traffic and people shouting outside on the streets. The food is okay, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "GusBehn", Thank you for your taking the time to provide your fellow tripadvisor users with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and felt our service and product offering was good value for money. We sincerely regret to hear that you were not too impressed with the look and feel of the Pietermaritzburg... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

i checked in at Imperial hotel in Pietermaritzburg, the hotel is well looked after by excellent management and staff. you guys are on top of your game, keep it up and well done Mr Bull and your wonderful team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review

Dear "zola m", Excellent feedback! Thank you for sharing this with the TripAdvisor community and we are looking forward to seeing you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Rodney Bull - General Manager More

Been to Protea Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Imperial

Address: 224 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg 3200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Imperial 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pietermaritzburg, Protea Hotel Imperial is filled with charm and classic elegance. Built in 1878, it is absolutely a gem in the 'City of Choice'- Pietermaritzburg, which is also the capital of KwaZulu Natal. Within walking distance to the Provincial Parliament, Government head offices and the Natal Railway Museum, the hotel is ideal for both corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is 103km away from the Durban International Airport and 8km from Pietermaritzburg Airport. Protea Hotel Imperial with its historical ambience and tranquil flare, offers 70 air-conditioned and en-suite bathrooms with a choice of a single or double-bedded room and family suites. For the convenience of our GUESTS each room has in-room facilities that include a satellite TV, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities. Secure parking is available on the premises at no extra charge. 8 state-of-the-art conference venues are available, seating up to 400 delegates, fully equipped with all the necessary equipment including broadband wireless internet access in the Courtyard and foyer area. The Garden Room restaurant is open from 06h30 to 22h30 serving mouth-watering buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax with friends or meet the locals at the Woodhouse Bar which is open from 11h00 to 23h00. Pietermaritzburg is not only a historic area but there are numerous exhilarating events that take place in this area. The city gives start to the Duzi canoeing event, the Comrades Marathon, Midmar Mile Swimming competition and the Amashovashova Cycling Race. In winter GUESTS can witness snow in the midland areas such as Bulwer, Underberg and Drakensberg. For some Kasi (South African townships) flavor, GUESTS can visit Madlula's Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.