We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Pietermaritzburg hotels

Protea Hotel Hilton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hilton Avenue,, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Hilton to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Hilton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
HollyHollister Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
16
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton. We stayed here about 10 years ago when it was still the OLD Hilton Hotel and we could not believe the transformation, it really is looking beautiful. The service from all staff was friendly and professional. I even hosted a work breakfast meeting with clients... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear HollyHollister Thank you so much for taking the time to let us have your feedback. Its comments like this that we strive to achieve and I know that the TEAM will be as thrilled to receive your comments. What a pleasure having you stay with us. With such a beautiful property, and so much to do in the area,... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a stopover we found this hotel very convenient. It is clean and comfortable. They have kept the old style which gives it a regal atmosphere. We arrived very late, after 23.00 but staff was very friendly and helpful. We found the breakfast spread very appealing and hearty for a winter morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear sportmad, Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review, all reviews are so helpful, I shall put this onto the staff notice board for all to see. We now have an awards ceremony each month in the departments, driven by the Guest feed back cards. It has been a great motivation for all the departments as... More

Hilton, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed over-night at the Hilton Protea Hotel, as a friend was getting married in the Hilton area. It was so convenient, and such a treat! The staff were incredibly helpful, and my room was perfectly 'spotless'! A pre-wedding drink at the bar was great - for anyone living in the area I'd certainly recommend the bar as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Katherine T Thank you very much for such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you were able experience a ‘weekend treat’ with us.. Our new rooms are certainly something to look forward to when staying with us, I am sure the Housekeeping STAFF will be delighted to receive your feedback. The bar,... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a lovely over night stay at the Protea Hilton. The old bar is till the same as ever full of atmosphere and warm with a roaring fire ! The hotel decor is great. I would avoid eating dinner there unless its late - Nicholsons down the road is a lovely dinner spot - must book though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear BCLL294265 Thank you for taking the time and informing us of your experience at Protea Hotel Hilton. We are very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere; the fires always make it better. We are concerned that you did not have a good experience with your dinner, we would love to find out why this is and what we could... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We booked into this hotel because my Dad has retired in Howick - not far from the hotel. Our check in was good and goodie bags were given to my kids which thrilled them. Our hotel room was booked for 2 adults and 2 children. Our room however only had 2 towel and 2 tea cups and 2 sachets of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear PrincessJenny56 Thank you so very kindly for taking the time to chat to me, what a wonderful conversation. I have taken all of your concerns into serious consideration. Anthony has sent you the Prokard details and it will solve all your breakfast problems, and as such a frequent traveller you can earn a holiday. I look forward to seeing... More

Kimberley, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good hotel with decent rooms and free wifi. Too bad the same cannot be said for one of its managers. I had a problem with a room service order and was not having success in getting restaurant manager to resolve the matter. Ask to speak to the manager who is "in charge". Was told it was a certain Anton. Reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Tsalas Thank you for your valued feedback. It is disappointing to hear of your experience and I can confirm that, as per our telephonic conversation, I have addressed all of your concerns raised and corrective action has been taken. Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Heather Poulsen General... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent rooms in the new wing and a very good place to stop over on the way to Durban or the Berg form Johannesburg, if you get away late and do not want to travel in the dark. Good buffet in the evening and excellent buffet in the morning for breakfast. We felt that for the price the breakfast -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It was the middle of winter and very cold the hotel has an old feel to it with wood burning fires and a feeling of warmth. Definitely enjoyed our stay here and will return every winter if I can. The hotel is in close proximity to sights in the midlands and can even arrange a tour company to take you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Hi Ashley S Thank you for the lovely review. We love the wood fires in winter. So many GUESTS love the fire in reception and the restaurant as many people only expect it in the bar, it has a wonderful feeling of home. I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel. Kind Regards Heather Poulsen General Manager... More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good Evening, Just a short note to express our wonderful experience at the Protea Hilton. We took a drive to the Midlands and wasn’t planning on staying over. Well We Google to see if there was a Protea Hotel in the area and the one in Hilton came up. From Reception to Housekeeping the service was impeccable . I must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Deongov There is nothing more motivating for STAFF to reach for higher goals than genuine compliments. Thank you very much for the wonderful letter. I have put it onto the notice boards in all the departments, if only you could see the smiles you have brought to so many faces. Thank you! Please be sure to contact me when... More

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

As a regular visitor to Protea Hotels in South Africa I am extremely impressed with the excellent service at the Protea Hilton Hotel. Heather and her personnel are doing their level best and she can be extremely proud of what she achieved at the Hilton. I rate this as one of the best Protea Hotels. Johan Wolmarans

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review

Dear johanwolmarans0 Thank you for your lovely review and the chat at breakfast. It is heart warming when people have been coming to the Hilton for so many years and can see the difference. I look forward to seeing you on your trips this way in the future. One of my favourite things about being a General Manager is that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hilton

Address: 1 Hilton Avenue,, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Hilton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Hilton - Opulent Elegance in the heart of the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this four star architectural show piece with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must stay for a meandering country charm seeker. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel boasts all the modern amenities expected from holiday-makers to businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. When bringing the family don’t forget your tennis rackets. Our on-site tennis court offers a great opportunity for the whole family to have some fun. Win or lose, a quick dip in the pool will calm everyone down and clear the air. Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner; a visit to our very own Ellingtons Restaurant offers a mouth-watering choice of local cuisine fit for Royalty. We also offer a private dining area for those special occasions or when entertaining clients. Don’t forget about our Cocktail Lounge that is ready to welcome you for pre or post dinner drinks. So for business or pleasure, Protea Hotel Hilton will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
97

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer