We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Bay

Certificate of Excellence
75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beachcomber Bay
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

it was very nice ! we were very happy, but they did'nt tell us they have dogs cause some of us afraid of dogs but anyway we enjoy our self's a lot!! service was very was excellent! we like the view !! wow! it so close to the beach ! not far from the center! all in all we love... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

THE BEACH IS A 2 MINUTE WALK! The owner was incredibly helpful!! A cab driver tried to over charge me, and the owner made sure I wasn't and gave me multiple alternatives. Also, when I needed change they helped me. They always asked me how I was and chatted with at breakfast (I traveled alone), so I would have some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your super review, we enjoyed your stay with us Regards Sharon More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Very unhelpful owner and unfriendly, very abrupt on the phone and charges rates not in accordance with the website and wanted to charge an extra R100 for a 4 month old baby. Unacceptable, unhelpful with a bed and breakfast that is seemingly not up to scratch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

From our conversation it was obvious that our prices were more than you wanted to pay. Our prices are in accordance with our website and we charge for children Under 8 R100 per day from 8 to 16 R150 per day. Not sure you can say we are not up to scratch when you haven't stayed here. I hope you... More 

cape town
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Having stayed at a number of B&B's on this trip I can honestly say that the price we paid did not justify what we got. Our room was very close to the kitchen and offered little privacy. The communal areas are looking a bit tatty and breakfast was average. The honesty bar only had a single bottle of white wine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stayed four nights in this fantastic small guesthouse/hotel. It felt like staying at your friends house. Beautiful view, Good breakfast and nice rooms. The beach is just 100 meters away. We found a good Italian restaurant just 500 meters away. The place is very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Plaese put the dogs away from the people some people are scared of the dogs that all i did enjoy the may staying there im coming back on october thanks /next time when i come im going to come with my friend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your girlfriend is afraid of dogs. Beachcomber Bay is our home and our dogs live here with us, unfortunately it is not possible to keep the dogs separately. They are well socialised and if you ignore them, they will ignore you. At the moment we have a young 5 month old puppy... More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Have stayed here before and nice to find it hasn't changed from the lovely homely guest house we remembered, with Sharon still in the driver's seat. Each room has it's own external exit on a secure site, just a stone's throw from the beach. Enormous breakfast included in the price, a crystal clear pool, braai area and unlimited wi-fi. Convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Beachcomber Bay is like being at home without the chores. Their location is excellent being close to beaches, restaurants and activities. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All in all a good experience and will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Our stay was fanstastic and the people were very welcoming, i will definately come back before the end of this year. The location and the guesthouse was perfect.Thank you for your hospitality and friendliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Wonderful to receive such a great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return Regards Sharon More 

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We must say that we were a litle bit disappointed when we compare this B&B to other B&B´s we have visited. Our room was lovely with wonderful sea views but hot like a sauna without AC or ceiling fans. We did not feel that the atmosphere was very friendly or helpful rather "not interested". Breakfast was good. Due to special... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Hi Bo So sorry you were disappointed with Room 6 our penthouse. I realise it is very hot in February, but usually open windows and the fan (in the cupboard were the fridge is) suffices in bringing down the temperature and creating a breeze. I am also sorry that there was a problem with either your card or with our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay