We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Bay

Certificate of Excellence
75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beachcomber Bay
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
33
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very unhelpful owner and unfriendly, very abrupt on the phone and charges rates not in accordance with the website and wanted to charge an extra R100 for a 4 month old baby. Unacceptable, unhelpful with a bed and breakfast that is seemingly not up to scratch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

From our conversation it was obvious that our prices were more than you wanted to pay. Our prices are in accordance with our website and we charge for children Under 8 R100 per day from 8 to 16 R150 per day. Not sure you can say we are not up to scratch when you haven't stayed here. I hope you... More 

cape town
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Having stayed at a number of B&B's on this trip I can honestly say that the price we paid did not justify what we got. Our room was very close to the kitchen and offered little privacy. The communal areas are looking a bit tatty and breakfast was average. The honesty bar only had a single bottle of white wine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stayed four nights in this fantastic small guesthouse/hotel. It felt like staying at your friends house. Beautiful view, Good breakfast and nice rooms. The beach is just 100 meters away. We found a good Italian restaurant just 500 meters away. The place is very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Plaese put the dogs away from the people some people are scared of the dogs that all i did enjoy the may staying there im coming back on october thanks /next time when i come im going to come with my friend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your girlfriend is afraid of dogs. Beachcomber Bay is our home and our dogs live here with us, unfortunately it is not possible to keep the dogs separately. They are well socialised and if you ignore them, they will ignore you. At the moment we have a young 5 month old puppy... More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Have stayed here before and nice to find it hasn't changed from the lovely homely guest house we remembered, with Sharon still in the driver's seat. Each room has it's own external exit on a secure site, just a stone's throw from the beach. Enormous breakfast included in the price, a crystal clear pool, braai area and unlimited wi-fi. Convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Beachcomber Bay is like being at home without the chores. Their location is excellent being close to beaches, restaurants and activities. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All in all a good experience and will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Our stay was fanstastic and the people were very welcoming, i will definately come back before the end of this year. The location and the guesthouse was perfect.Thank you for your hospitality and friendliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Wonderful to receive such a great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return Regards Sharon More 

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We must say that we were a litle bit disappointed when we compare this B&B to other B&B´s we have visited. Our room was lovely with wonderful sea views but hot like a sauna without AC or ceiling fans. We did not feel that the atmosphere was very friendly or helpful rather "not interested". Breakfast was good. Due to special... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Hi Bo So sorry you were disappointed with Room 6 our penthouse. I realise it is very hot in February, but usually open windows and the fan (in the cupboard were the fridge is) suffices in bringing down the temperature and creating a breeze. I am also sorry that there was a problem with either your card or with our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I stayed at Beachcomber bay for a 10 days of diving the protea banks and wanted a nice and spacious place to spend my afternoons after a tiring day's diving and beachcomber bay was perfect! HUGE rooms, fantastic location, friendly owner and overall amazing value for money!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Hi Jacob Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. We are really please you enjoyed your stay with us and the diving. Keep well Regards Sharon TJ More 

Brakpan, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Had a wonderful stay and definitly value for money (stayed 8 nights). Must also compliment the cleanliness as every corner gets cleaned daily. Very friendly and excellent service by owners and their staff. Would certainly recommend this guesthouse and would also return should I go to the South Coast again. Very well located with beautiful seaviews.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

What a lovely review thank you, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write this review Kind regards Sharon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question