We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachcomber Bay

Certificate of Excellence
75 Marine Drive | Ramsgate, Margate 4285, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beachcomber Bay
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    16
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
margate
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the two joint beds to form a queen size bed made our sleep not as pleasant as we would have liked. the presence of dogs in the dining area was very terrifying to my partner who has no previous experience of leaving with pets.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay very well. Excellent location. Nice and quiet. Close to the fantastic beach. Close to good restaurants and other amenities. A wonderful place to relax. Definately wie will come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you Michaela, we look forward to your return. Regards Sharon More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

it was very nice ! we were very happy, but they did'nt tell us they have dogs cause some of us afraid of dogs but anyway we enjoy our self's a lot!! service was very was excellent! we like the view !! wow! it so close to the beach ! not far from the center! all in all we love... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

THE BEACH IS A 2 MINUTE WALK! The owner was incredibly helpful!! A cab driver tried to over charge me, and the owner made sure I wasn't and gave me multiple alternatives. Also, when I needed change they helped me. They always asked me how I was and chatted with at breakfast (I traveled alone), so I would have some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your super review, we enjoyed your stay with us Regards Sharon More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Very unhelpful owner and unfriendly, very abrupt on the phone and charges rates not in accordance with the website and wanted to charge an extra R100 for a 4 month old baby. Unacceptable, unhelpful with a bed and breakfast that is seemingly not up to scratch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

From our conversation it was obvious that our prices were more than you wanted to pay. Our prices are in accordance with our website and we charge for children Under 8 R100 per day from 8 to 16 R150 per day. Not sure you can say we are not up to scratch when you haven't stayed here. I hope you... More 

George, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Having stayed at a number of B&B's on this trip I can honestly say that the price we paid did not justify what we got. Our room was very close to the kitchen and offered little privacy. The communal areas are looking a bit tatty and breakfast was average. The honesty bar only had a single bottle of white wine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stayed four nights in this fantastic small guesthouse/hotel. It felt like staying at your friends house. Beautiful view, Good breakfast and nice rooms. The beach is just 100 meters away. We found a good Italian restaurant just 500 meters away. The place is very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Plaese put the dogs away from the people some people are scared of the dogs that all i did enjoy the may staying there im coming back on october thanks /next time when i come im going to come with my friend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SharonTJ, Owner at Beachcomber Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your girlfriend is afraid of dogs. Beachcomber Bay is our home and our dogs live here with us, unfortunately it is not possible to keep the dogs separately. They are well socialised and if you ignore them, they will ignore you. At the moment we have a young 5 month old puppy... More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Have stayed here before and nice to find it hasn't changed from the lovely homely guest house we remembered, with Sharon still in the driver's seat. Each room has it's own external exit on a secure site, just a stone's throw from the beach. Enormous breakfast included in the price, a crystal clear pool, braai area and unlimited wi-fi. Convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Beachcomber Bay is like being at home without the chores. Their location is excellent being close to beaches, restaurants and activities. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All in all a good experience and will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay