We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thanda Private Game Reserve

Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
D242 off the N2, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Thanda Private Game Reserve
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    235
    22
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
54
150
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour group. Wow our "tent" was luxurious. Large comfy bed, lounge room, plunge pool , outdoor shower and a large deck area. The meals were fabulous and the staff very nice. The game drives were awesome. The guides drove up very very close to the animals and we got some great photos. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wouldn't have missed this wonderful place for anything. Even the most ardent ant-camper would LOVE this style - we'd call it "glamping" - glamour camping - with nothing spared to give us a wonderful experience. ALL staff were fantastic - Rangers, trackers, housekeeping and food and beverage staff - providing outstanding service and quality. The morning and afternoon safari drives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Tented Camp at Thanda for 4 nights in August 2015. The accommodations are wonderful, even though you're in a "tent". I say "tent" because they are permanent fixtures with canvas walls. You have a wood deck out front, wood floors inside, a wood and glass door, a sink, a toilet, and a shower or tub (varies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your Wow Review. You could not have described our tents, Food & service ,game drive experience any better than a story writer Thank you for advising others of the useful tips regarding what to bring, our elephant interaction programme and driving to Thanda We hope to see you back at Thanda in the near future. More 

Preston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thanda was recommended to us as THE game reserve to visit north of Durban and it was! We had a three night stay in the lodges and everything was superb. The accomodation was wonderful and extremely spacious with great outdoor area. The staff throughout the stay were so helpful that in addition to everything else they did for us, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We accommodate all occasions at Thanda with special surprises during your stay with us and are glad to hear your wife enjoyed her anniversary birthday present with us. We know you were not keen to come at first but are happy you cant wait to return. We looking forward to having you with us again,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Tented Camp for 2 nights and from the moment we entered the reserve to the moment we left, the service was nothing short of exceptional. The "new lodge" (as the last time we came, the camp hadn't had its revamp) is absolutely stunning and the tents are great. Our bed was beautifully turned down for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are very happy to hear you love the new revamp of the tents. The Thanda Foundation was established to address the socio - economic and development needs of the three Zulu communities neighbouring Thanda, to contribute to the preservation of the Zulu culture and to participate in a range of conservation and community upliftment... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the tented camp , I was skeptical at first because I'm not the outdoorsy type but this was luxury camping ! The food was perfect , the staff really polite and eager to please . The game drive was also nice , you could tell the guides were well informed . Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes our tents are luxurious and offer an authentic "OUT OF AFRICA" experience. However there is generator power for charging devices in the communal areas as there are no plug points in the tents. Our guides and trackers are great teams and have endless knowledge on the area and animals. We hope you visit Thanda... More 

Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thanda was an outstanding experience! Four days in the tented camp was the nexus of a bush safari experience and luxury. The staff was simply outstanding. Ephraim and Ronnie, our guides were like old friends after the first evening ride. Thami was an exceptional manager only equaled by the remarkable well trained and pleasant staff. Over four days we saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for you review on our Tented Camp You were very lucky to see the Big 5 several times during your stay. Thanda prides itself with its wonderful compliment of staff and service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back More 

Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

room great,feel of the bush,food fantastic,service great,rangers very knowledgable.only drawback game viewing was a little disappointing from point of view of seeing more cats.tented camp has a great vibe to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on the Tents. Yes unfortunately it is not always easy to see all the game on a 14000 ha reserve.Our expert guides and trackers do their utmost best to show you as much as the can and share their deep lived knowledge of the wilderness and ancient traditional culture and stories that have evolved from... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Spent 2 nights at Thanda courtesy of a friend who said I would not be disappointed. She could not have been more accurate. An amazing oasis of calm in the heart of Khuazulu Natal, supreme service, delightful food and deeply caring staff. If you happen to book a ride, I strongly recommend you select SBU as your guide. A warm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do the review. All our staff at Thanda are passionate about the communities. We offer an activity called In the Footsteps of the Zulu's as a guests you have the opportunity to see this for yourself during an indepth cultural experience; a community excursion following in the footsteps of Zulu ancestors. We also... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

The whole experience was wonderful. The villa is perfect, a place of luxury, and you could almost reach out and touch the wildlife drinking from the watering hole. Fabulous setting and stunning location. The staff were fantastic - just attentive enough without encroaching on our time together. The rangers were super experienced and so informative and found us all we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThandaPGR, Manager at Thanda Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review on Villa Izulu Villa Izulu has 5 beautifully appointed rooms and is a bush homestead beyond any traditional understanding of extravagance & service.. It is ideal for those wanting privacy as it comes with a private game drive,Villa Host & private chef for the duration of your stay. We look forward to having you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

415 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (318)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
14.4 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#3 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#1 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bushlands Game Lodge
Bushlands Game Lodge
#7 of 7 in Hluhluwe
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
11.1 mi away
Leopard Mountain Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 29 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay