We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushlands Game Lodge

P.o. Box 79, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bushlands Game Lodge
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    22
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank ypu to the friendly, welcoming staff. Affordability it definitely what you get here. Amazing meals and lovely lazy walks. 5 stars to Bushlands. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushGM, General Manager at Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely Review. Your comments are exactly what we strive to achieve, excellent Food and Service. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
192 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I was given a very shabby room very far from reception / dining area. I dealt with it for first night but asked for a different room the next day -- manager refused to come to reception; the supervising grounds keeper finally took it upon himself to move me to more suitable accommodation - the new room far superior!! needless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushGM, General Manager at Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we were fully booked on your first night. You were assisted by a Ranger/ Duty Manager and not a Grounds Keeper who was only able to move you on the second night due to availability. Bushlands Game Lodge strives to offer excellent food and service so thank you for these comments. More 

Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We were excited to spend a few nights in a private game preserve. We did see antelope, bushbabies, and birds. It's important to know the cabins are connected to each other, reception (closed at night) and dining room by wooden walkways about 6 feet off the ground. Seems cool but the railings are poor and the decking is very uneven.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushGM, General Manager at Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank for your review. Unfortunately South Africa has been marred by " Load Shedding" from our State owned Power Company. During your two night stay we did experience this on both evenings between 4pm and 6pm which impacted on our guest comfort during these times. Reception does close after 9.30 pm, an emergency phone is available 24hours. The accident of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hluhluwe hotels

SWANSEA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We were part of a large party which was staying at the lodge for two nights and included a three hour safari each day for three days. On our arrival and inside the lodge grounds our bus was blocked by three Giraffes! FAB!! We were shown to our family block which was some distance away from the reception/restaurant. This was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

A pleasant surprise, away from all, without all the frills and trimmings at a very reasonable rate. Friendly staff, good food - a good selection of that should please most guests. When next in the area, certainly to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend 3 nights at Bushland with my family. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. We have took unguided walks through the reserve and got some great opportunities for photos of zebra, giraffe and even ostrich. The hide offers a relaxing environment to spend a few hours overlooking the waterhole looking for game or just to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Antigua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Bushlands. The staff are all very friendly and passionate about what they do. The location is ideal for exploring the big five reserves but the wow factor was going for a morning run and passing the game including 4 giraffes with a three month old baby, Its beautiful being able to hike as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just finish a great 2 day break, only shame it was too short. Staff were very welcoming. Lovely cottage on the raised walkways, plenty of privacy which is important to us, could not fault the room, nice touch of shampoo, body cream etc. food was a nice surprise, homely, good choice, very nice veggies not overcooked, which was such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were in a self catering unit. These were pleasant enough although the lounge kitchen area was on the small side particularly considering these are 6 sleepers and the kids go in the lounge. Great playground for kids we could look out over. The BBQ grill was missing, luckily place wasn't full took from next door. One afternoon we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were a group of 20 booked for a period of 4 days from 2 - 6 January 2013. I personally made our bookings through SA Places 7 months prior and requested specific self-catering units. I paid everything upfront and our specific lodging was confirmed. On arrival we were allocated completely different rooms, our rooms had already been given to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
0.0 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#3 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#1 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
0.0 mi away
The Natal Spa Hot Springs and Leisure Resort
The Natal Spa Hot Springs and Le...
#1 of 1 in Paulpietersburg
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanda Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay