We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hluhluwe Backpackers

Cnr Memorial Gate & Hluhluwe Dam Rds | Hluhluwe Dam Road, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hluhluwe Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hluhluwe Backpackers
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
SF
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice little piece of heaven...1 km from the Imfolozi park, self-catering (aka shared kitchen) or catered, cleanest water in the Natal (well on site), pool table, fire pit, in a Zulu neighborhood, with a super friendly and knowledgable (safari guide) native South African owner named Dave! Two friendly dogs met us in the parking lot, off to a good start.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review and we are thrilled to read such a great response!. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and do hope you will come visit us soon again. There is so much to do in our area including game drives, meeting and interacting with elephants, cheetah centre, crocodile and snake centre,... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

The backpackers had all the facilities you could wish for: clean rooms with fresh linen and a fan, communal bathrooms with loads of hot water -also impeccable-, a communal kitchen with all you could need to cook yourself and fantastic bbq area outside. All this set in a beautiful surrounding. Biggest perk is obviously the distance to the entrance of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always good to recieve great feedback and we do appreciate! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to having you visit us soon again! More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

My wife and I recently resided at Hluhluwe backpackers for a weekend, but let me tell you, its the best place as far as backpackers we have ever stayed. Its actually more like a self catering than a backpackers. The rooms are so nice and clean, the garden is exquisite, the best of all, it is so close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and all of us at Hluhluwe Backpackers are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Hluhluwe Backpackers Management More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

First, a big warning! Google Maps is not correct on the location. The establishment is nice. There's no wifi, but it is really close to the northern entrance of the park. The rooms were clean and very reasonably priced. The management, however, was non-existent. While there, it felt like there was no one after payment was received. A bigger problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hluhluwe M, Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. and as explained at the time we were not aware google maps had changed settings. The good news is google maps has now been corrected to the right directions.. Our website also has clear directions as we are exactly 1.5 km before the main Memorial gate of Hluhluwe Game Reserve. Also because we are near... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I recently had a four day stay at Hluhluwe Backpackers. I was quite surprised! Besides the fact that it's so close to the National Park, We were treated very well! We had very warm welcome from Dave, the Owner and we felt right at home! His knowledge as Field Guide was outstanding and we could ask him... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and it was wonderful to have you stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Kwazulu Natal and look forward to having you stay with us again. Best Regards Hluhluwe Management Team More 

Sibrina Czech republic
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have been there for two nights on our trip around South Africa.Perfect location just a kilometer from the gate to game reserve.Rooms are simply furnished but comunal kitchen was perfect.Toilets and showers was not on a high level but it was O.K.On the end of a day we prepared our meal in kitchen together with other tourists and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you stay with us and indeed our spot is in a very peaceful, unique and rural area surrounded by the Zulu community and hills close to the main gate of Hluhluwe Game Reserve - Memorial Gate. We have recently painted the shower and bathrooms and it looks great with bright blue areas! We hope to see you... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived at the end of a really long, hot day to find a room with no working fan and no window. The beds had no linen except a thin sheet and grey blankets. The basin was filled with disgustingly dirty water that stank, the toilet was leaking water all over the floor and the shower had no head. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that your experience did you not meet your expectations. We can only think you used the abultion block outside which is no longer in use as we do not have camping anymore. We assure you the in house showers/bathrooms are spotlessly clean. As per our standard all rooms have duva cover.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hluhluwe hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After a hard day of riding gravel roads across northern natal and zululand in temperatures up to 42 C, the day was coming to an end and I had only reached Hluhluwe and was hot and tired. Accomodation in hluhluwe is aimed largely at upmarket tourists in safari mode wanting luxury and game drives, not bikers who just want a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review and its always rewarding to see our guests happy. We would love to have you back with your children next time as we are especially children friendly with a kiddies corner and activities such as marshmellow braai and star gazing at night. We have also recently expanded to make our lounge pub... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Hluhluwe for a few days in lieu of the further trek to Kruger. We were told by another backpackers in Durban to try to do the three day tour with the owner. Dave was nothing but courteous and informative. I wouldn't have done a game drive without his expertise, knowing what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hluhluwe M, General Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

It was wonderful to have you stay with us and have you enjoy all our area has to offer and especially mixing with the locals at Rugby night! Our venue is in a very peaceful environment away from city and noise with peace and quiet and surrounding hills close to the park. We have now expanded our lounge pub area... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would definitely NOT recommend HluHluwe Backpackers, after an ATTEMPTED ARMED BREAK IN, filthy bathrooms, no electricity, a poorly equipped kitchen and incompetent staff we didn’t even spend the night there. Here is what happened: We arrived at the backpackers in peak season(December) to be the only holiday makers on the property. Our booking was not noted anywhere, even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hluhluwebackpackers, Public Relations Manager at Hluhluwe Backpackers, responded to this review

Although this review was posted years ago, I feel the need to set the record straight for future guests. Hluhluwe Backpackers underwent major changes since then. Whatever was alleged in this particular review has no merit whatsoever anymore. Hluhluwe Backpackers as it stand today, is one of the best budget accommodation properties in the area. We do not offer camping... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay