We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essenwood House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Essenwood House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    178
    30
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
77
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is something reassuring about Essenwood House. Actually, there is a lot that is reassuring for returning customers. The owners, John and Paddy, and at least some of the staff have been there since my first visit more than a decade ago. Driving from Johannesburg, I advised that we'd be late and John reassured that it wasn't a problem. His... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, Very kind of you to write such nice things about your stay. Nothing is perfect but we try in this old house to make everyone have a memorable stay. It is always great to have repeat visitors so we hop to see you again, best wishes John and paddy More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nights On the 4th day the owner got my reservation all mixed up and thought we were leaving On the 5th dat he was juggling rooms to fit another family This was unacceptable The guest house needs a huge make over The wifi hardly worked when we were there The cable TV was not working correctly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

This is factually so untrue as to not bear commenting on. The menu has so many variations that you can order something different every day. As for the other complaints, obviously the writer has never made a mistake over anything , which I find amazing. Best wishes John More 

Lydenburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our host offended us all. He insulted the young woman in our party. He denigrated our driver and he threatened to throw our electronics into the IndIan Ocean. His racist, mysogynist, ageist attitudes spoiled our stay in his otherwise pretty establishment. All of us were so uncomfortable due to his unacceptable behavior that we cut our stay short.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have never before been regarded as rude and as you can see from so many reviews, go out of my way to make everyone feel at home, as does my partner Paddy. More 

Botswana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This is an upmarket guest house in Durban. It is set in lush grounds and the room I stayed in was enormous, comfortable and furnished attractively. I loved the furniture and the quality of the bed linen. the vase of fresh flowers, the mini bar which was stocked with a great range of beverages, the tea station, the huge bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for wring about your stay with us, I am so sorry about the mozzies, there should be a can of aerosol in all the rooms to scare them off, maybe you did not see it. Aircon: the best way of keeping them out! Hope to see you again, best wishes Paddy More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We had a wonderful overnight stay at Essenwood House, lovely hosts, very accommodating staff, beautiful surroundings. We will certainly stay here again and recommend this establishment to our family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. So glad that you enjoyed being with us and hope to see you again. Best wishes John More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

After i read the enthusiastics reviews i made a reservation to the essenwood house.it is a nice place located in a good location ,having a good breakfast. that is the positive part . The owner is a cynical man who is willing to help you only for calli g a tax there is not wi-fi in the room despite it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Unfortunately a very unhappy guest. How he could call me "cynical" I have no idea as all guests remark on how helpful I am in sorting out problems, bookings, restaurants, in fact everything, which I enjoy doing We have never had a FLEA in any room in the house, this is ridiculous, maybe he meant mosquitoes?? We went beyond the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Loved the chicken stew waiting for us on our return from Comrades on Sunday. After a long day of running, it was heaven to not have to worry about a meal. With a bath in the room too! Only 4.5km from the start of the up run.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We always enjoy having the Comrades runners here and glad that you enjoyed the chicken stew after you got back! Hope the experience will not stop you running again and also that we might see you again here! best wishes John More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

The most pleasant, relaxed and friendly establishment run by an absolute gentleman. John Chance arranged restaurants gave sage advice and ensured that all guests were happy. The rest of the staff were unbelievably friendly and accommodating. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. Much appreciated and hope to see you again. Best wishes John More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We occupied most of the guest house for a Durban wedding over 4 days and none of us could fault a thing! A thoroughly hospitable host John and equally helpful staff went out of their way to make us completely at home in the beautiful house and grounds. We all felt very sad to leave. Thank you for an outstanding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Thank you SO much for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. I must say it was as good for us as it was for you and it was great to hear all the laughter from such nice guests all the time you were with us. So glad that everything went off well, the weather, the wedding... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

With spacious and beautiful rooms, Essenwood is a delightful B&B tucked away in beautiful gardens. It's the best spot to be in when visiting Durban. The view of Durban makes any Joburger envious. It's proximity to Florida Road and the beach make it a perfect location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay, very much appreciated and importantly for us great that you enjoyed being with us. Hop you got home safely! See you again? best wishes John and paddy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#10 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#4 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor
0.6 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#2 of 42 in Durban
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay