We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Cities Riverside Hotel

10 Kenneth Kaunda Road | PO Box 35523, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Three Cities Riverside Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Durban
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
paballo1 Potchefstroom, South Africa
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
15
16
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Jhb, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the highest level to the most junior this hotel needs a serious training session on customer service! Where do I even start with my complaints...rooms not done up on time, towels not replaced, construction taking place early in the mornings, breakfast closed before the time informed, terrible outdated bathrooms that leak and wet the entire bathroom after a shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel and sending in your review. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and we very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your overall experience in the hotel.Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our... More 

Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On entering the driveway the guard indicates that you turn left into a decrepit parking are, although there are many vacant parking spaces in the main area! The workshop area is a tight squeeze with chairs huddled close together. The venue is noisy with the clutter of dishwashing and passerby traffic! The lunches were average and tea service pretty mediocre!

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with the parking as well as the overall service that was provided. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. More 

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I had a wonderful stay. Everything from the room to the food. I mostly enjoyed my breakfast as there was a variety of food available. The staff were friendly some of them we'rent so" ,I like the fact that our plea for a bigger room was quickly addressed. The bar was also our highlight, we most definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paballo01 Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Riverside Hotel and Spa, and for taking the time to complete your fantastic review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Kind Regards Guest Relations More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I used the conference facilities and also stayed there due to the convenience. Catering for the breakfast function was very good and the staff were helpful. The rooms are looking tired so request a renovated room. Towels were stained so should also be replaced. Also shower in bath with shower curtain! Hopefully in new rooms this has been changed

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Geldenhuysdi Sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy about the overall condition of the room and would like to take the opportunity to inform you that phase 2 of the hotel's refurbishment is the upgrade of all our guest rooms. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice product but that’s where it stops. The new rooms look great but the overall service of the staff is pretty dismal. I would much rather prefer an average room product with good service than a great room product with terrible service. The breakfast was the most disappointing, they have a long way to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GuestReview116 Thank you so much for the feedback, your comments are noted we apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your stay with us. We have discussed the issue with our restaurant and action is being taken to rectify this. Regards Guest Relations More 

Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent. I highly recommend the hotel for business and family holidays. The staff is well trained and the hotel fictions well. It is well situated, safe and also perfect for a weekend getaway. I haven't tried the spa but I am sure it's fantastic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rr681 Thank you for the review and kind feedback, the spa is fantastic, Kind Regards Jerod GM More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was not ready as per my booking request for the extra bed for my daughter as per my booking I made a month before arrival, the room actually too small to fit the third bed and we were terribly cramped. I have taken photographs of the torn lace curtains that were also falling off the hooks and not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela D, We sincerely apologise for this totally unacceptable inconvenience and assure you of our and my personal intervention in this regard. The room issue must be resolved, either on site or through our partner Booking.com, we have trip rooms already equipped with additional single bed, and family rooms with additional double bed in the room, I am trying... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel needs a little work and that work is being done. Half the hotel is being renovated with some great potential. The staff are great but the restaurant service needs lots of work. Breakfast is average but again, needs a little upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BBJSportguy, Thank you so much for the feedback, your comments are noted and we are glad you have noticed our refurb plan ongoing. The Restaurant too has undergone a face lift and service and products are continually being worked on, we apologise for any inconvenience experienced Kind Regards Jerod GM More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay. Room 541 has an excellent view of the stadiums and the ocean. The room was comfortable with a sitting room and a spacious bedroom. The breakfast had a good selection of options. Is conveniently located from the local attractions like the stadium and ushaka. The staff was excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reisby, Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we will continue to surpass expectation, kind Regards Jerod GM More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Conveniently located in a quiet part of Durban. Near to the gardens, the river and bird park. Stones throw from the beach front and Umhlanga. Good rooms. Clean. Sparse breakfast. Inexpensive. Helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AishaW, Thank you for the wonderful review we appreciate this feedback and will continue to surpass expectation. Kind Regards Jerod GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay