We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Cities Riverside Hotel

10 Kenneth Kaunda Road | PO Box 35523, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Three Cities Riverside Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Durban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
24brettc Johannesburg, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    30
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
15
16
4
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is difficult for a hotel to overcome the negative consequences of a rude welcome on arrival at reception, followed almost immediately by pathetic service at the main restaurant. And nothing in the 5 days I stayed at the Riverside counteracted my first day there. I had a time share week but was only arriving two days into the week.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Sutcliffe Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel and sending in your review. I sincerely appreciate your feedback this must have been most disappointing and inexcusable, our most sincere apologies in this regard I understand how upset you must have been. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the hospitality and friendlieness of the staff. Great Service from the kitchen staff. the food was also of a great quality. my room was very clean and it was nice to always be greeted with a smile from everyone

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Riverside Hotel and Spa services and experience to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. More 

Jhb, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

From the highest level to the most junior this hotel needs a serious training session on customer service! Where do I even start with my complaints...rooms not done up on time, towels not replaced, construction taking place early in the mornings, breakfast closed before the time informed, terrible outdated bathrooms that leak and wet the entire bathroom after a shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel and sending in your review. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and we very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your overall experience in the hotel.Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

On entering the driveway the guard indicates that you turn left into a decrepit parking are, although there are many vacant parking spaces in the main area! The workshop area is a tight squeeze with chairs huddled close together. The venue is noisy with the clutter of dishwashing and passerby traffic! The lunches were average and tea service pretty mediocre!

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with the parking as well as the overall service that was provided. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. More 

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

My friends and I had a wonderful stay. Everything from the room to the food. I mostly enjoyed my breakfast as there was a variety of food available. The staff were friendly some of them we'rent so" ,I like the fact that our plea for a bigger room was quickly addressed. The bar was also our highlight, we most definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paballo01 Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Riverside Hotel and Spa, and for taking the time to complete your fantastic review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Kind Regards Guest Relations More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I used the conference facilities and also stayed there due to the convenience. Catering for the breakfast function was very good and the staff were helpful. The rooms are looking tired so request a renovated room. Towels were stained so should also be replaced. Also shower in bath with shower curtain! Hopefully in new rooms this has been changed

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Geldenhuysdi Sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy about the overall condition of the room and would like to take the opportunity to inform you that phase 2 of the hotel's refurbishment is the upgrade of all our guest rooms. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Nice product but that’s where it stops. The new rooms look great but the overall service of the staff is pretty dismal. I would much rather prefer an average room product with good service than a great room product with terrible service. The breakfast was the most disappointing, they have a long way to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
leeannb793, Guest Relations Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GuestReview116 Thank you so much for the feedback, your comments are noted we apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your stay with us. We have discussed the issue with our restaurant and action is being taken to rectify this. Regards Guest Relations More 

Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Excellent. I highly recommend the hotel for business and family holidays. The staff is well trained and the hotel fictions well. It is well situated, safe and also perfect for a weekend getaway. I haven't tried the spa but I am sure it's fantastic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rr681 Thank you for the review and kind feedback, the spa is fantastic, Kind Regards Jerod GM More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

The room was not ready as per my booking request for the extra bed for my daughter as per my booking I made a month before arrival, the room actually too small to fit the third bed and we were terribly cramped. I have taken photographs of the torn lace curtains that were also falling off the hooks and not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela D, We sincerely apologise for this totally unacceptable inconvenience and assure you of our and my personal intervention in this regard. The room issue must be resolved, either on site or through our partner Booking.com, we have trip rooms already equipped with additional single bed, and family rooms with additional double bed in the room, I am trying... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

The hotel needs a little work and that work is being done. Half the hotel is being renovated with some great potential. The staff are great but the restaurant service needs lots of work. Breakfast is average but again, needs a little upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerodDurban, General Manager at Three Cities Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BBJSportguy, Thank you so much for the feedback, your comments are noted and we are glad you have noticed our refurb plan ongoing. The Restaurant too has undergone a face lift and service and products are continually being worked on, we apologise for any inconvenience experienced Kind Regards Jerod GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay