We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Durban

5.0 of 5 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel website
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hilton Durban
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Durban
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    223
    112
    36
    29
See reviews for
68
123
48
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (585)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (174)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Absolute disaster Check in time 3pm Had to wait room was not available after my husband insisted we were given another room The room had not been cleaned properly there was food left by whoever stayed in the room before also baloon and tissues on the carpet.No pillow cases on the pillows and a iron and ironing board dumped on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My stay at the Hilton was shocking. I arrived on the Friday evening. My room stunk of smoke even though I asked for a non smoking room. The room was changed. I ordered room service that evening, and firmly got sent the wrong food. Got the right order 2 hrs later, and still had to pay a cover charge of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was not my first time stauing at this particular institute and was very pleased with the accommodation. Was very disappointed that being a guest at the hotel i was still required to pay for parking. I feel this should be included in your room rates or waivered to hotel guests.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
DURBAN, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my stay didnt even match to that of a three star credentials, they dont answer the telephones, hospitality is foreign and not understood at all. There is no welcome, warmth and love that you would expect from a service provider of this magnitude

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry you were unhappy with the overall service and experience and I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel... More 

Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a wonderful stay and fulfilling experience and I am looking forward for another day. I will recommend anytime to my friends. the staff are very helpful friendly I will be coming again soon keep it up to everyone.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and completing this review. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban services and experience wonderful and thank you for the recommendations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely Markus More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pro's of staying at Hilton. - Excellent staff service especially Gugu Mthembu and Wendy Jansen. Went the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. - Beds were very comfortable. - Breakfast was divine and quality of food was excellent Con's of staying at Hilton - Rooms and corridors are run down need. Need a revamp -The interior of the hotel besides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to send in your review and your great comments about our team members and breakfast. I appreciate your constructive feedback and very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of our rooms/bathrooms and would like to happily inform you that phase 2 of the hotels refurbishment project is the upgrade of... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very clean, the staff very professional and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The rooms were very neat and had a very calming ambience to it. The ocean view was breath taking. The quality of the beds were my highlight.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban services, experience, breakfast and rooms to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Yours Sincerely, Markus More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I flew in from Capetown where I stayed at the Hilton there. The hotel is far more modern then the antiquated fittings in Durban. Wifi is paid for where it is free in Capetown. It was almost as if it was two different hotel chains. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely out dated with much service work required

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and I apologise that you did not find consistency between our Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel and Hilton Durban with regards to Wi-Fi access. We do offer... More 

Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 5 nights from Nov 9-14 2014 The good: Wow, what can I say. Just impeccable. From the moment of arrival until the minute of departure, the staff were all over it. really friendly, extremely courteous. Nothing was a problem. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the Exec Floor and it was almost overwhelming. The room was huge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest WOW! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and completing this fantastic review. As a Diamond HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests and I am very pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban services and experience to your liking. I will also ensure this gets passed onto my team for... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Durban for 6 nights. Great experience as soon as you enter the premises from the porter to the hotel checkin staff. Booked on booking.com and there was no hassles checking in. Breakfast was absolutely divine. Zama made us feel very welcome. Chicken sausages was a nice alternative to pork. And the indian vegetarian food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel with TripAdvisor. I greatly appreciated and comments made by our guests and would like to sincerely thank you for sending in your great comments about our team members and will surely pass this onto them and give them the recognition... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
#7 Luxury Hotel in Durban

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay