We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Durban hotels

Hilton Durban

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Save Saved
You added Hilton Durban to your Saves list
Hilton Durban
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
72%
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Paul C Lodi, California
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    205
    99
    30
    23
See reviews for
62
104
45
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If this is what the Durban Hilton is like, I would rather avoid Hilton hotels worldwide ... Last week I had the unfortunate opportunity to stay at the Hilton, as I was booked in to speak at a symposium for my client. I must say I looked forward to my stay as I have not stayed in a Hilton before,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This an upscale Hilton in Durban. Everything you need is on site: restaurant, gym, bar and comfortable rooms. Tried the restaurant and their buffet was excellent. The staff are all very good and especially aware of safety. Do listen to their recommendations!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban services and experience to your liking and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely Markus More

Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, I suggest anyone traveling in Africa do so with a very open mind. Reviewer's postings about towel service and other fussy stuff should be ashamed of themselves. Did they happen to note that they were being served by individuals in a country only 20 years into the massive transformation from apartheid? Or that they were visiting a region of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and it is always good to receive such great feedback and will ensure this gets passed to the entire team. I am pleased to hear you found the... More

Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we entered the hotel entrance it looked like we entered an shopping Mall with shops. We were received with great friendliness and I was booked into Room 712. An average luxury room with all amenities required. Like many hotels in the RSA there are many DSTV channels available but no Afrikaans channel. I also battled to link to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 6 nights we were allotted 1223-24 but the 1224 was not up yo the mark the aircon was not good at all .we were then allotted 1120-21 the next day they were good. we had also asked for interconnecting rooms and were allotted the same .the staff is very good n helpful the concierge is great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to send in your review. I greatly appreciate any comments made by you as it is always good to receive constructive feedback as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of service. Firstly I would like to sincerely apologise that... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel to Durban every September for a weekend and stay at the Hilton. They have recently refurbished the lobby area and it looks great. it also offer a nice café with good coffee/tea and pastries. It is still the same great hotel. the staff are very welcoming and really try to please and to ensure that you have an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban experience, services and food to your liking and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely Markus More

Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 6 nights. Executive lounge was pleasant with tasty evening snacks & beverages. Afternoon tea had some lovely cakes. My upgraded room on executive floor was the same as the12th floor(a non-executive floor) so not sure what the upgrade was about as just a pretty standard Hilton room. Girl on the main reception desk was a bit disinterested when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind comments regarding our Executive Lounge services and location and also would like to take this opportunity to let you know that the Executive Rooms are the same size as... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently staying in the Hilton hotel until Tuesday. We have come for wedding shopping in Durban and decided to stay here. I am paying over R1000 a night and the service is extremely poor. They took our used towels in the bath tub and hung them back to use when cleaning our room. I ordered room service tonight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry you were unhappy. Firstly I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve and I do believe that our Director of Operations has been in touch with you while you are... More

Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel. Have seen the reviews where people had problems with their bills on check out but we were fine. We asked for an upgrade when we got there which was fine and very reasonably priced. Use of the executive room due to this upgrade was handy and we appreciated the complementary drinks and snacks. Room clean, spacious certainly in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Durban and for taking the time to complete your review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. It is always good to receive constructive feedback and I thank you, on behalf of my Team. I... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hilton Durban is a good business hotel, looks even better after its recent revamp. It is however very expensive for South Africans, for this price, one should be blown away. It is perfect for an event at the Durban Convention Centre. The room decor is very boring, and the shops in the foyer are very basic, they need some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and sorry you were unhappy with the overall services and facilities offered. Our Executive team are reviewing this feedback in order to improve our guests experience. I would like to take this opportunity to inform... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilton Durban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Durban with
any amenities