We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Hotel website
63 OR Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Special Rate
ZAR 1,275 (ZAR)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is very good, only a few meters to the beachfront, includes a rather good Japanese restaurant, rooms need some renovation, Service is okay but not convincing enough, bar service is rather bad and arrogant

Helpful?
Thank Theodor S
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, pleasant safe hotel. Jnr Staff make you feel like a guest. My whole stay did not chat or see any management team - no one made the effort being a frequent guest. House keeping team very pleasant and take pride in ensuring your room is tidy

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank candy877
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, although I am quite surprised that you did not meet a member of the management team, as they are usually in the various guest areas, interacting with Guests and staff We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was not that impressing due to the lack of working space and also a tv on top of the fridge, the bath room was good and cleaned regularly, the bed was good except for the dirty throw at the conner.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mzukhuliley
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a pleasure to stay in Elangeni in January, the staff were very accommodating at all levels.There was a huge difference when we stayed in December during peak season. the only issue then and now was internet speed, it is far too slow. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were warmly welcomed.our room was situated on the 18th floor and because it was not suitable for my wife the staff were very accommodating and moved us to a lower floor The breakfast at Ocean Breeze was scrumptious and the variety was beyond expectation The spa treatment were a bit disappointing staff not friendly at all .will definently recommend... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank balvantc2016
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team ensured that you were both comfortable. I have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with the Spa team, in order for them to address this matter with the staff. We look forward... More 

Bloemfontein
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My stay was awesome staff was great food was perfected rooms perfectly cleaned I have no complains wat so ever except for the request that the wi-di be unlimited to the visitors.pools we magical I must

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank benlC6429SC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent Location - Stunning views with unlimited access to restaurants and activities. Great Weather all year round. Baechfront Area is very safe and secure at all times. Excellent vibe and atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Yusuf W
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Ficksburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not treated like a club member( room was not prepared for my arrival). the lady at reception promised that it will be prepared, but it was never done. I hope that will be rectified in the future

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank siphiwom2016
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of recognition of your Rewards programme status - your feedback has been shared with the team, in order that they take the necessary corrective steps to address this in future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Witbank, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pleasant stay. Room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Central location, very close to beaches and restaurants. Vigour and Verve (restaurant in hotel) is a very good option for dinner, good food, great atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Antoinette D
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant I cant thank the staff at Maharani and Marani Parade for assisting with a smooth changeover Guest Services were more than exceptional Will always return and I have been a frequent guest to this hotel

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Suliman P
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (245)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#9 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Edward
Protea Hotel Edward
#10 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#21 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay