We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

4.0 of 5 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    302
    108
    45
    32
See reviews for
218
128
24
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (718)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (222)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stopped over at this gorgeous hotel Unplanned and loved it. stayed on the 23rd floor. In room dinning was quick, it's 24hrs!! My Room was so beautiful and very clean. Delicious breakfast. Very well run hotel. Extremely impressed. Will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stay at this hotel annually for the last 6 or 7 years. The hotel is well situated close to many amenities and most importantly its close to the beach. The staff are friendly and ever willing to help. Excellent service, wonderful staff, yummy food....I love this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

THOHOYANDOU
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted to rest after a years work. I really rested and got quality time to re-connect with my wife since we were alone without our children. I liked the quietness and courtesy of the staff. thank you very much. bravo!!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had time to recharge during your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were really looking forward to our stay at this hotel as the website photos and reviews were excellent. Unfortunately the hotel was really full which meant that checking in was a mission as not all the receptionists were on duty. Eventually the manager on duty emerged from the back and assisted with check in. We were unfortunately booked into... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for your recent experience. Please could you email me directly on Samantha.Croft@tsogosun.com so that I may address the issue of your incorrect room allocation. Regards Samantha More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall we were impressed by our stay in the Maharani Tower. The room was well designed and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The included breakfast was excellent. The pool area, bars and restaurants in the Elangeni Tower were always busy. The pool on the roof of the Maharani Tower was sadly badly maintained and the water was misty rather than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in standards expereinced at the Maharani pool deck - your comments have been paased onto the maintenance team, for their immediate attention. I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I visited Durban during January and stayed at the Maharani. In 2014 I stayed at the Elangeni which I didn’t enjoy. The rooms were small and I felt claustrophobic. This year I stayed at the Maharani, which was excellent, Check in was Smooth , no problems with the parking, the room was lovely and breakfast at the hotel was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced during your recent stay. Your feedback has been passed onto the team in order for them to take the necessary corrective action. I am delighted that despite these shortcomings, you and your family enjoyed your stay and look... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel standards have Dropped. Room was in poor condition. Service was Terrible. Hotel standards have Dropped. Room was in poor condition. Service was Terrible. Hotel standards have Dropped. Room was in poor condition. Service was Terrible.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valauble feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards that you experienced during your recent stay. Your comments have been passed onto the team, in order that they take the necessary corrective steps to address these shortcomings. Regards Samantha More 

Gaborone, Botswana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

i stayed there for a few days during the busy vibe of durban july as a travel agaent hosted by South African tourism. and it never felt overcrowded. its located on the beach on the golden mile so you get some of the best views from your ocean facing rooms or when you are having one of thier hearty breakfasts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Samantha More 

Gauteng
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

rooms should be cleaned early notify client so of certain changes if there is any make sure we have sufficient towels in the festive season staff at breakfast should be more polite to the guest an there needs

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and valuable feedback. In order to ensure that we are able to meet the check-in time of 14h00 and so as to not disturb resident Guests too early, our housekeeping team focus on departure rooms first. You are however morethan welcome to make contact with the Executive Housekeeper in order... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the hotel during a business trip in November 2014. Check-in was easy and the staff very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the complimentary cold drinks and water very welcome on the warm and humid days. A very nice breakfast buffet is available - try the fresh pastries! The hotel is situated on the beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear of the unfortunate incident regarding your luggage going missing from your car- we do work quite closely with the City Metro Police in order to minimise these type of incidents. I am pleased that your stay at the hotel was good and that you enjoyed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (40)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay