We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Durban hotels

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani to your Saves list
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
76%
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Durban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
cajala2014 Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    247
    88
    36
    24
See reviews for
171
103
19
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (579)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four night vacation stay. Room clean and spacious for our needs, with a very comfortable bed and linen. Bathroom smallish, but more than adequate. Great location on the Durban beachfront with great views from our room. Fantastic staff. Used all the restaurants (Daruma, Jichana,Lingela,Vigour and Verve) and the food was excellent. Service was a little slow at the Panorama Bar,... More

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I decided to take my fiancé and her family out to the Elangeni for breakfast as it was the morning of her birthday. We arrived at around 9am and because we were not guests we did pay a rather steep price for breaky. That was fine considering we go there quite often and it's usually worth our while. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Maharani for a week. It was perfectly located with windows that open wide to enjoy fresh air and views of the ocean. Easy access to the beach promenade for walking and cycling, and to the local Durban tourism centre where there are great bus and walking tours available. I walked into the centre of town and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and managed to experience Durban as a City. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i've been staying at the maharni as part of the world youth chess championship. we are paying 300 bucks a room for two people including food versus the regular nightly rate of 150 bucks, so that's 150 bucks for 3 meals for 2 peopel. ok, for mahani food great, and it was for the first few days, but OMG it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As arrivals prior to Friday were arranged at short notice, all meals were offered in our usual buffet restaurant. As of Friday, the meals for all Guests attending the WYCC are offered in a separate venue, following the menu's as approved by the LOC. In hindsight, perhaps the menu served... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights during Indaba. First time to be there when full .... definetly a few cracks in the system ...waited 50 min for a steak ..somehow our order was lost but hats off to the waiter for keeping us amused .

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended a conference at the Elangeni in August. It's in a great location and can handle large numbers. The down side was simply that re corners and side halls are a little shabby and so you have a sense that it has seen better days. Staff were helpful though and it's in a safe and secure spot in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and a successful conference. The refurbishment of the bedrooms at the Elangeni tower forms part of the final phase of the refurbishment programme, which is due to commence in 2015. We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni... More

Alexandroupoli, Greece
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
105 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

nice hotel at nothernbeach part of Durban, The hotel is clean etc and has large rooms with standard decoration. Thruout the the whole hotel the age is really visible a renovation of the building would do great. great staff and good breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The bedrooms at the Elangeni tower form part of the final phase of our refurbishment programme, which is due to commence in 2015. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was very much disappointed at the service received from V & V . My company allocated funds for my dinner which felt that it was more than enough. I then decided to order take away equal to my allocation. I was told that I can not do that by the manager called SY. She persisted that the law says... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As a complex, we have a variety of dining options which are available to our Guests. Unfortunately, the menu's and facilities are not condusive to offering take-away meals. We do however, offer in-room dining for our Guests. Should a Guest have a specific meal requirement, our Duty Chef is available... More

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great experience, as for accessibility it is excellent. The staff there so helpful because when it comes to ramps I'm so afraid to use them but luckily they were more than willing to help me. The staff there is more than willing to walk an extra mile.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and that the team made you feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was excellent . I would like a no smoking room at all times. I like the Maharana side or both sides. News papers delivered in the rooms. Email: lucky.skhosana@transnet.net; Cell: 083 287 0555; NO ONE THAT I KNOW.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay. I have taken the liberty of updating your profile to reflect your preference for a non smoking room at the Maharani tower. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More

Do you own or manage Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 3*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Enlarge Map