We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

4.0 of 5 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Rate
Summer Sale
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    281
    99
    42
    28
See reviews for
192
116
22
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (661)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (165)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This branch of Southern sun would probably not survive in a first world setting and there is little chance it would be allowed the '4 star' rating it claims. To its major credit it has a fantastic site on Durban's prestigious beachfront and the city has gone to great and world class achievement in developing the promenade - I doubt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked 3 rooms for my family (2 standard rooms & 1 family room). Service was good. Room furnishing was very standard. The family room had the smallest TV I have ever seen in a hotel. Breakfast was lovely & there was enough for everyone. The service was also very good. Our shower was very good, had good water pressure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Maharani in a double room with two kids. We were told that this would suffice. The rooms didn't have adequate sitting or towels. There was only a one seater couch and a desk chair. The staff were friendly but have no initiative or follow through. They are not attentive - we had to ask for extra towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would to bring my family for vacation During this December My kid really like swimming and good food , so I think sourthern sum Elangeni is the the best , in future I would like to bring my parents as well

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

shower and air conditioning not working Could not be fixed by technical staff not all details of billing explained when doing telephonic booking terrible parking facilities restaurant excellent service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connecticut, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at Elangeni. Great location on beach front. Wonderful ocean views. Room was clean and comfortable but décor a little dated, especially bathrooms.. Staff was helpful. Pool seemed somewhat small and uninviting. Hotel is large and busy. Always lots of people in lobby. Breakfasts were amazing. So much food for all tastes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The bedrooms at Elangeni form part of the final phase of the refurbishment programme, which is due to commence in 2015. The bathrooms form part of the scope of works of this programme. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The warm welcome we had on our arrival in the morning on the 5th Dec, made us feel it was our second home. We initially booked at Elangeni, as we arrived early and also being tired from travelling with the kids we were offered the available room at Maharani. That's what we call ubuntu. We were on the 19th floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is close to the beach and all the rooms have great views. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the service very good. The breakfast provides a nice variety. A nice place to stay when in Durban.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you hada memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stone throw away from main beaches and activities. Rooms are immaculate and spacious. Bathrooms were clean. Breakfast is good and Halaal meals are available. I would advise patrons to book their breakfast at the restaurant itself rather than through the hotel - this is cheaper for the exact same thing. The hair salon is amazing if you in need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We have two different offerings for breakfast, with the most expensive being at Ocean Breeze. At Vigour & Verve, we have a slightly reduced offering at a cheaper rate. However, at the time... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service is top class and a plus is the pampering and attention that one gets from the staff. My first day at the hotel was welcoming, its as if they knew me before I came to the hotel. I was offered something to drink to cool relax me from the trip. Once i checked in one of the porters... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is indeed inspiring to hear that we made you feel at home throughout your stay and look forward to welcomingyou back whe nyou next travel to Durban. Regards Samantha More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 O.R.Tambo Parade | Durban Beachfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay