We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Court Marine Parade

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
167 Marine Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Garden Court Marine Parade
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Durban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
paulosm206 Pretoria, South Africa
Add Photo

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    82
    56
    22
    27
See reviews for
88
54
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (256)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

entire service was excellent except for welcoming entire service was excellent except for welcoming entire service was excellent except for welcoming entire service was excellent except for welcoming entire service was excellent except for welcoming

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Paulos, Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting your positive review. I do hope that you shall be back soon as the Hotel will be much better once we are finished with the refurbishment in June 2015. Our Best Regards John Aritho General Manager More 

Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its not always when one travels, you find the bliss of a hotel going through a re-vamp and still exceeding the customer satisfaction. Yes its understandable to have dust and clutter but always neatness, tidy and clean. The food was excellent during my stay and this review goes out to the Chef and his team

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Earl, What a refreshing review from you. It is wonderful to see that despite the renovations that we are undertaking, the Hotel was still able to deliver good quality of service amid a tidy environment. I shall definitely pass your wonderful comments to the Chef and his team and I am sure they will be very pleased with your... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To my surprise, Garden Court Marine Hotel was actually more enjoyable, with its fresh modern day look and feel. It's newly refurbished rooms is to class, I enjoyed my stay. My room had the best views, I wouldn't mind to come and stay here again. The food from the hotel restaurant is also delicious, big ups!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Doris, Thank you very much for such positive feedback and write up. It is fantastic to see that you had a great stay and you had a pleasant surprise. I do hope that you will make this your Hotel of choice when you are in Durban next. Best Regards John Aritho General Manager More 

Polokwane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well positioned next to the beach. All the rooms are sea facing with spectacular views of the seaboard. It closeness to most attractions makes it an ideal place to stay. The running/cycling paths on the beach are an added bonus for me.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mokibe, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I am very pleased to see that you had a great stay and that the Hotel's positioning worked well for you. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Best Regards John Aritho General Manager More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As usual this hotel did not fail to disappoint me in spite of the construction that takes place in the background. I must say that at breakfast Mannie Govender offered to clean our spectacles and he did an awesome job of updating us on the weather. Just the right thing to start our day.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Yuven, Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I am very glad that you had a good stay and that Mannie was of great assistance when you were here - he is a great character. I do look forward to your return for an even better stay soon again. Kind Regards John Aritho General Manager More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the lady who was receiving us from the front desk at breakfast was very rude, she didn't want us to use the tables, she kept on saying it was full when there were no people. I was very disappointed same applies to my kids.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay. I am very sorry to hear about the hostess and the incident that you had. We do sincerely apologise for that as it is not the norm at all. I shall ensure that this is not repeated going forth. Looking forward to your return for a much... More 

Underberg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very welcoming, the Rooms are warm and immaculately clean, with an excellent view to the Beach. Breakfast always sport-on Dinner has also improved a lot and the service is excellent thank you

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful comments. I am very glad that you have noticed the improvements that we have made so far. We are still working hard to improve the quality of service and attention to detail and we do hope that we shall see you back soon again. Kind... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was quite enjoyable; Service was average; Breakfast was the best compare to most Gardan Courts; Cleanliness was average due to renovetion taking place; Local was superb; Sleep quality is very much good;

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Sipho, Thank you very much for your very honest feedback. It is great to know that you had a good stay and it is my hope that you shall be back soon again. We should be complete with our renovations by the end of June and the Hotel will look fantastic and clean. Looking forward to welcoming you back... More 

Umzimkhuilu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I realy had a great stay ive been there before but this time it was so comfortable,the room was very beautiful as it has been renovated,the staff were very friendly and helpful.I will definitely come back again.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Nomzi, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful comments.. It is wonderful that you had a great stay and it our sincere wish that you shall be back soon for another superb stay soon. Best Regards John Aritho General Manager More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

I never knew that employees in hotels don't greet anymore; have a disgusting attitude towards its guests, and exploit its guests. The employees were not very helpful. The rooms have broken door latches. The STAFF & CLEANERS take preference over the GUEST elevators. They don't greet. They have a cold attitude towards the guests. The parking is the worst. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aritho, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your honest feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your needs in the right way and your comments will be used to ensure that we improve in the areas mentioned. There is no excuse for poor service and I will ensure that this is rectified going... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay