We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Durban hotels

Garden Court South Beach

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 O R Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Garden Court South Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Court South Beach to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Durban
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Lyann76 Taunton, Massachusetts
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    100
    99
    26
    31
See reviews for
146
64
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (335)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Taunton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were very pleased with our stay. Ocean views and breakfast were the best!! Only disappointment was no fridge in the room as we were traveling with an infant whose milk required refrigeration. Nevertheless, we made due and had a blast! Thank you to hotel staff. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nquthu
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my card did not appear on your sister im not sure if I lost out on points as a result of that. I like the fact that the rooms were clean and. the pool area must close atleast after 20:00 cz we come back late at the hotel. was sad that I could not go swim as a results of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ bongiwem2015 Thank you for your review and comments. We will follow up on your stay and ensure your points are rewarded. Please email me your details and card number on wayne.smith@tsogosun.com. From a safety aspect we close the pool at the time when it starts to get dark, as this is an unmonitored area. We are glad you appreciate... More 

umtata
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very helpful and kind, even arranging for us to check in earlier than 14H00 on our arrival. The room had a very welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed the pool but it is very small. Breakfast was also good, especially that there was guava juice on request.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ mzwekayadindlili Thank you for the review and comments. We are delighted you had a good overall stay and experience and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Wayne More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A satisfactory holiday. I normally stay at elangeni and enjoy the halal breakfast there. It would be nice if south beach could also offer a halal breakfast. Lifts were a huge problem daily and the wait was always very frustrating......

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ faeezav2015 Thank you for your comments and review. We are planning a major upgrade of our lifts this year, which will greatly speed up their efficiency and service. We apologise for the frustration caused by this. We appreciate your other comments and they are noted. Kind regards Wayne More 

Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1.Offer more to frequent guests as they are loyal and frequently use the Garden Court South Beach Hotel. 2.More parking should be available and frequent guests should get preference. 3. There should be more parking and preference given to frequent guests

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ GanasG Thank you for the review. We are aware of the challenges with the shortage of parking and are considering further options to try and limit the inconvenience caused to our guests. We apologise for the frustration as a result of this. We will further also discuss your reccommedations as a management team. Kind regards Wayne More 

Randburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Condition of rooms need to be looked at and staff need to be more helpfull and efficient. Bathroom door was broken and paint was coming of wall .... windows was not clean. It took me over 1 hour to check in and there is not enough parking for the number of guest the hotel accomodates.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ lovindrenc Thank you for the review and further comments, which we did receive directly also. I assure you we do take these comments seriously and are working hard on our offering and improving the overall experience. We are disappointed we did not live up to your expectations. With renewed apologies and kind regards Wayne More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at Garden Court was superb, in my opinion everything went well from reception staff to the cleaning staff. Wow the hotel is close to beach and public transport. However, I think rooms should be provided with fridges. I enjoyed my stay!!!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ jabulanim2015 Thank you for the review and comments. You will be delighted to know we are busy starting a roll out of fridges in the rooms, which will continue throughout the year. Should you return soon, please request one and we will most certainly assist. Kind regards Wayne More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My only problem was that, my wife only worked the next day, it was connected, but stayed on always on with no action, the hotel is very family friendly, a good spot for kids,Thank you very much. will be

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ nonhlanhlam2015 Thank you for the review. We will most certainly look into the WI-FI and ensure it is realiable and stable. Kind regards Wayne More 

Johannesburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over December 2014 I put together a last-minute getaway to Durban. Sticking with the brand I know, we booked a 1 week stay at the Garden Court - South Beach. We would later learn that GC - South Beach is situated in a holiday maker's sweet spot. With a 2 minute walk to the City of Durban's new bus service,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ Desmond H We are delighted you had a good stay and an awesome holiday. Thank you for the review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Wayne More 

jhb
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

being a recent tsogo member i expected that aside from the discount i would be given a decent family room.i was thrown into a tiny family room,when i complained at the front desk the manager on sight said......for the price you paid thats the room you get so dont talk to me as though im your door mat becos ill... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review

@ zahidaa2015 Thank you for your review and comments - we have also received directly and responded accordingly. Again we do apologise for not meeting and exceeding your expectations and trust we have already made improvements. Kind regards Wayne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 O R Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay