We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Charmoy Estate Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
3 Coniston Ridge | Canelands, Durban 4339, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
De Charmoy Estate Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at De Charmoy for one night after our flight from Dubai to Durban before continuing our trip by road to Uvongo. It's a beautiful place, green and lush and it hosts quite a few animals including a very old tortoise. The staff were incredibly friendly, breakfast was delicious and they even provided us with dinner as we arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alina D
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here just one night prior to an early flight. This hotel is beautiful, friendly staff and great food. They even organised an airport transfer. Could not recommend this place enough, wish we could staff longer! Price as advertised inclusive of any charges etc.

Helpful?
Thank Simon N
Bocholtz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Great lodge and beautiful garden. Dinner en breakfast very tasty. We stayed here because we took an inland flight from Durban to Port Elizabeth. We had no real expectations but it was one of the best lodges we stayed in, in South Africa. We enjoyed it a lot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E1762QYjohnb
Durbanville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Everything was great I was just unhappy to pay R200 for a bowl of spaghetti for dinner I think this was not inline . The location to the airport is great ,the rooms was excellent and the service was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johannm943
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Room - Excellent Food - Excellent Honestly,a home away from home I stayed in the Palm room (initial booking and special request the second time). Will use the place and recommend more people to stay there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NqobileMazibukoMnbCA
Mulhouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

I was there 5 days / nights excellent welcome rooms / very clean good standing nicely decorated TV Wifi all included feeling close to family trust etc.. price very fair close to the airport outside Durban nice park with beautiful view cuisine excellent house made

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 638yvese
4231sadie, General Manager at De Charmoy Estate Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you - we enjoyed your Company too. Happy Travels. Warm Regards from us all. More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

Excellent accommodation. Very clean and very neat. Very well organised operation. Paperwork was in place on arrival and everything was organised for our early morning departure. Security man very friendly, helped with the baggage, keys and opening of the gate. Within 5 minutes drive from the airport, what more do you want? Most definitely worth visiting again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 167ansies
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We spent one night at this guest house. The room was stylishly furnished. There is no mirror in the room or near the electrical point, so blow drying of hair had to be done without a mirror. The surroundings are not spectacular and the airport noise was disturbing. Breakfast was disappointing. We arrived at 08:50 and all the tables were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leon S
4231sadie, Owner at De Charmoy Estate Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Leon S, thank you for your review we always appreciate feed back from our Guests.. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we always take great pride in ensuring positive Guest experiences. We will attend to the issues brought up in your review regarding the breakfast and mirror. Warm Regards from the Management... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

This is a lovely place with beautiful gardens, lovely rooms and staff as nice as you will find. We only spent a short time here before a flight from the airport close by but wished we could have spent longer. There is a menagerie in the garden. The rooms are very well-appointed and the dinner they arranged for us was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

I had an early morning flight our of Durban King Shaka so stayed here for the second time. I arrived after 7pm and departed before 6am. Rooms are top notch (not the usual "rough around the edges" that you generally find around Afrcia.) Reception girls were very friendly and helpful. They even took me to Nando's to get some food.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JRHawley
4231sadie, General Manager at De Charmoy Estate Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind Words. We are very proud of our staff and happy that you enjoyed your stay for the second time. We look forward to hosting you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
11.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#9 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
15.2 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Ridgeview Lodge
Ridgeview Lodge
#18 of 253 in Durban
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rain Farm Game and Lodge
15.3 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#66 of 253 in Durban
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay