We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rain Farm Game and Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Esenembe Road | Farm 9, Durban 4390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rain Farm Game and Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an awesome time, so relaxed and the staff is all so helpful and very Good. Madelein, Anele Bheki and Armand Excellent staff The game drive was brilliant with so many things Armand told us that we did not know. The food was excellent and service 5 star.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Braam M
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We take such pride in the service delivery we offer at Rain Farm and it is wonderful to hear that you experienced this with our staff while you were here. Armand is very passionate about the farm and the animals and loves to share his knowledge... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Travelling with family took a game drive with Rain Farm. Very well informed guide Armande took us round the reserve - saw Giraffes Zebra Springbok Warthog Ostrich Emu Wildebeast Impala to name but a few. Located just over half an hors drive from Durban recommed highly for a great day out.

Helpful?
Thank M155EEL
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the game drive with us and that Armand was able to share his knowledge with you and that you were able to see so many of the animals we have on the farm. Thank you for choosing Rain Farm Game & Lodge,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited Rain Farm as it was the closest to Durban. It's only small in terms of game farms but was superb. The drive was a good experience and the whole place was beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. All in all it would be highly recommended if you haven't got the time to go to one of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. it is wonderful to hear that you got to enjoy a game drive with us, all our rangers are so passionate about the farm and animals and absolutely love sharing their knowledge with our guests. Being only 15 minutes away from Ballito it is so quick... More 

Durban
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is good, especially the steak wrap and chicken burgers. Kids loved being able to swim before/ after lunch. It is a very relaxing place for a Sunday lunch. We enjoyed eating on the veranda overlooking wildebeest and buck in the distance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Louki C
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Our restaurant area is divine for a Sunday lunch and we are so glad you enjoyed the view of the rolling hills and animals in the distance. The swimming pool and kiddies play area is great to keep the kiddies busy before their food arrives, it... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place , peaceful the best place to go away for a nice quiet getaway , great staff, food good , watching the animals every morning was just something else we definitely enjoyed it. Game drive is a must I must say we learnt a lot , the stairs to the river whew don't tempt it if u not keen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharlzmk
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you ever want to experience life out of the city and away from the hassle of day to day life then Rain Farm Game and Lodge is for you. Endless views. Wildlife at your doorstep, Restaurant and bar area accommodates for all, an amazing swimming pool that over looks the valley or even just a simple BBQ (Braai) makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melvin G
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here at Rain Farm and that you made the most of all the facilities we have to offer. We pride ourselves in offering a peaceful environment where guests can recharge away from the hustle... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pretty landscape sweet seeing some animals. Tent was spacious comfy big bed nice mosquito net clean big bathroom large deck space. This place is better for a 1-2 night get away. 6 nights was too long. They need more and better quality activities. Staff friendly and sweet and helpful. Kitchen needs to speed up. Menu is really boring after 1... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank francesca178
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in the tents, these are a firm favorite with guests. This year we will be revising all of our menus and hope they will be released by the end of March this year. We are a growing lodge and... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent two nights at Rain Farm in one of the self catering, dam-facing units with our 19-month old. The big negative was the lack of an air-con. We really battled with the heat in the room at night time even with the fan on full blast. We would much rather have had an air-con than a tv. But otherwise... More 

Helpful?
Thank donaloriain
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rain farm Accomdation and activities are excellent , food was disappointing and I won't ever order from the chef , seems like the food is off ,staff is exceptionally kind and warm , overall good stay ,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joelj243
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear hat you enjoyed the accommodation and activities that we offer. Thank you for the feed back with regards to the food, we always get such wonderful reviews about the food from guests and we do apologies for the bad experience you had,... More 

durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

I came to the rain farm game and lodge to get away from the city. it was beautiful waking up to the wildlife and the entertainment available is great. I did the self catering option and had a pedicure and went for dinner at their restaurant one of the days. I enjoyed being there. I believe i have found my... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nomfezeko
RainFarmGameLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Rain Farm Game and Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad to hear that Rain Farm was the break away from the city life you needed. We pride ourselves in creating a peaceful and tranquil environment where guests can get away and recharge. Our self-catering units are wonderful and fully equipped for all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
26.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#9 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
25.8 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
27.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Edward
Protea Hotel Edward
#10 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
26.1 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
26.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay