We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa

40 Muhatma Gandhi Road, Beachfront, Durban 4069, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Docklands Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had an unforgettable wedding - Durban style at the Waterfront Hotel and Spa. We took a rickshaw form Durban beachfront and arrived at the hotel reception to greet our 200 guests, who had been delighting in craft beer, champaign and canapes in the courtyard. Our favourite dishes were prepared perfectly - it was difficult not to serve a second... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abigail K
Randfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to report that this beautiful hotel is the best place to stay. It is luxurious, has a nice restaurant that serves lovely cuisine. Staff is very friendly. it is also not to far from Shaka Marine World, which is not only a world class aquarium but also a water theme park. I truly would like to urge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank waldosteyn
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was well placed within walking distance to the Ushaka marine world. it was a safe walk, the streets were well lit and there was security at the boom gates outside the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was well organised and had a good spread. The staff were friendly and helpful. We wanted some ice... More 

Helpful?
Thank waterbaby23
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been using the hotel for the past 3 years, and every year the hotel is something new and more advanced. The rooms are spotless clean and the staff provides excellent services. It never disappoints........

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dineom2016
Westville, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Wodka restaurant and I must say how surprised we were! A stunning gem in a dirty part of town. Bit on the pricey side but their big portions make up for it. Definitely worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank xyracire
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

my experience at three cites hotel room: when we checked into our room we were welcome by the stench of a smelly toilet,judging from the tiles of the bathroom its seemed as though they forgot to clean that part of the room.To top it all the air con in our room was not working .We notified the receptionist twice,who came... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kgahliso
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Lovely contemporary hotel. Very hospitable staff. Our superior room overlooked the harbor. Stunning views and an awesome hotel. The restaurant (Wodka) is out of this world, from the comfy sofas, to the beautiful mirrors, bar and decor. The food is exceptional and the service excellent. We had the lamb shank and prawn stir-fry, 10 out of 10 for taste and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tammy_M800
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

It is in the new regenerated Harbour area of Durban, but 3km’s up the road it is still a seedy red light district. Advantages, If you only want to enjoy the beach and Umshaka Marine world or business, then this hotel is ideal. Easy safe walking distance to the beach and Umshaka Marine world. No shopping facilities are close buy.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John L
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

My wife and I tried unsuccessfully over 4days to set-up a meeting with the General Manager. When we approached him in the lobby, he was too busy to meet - and several follow-up requests (via email and telephonically) went unanswered. Very poor style. And perhaps indicative of the attitude.

Helpful?
Thank ActiveTraveler48
JacoSV, Manager at Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear ActiveTraveler48, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am disappointed to learn that you had been waiting for a meeting with me without any luck for 4 days. We always endeavour to attend to all guest requests as soon as possible and always ensure that there is a responsible manager on duty available to our guests at all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

We got 2 rooms on the same floor. When we entered them it was realy warm inside and the aircon wasn't working. So we informed reception and they wold us someone will show up and check it. No one showed up in the rooms! 2hours late we phoned reception and they told us that they are working on it on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.6 mi away
Three Cities Riverside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Edward
Protea Hotel Edward
#10 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#26 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#9 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay