We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Durban hotels

Three Cities Docklands Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Muhatma Gandhi Road, Beachfront, Durban 4069, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Three Cities Docklands Hotel to your Saves list
Three Cities Docklands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
51%
Ranked #24 of 43 hotels in Durban
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
liyabee East London
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    13
    11
    12
See reviews for
11
22
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I couldn't give this hotel a very good review, but its a good hotel overall and definitely not awful. The area is recovering from ruins so the first concern for a traveller would be the outside look and feel of the hotel and the surrounding area, but there are good new-look upmarket sky scrapper apartments surrounding the hotel that could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your recent review on your stay with us here at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel. The Docklands Hotel is a unique product merging the Historical Durban Point Precinct with Urban Industrial architecture. Our product does cater to the Young and forward thinking guest, yet with our refurbishment that we are undertaking currently, we are softening the feel of... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Given that this is a Three Cities Hotel, you'd expect a decent experience but I was left terribly disappointed. Quite a few things went wrong. To start off with, the hotel is being renovated and there are contractors all over the show - this was not communicated beforehand. When we arrived at the hotel after a long day's work, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Three Cities Docklands Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations for your stay with us here at the Three Cities Docklands Hotel. On the note of the Night Market, I would like to inform you that this market has... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Its a Beautiful hotel, modern furnished and the breakfast was really tasty. Infortunately the location is poor when you are there for visiting the city as a tourist. We had a pitched noise coming from the air conditioner. And the staff did not care about it. Whe I give them a second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fran Gabiatti, Thank you for your recent review of the Three Cities Docklands Hotel. Our guest’s feedback is of utmost importance to us and we value your input regarding your recent experience. The Durban Point Waterfront area is in the City Rejuvenation area and is moving towards hosting new and dynamic zone within the greater Durban Precinct. Offering prime... More

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we first arrived we were not sure if we would like this hotel, but as we became more familiar with it we began to enjoy it very much. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. It is a hotel in progress and they are working very hard to please their guests. The location to the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theatersandy, Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel. Our Guest’s experience is a key factor in our success, and feedback is our key measurement tool. Your comments regarding your stay show that we have created another fan of the Three Cities Docklands Hotel and we are humbled that you... More

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Driving down the old point road with the plan to stay in a hotel in that area would be something I would never consider a couple of years ago. However, even with the conflicting new and old in the area the Docklands Hotel is an urban gem. The rooms are very comfortable and the decor is unique and quite frankly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Y_JDP, Thank you for your current review of the Three Cities Docklands Hotel. You positive comments will be passed through to the team here at the Three Cities Docklands Hotel, and we hope to welcome your back in the near future. Kind Regards Andrew Merrill General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Although The Docklands is located in an ideal spot, overlooking Durban harbour, there is little to be said for it, aside from its aesthetic value. I can confidently say this was the most badly run hotel we've ever stayed in!!! We couldn't check into our room until 5.30 as there was no linen?! The mattress cover was stained in urine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 201Liana, Thank you for your review on the Trip Advisor Website. We apologise that we did not meet your expectations as our guest, and that you experienced may problems during your stay with us here in December. We are in the process of working with our owners on a rectification project as we have had a server water pressure... More

chippenham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having left it to the last minute to go to Durbs for a holiday we found this little gem of a hotel. Its almost next door to UShaka and easy to get to the beach and a quick walk to town. The room was superb and the breakfasts as good as I have had anywhere in Europe or America. Excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the Trip Advisor Website. Our constant goal is to provide our guests with an exceptional experience at the Three Cities Docklands Hotel and we thank you for your acknowledgement of your recent stay with us will be passed through to them members of the Docklands Team. Once again, thank you for your feedback and... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was a complete disappointment,the aircon was leaking, by the 1st morning the carpet was soaked. the towels and duvet were stained and the attitude from management was totally dont care. Disgusted. We were also advised that we cannot get extra towels, we had to use a single towel 3 times before it was replaced !

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anaidu, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise of any ill experience that you had during your stay with us here at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel. Our standards require that all towels are replenished once daily and we will be investigating... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We chose the Docklands Hotel due to the close proximity to Durban Port from where we had to embark on a cruise ship. Found a great special on a booking website and did not expect much at the price. Was currently surprised. And the surprise started before we even arrived. I phoned the hotel to find out about charges for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and we welcome all feedback to ensure that we constantly improve on our Guest Experience. Our location to the Durban Cruise Terminal has made us a popular choice for guests arriving and departing on cruises from Durban. We hope that we will be able to... More

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in early summer during December which is typically very hot and humid in Durban. We loved the hotel ambience and service but hated the fact that the aircon in the room didn't work all weekend and the loud music from the club down the road went on till the very early hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at Three Cities Docklands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the Trip Advisor website. Your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us have been noted, and we welcome all feedback in order to constantly improve our Guest Experience. We have of recent managed to attend to our Air-conditioning Problems in the hotel, and are happy to advise that our guests now will... More

Been to Three Cities Docklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Docklands Hotel

Address: 40 Muhatma Gandhi Road, Beachfront, Durban 4069, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Cities Docklands Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Three Cities Docklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Docklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.