We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Africa Regent Guest House

Hotel website
24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Africa Regent Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Africa Regent Guest House
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
36
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my 2night stay at this guesthouse. It is located in a quiet neighborhood. The hosts are really friendly and the breakfast is freshly prepared. The guesthouse has a nice bar located at a pool which gives you a subtropical feeling. Next time when I will visit Durban I will use this Guesthouse again, It is highly recommended by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really very nice English people Typical British experience ,we even could play the pool while drinking beers, but with an African touch! The pool is nice We had the biggest room on top floor with a nice view on the ocean The breakfast was delicious

Was this review helpful? Yes
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

There is nothing more rewarding than positive feedback from a guest. Thank you so much for such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed our Penthouse Suite and our English Breakfast. We are also pleased we were able to give you a great impression during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

My second visit and will now be my place of choice when staying in DBN. Rooms are big and spotlessly clean. Breakfast fantastic and all at a really competitive price. When I compare the overall experience as well as the cost I cannot understand why people still use impersonal and overpriced hotels. See you again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for another excellent review Grant. Thank you also for the confidence you have shown in us, it's greatly appreciated. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeper and to the chef (my wife). You are always welcome and we look forward to your return. Warm Regards Dave & Pam The Africa Regent Team. More 

London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

My wife and I were visiting her brother and his family in Durban for Xmas and New Year 2014, and he recommended this superb guest house as nearby lodgings. We were not disappointed. In the Africa Regent, proprietors Dave and Pam perfectly marry high-end boutique with a friendly family-run vibe. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and artfully decorated, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

WOW Rob. Thank you for a fantastic review its much appreciated. It was great having you both stay with us over the festive season and even though you had a busy schedule, we enjoyed the moments we were able to chat with you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking. We... More 

Austria
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Pam and Dave really created a wonderful guesthouse, with all a guest can wish for: Great breakfast, nice lounge, good internet, welcoming hosts, quiet nabourhood, good food places in walking distance, secured parking, stylish interieur, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review, we are so pleased that all was to your liking and that you held us in such high esteem. Much appreciated. We always strive to reach the highest standard and to create a relaxed homely but unique atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam... More 

Kuwait City
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I found Africa Regent only after researching on Trip Advisor. Rarely does a guest house live up to such lofty reviews. Africa Regent exceeded any expectations and so much more. At the time of my visit, the owners were off travelling and had left 2 superstars, Andre and Jack, in charge in their absence. Service was excellent, helpful and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. Much appreciated and we are sure fellow travelers will find this informative.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us Patrick and that Jack & Andre looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back and meeting you the next time you are in Durban. Jack & Andre send their... More 

Livingston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The owners Dave and Pam have the very best B&B we ever stayed in, they make you feel so much at home, it is so clean, in a wonderful safe location. Absolutely, no problem or question is to small or large they will spend as little or large amount of time with you explaining what to do and where to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Robert. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting the attractions and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed our chats with you both and the exchange of experiences. It is always a pleasure to interact with our guests. We look forward to your return in the future. Warm Regards Dave & Pam... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great hosts, clean and comfortable rooms and lovely breakfast. Nice safe area. Home away from home. What more could you want from a guest house. Will be back again and will strongly recommend.Thanks Dave

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and high score, much appreciated. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home and we attended to you well. We always try to create this type of atmosphere of homely relaxation and free movement in the guest house. We look forward to having you stay with us again... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days at this B&B in August 2013, the owners Dave and Pam are more than willing to offer their time in any way possible, the guest house is very neat and clean, the breakfasts are delicious and more than plenty, Dave and Pam take alot of care in making sure their guests are comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and what we had to offer. Also that you were pleased with the Penthouse and had chance to visit our local restaurants. I passed your comments onto our staff who were delighted for the appreciation of their hard work. Pam said to tell you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We feel we hit the jackpot with this outstanding B&B. Having stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday,we really looked forward to coming back for the last 2 nights a little later on. Dave & Pam are superb hosts and the accommodation is excellent in every way. We stayed in the penthouse suite at first and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you. What a great review and so informative. We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and what we have to offer our guests. We really enjoyed having you here and chatting with you both. It is good to get such detailed feedback on aspects which we are accustomed to dealing with daily in a professional... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question