We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Happy Hippo Accommodation

3.0 of 5 222 Mahatma Gandhi Road (previously Point Road), Durban 4001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Hippo Accommodation
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Happy Hippo Accommodation
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
21
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for one night in December and I really enjoyed my stay. The layout of the hostel is like a large loft apartment and this gives it a really social vibe. The dorm I stayed in was a decent size and the adjacent bathrooms were big enough but could do with a good clean. No food is provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i had an overall great stay at Happy Hippo.. the space is contemporary had a gallery feel to it, living areas were always clean and the staff were helpful. its location is just great!! walking distance from restaurants and the beach, even a service station for a late night snack if needed made my stay relaxed because there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

very clean and beautifully designed hostel at a very affordable price. helpful staff that can organize touristy tours, airport transport etc. for you. location is top, (the area doesn't look too appealing from the outside, but don't be underterred by that) walkong distance to ushaka marine world and the beaches. for everything else in town, i recommend travelling by taxi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Rebekka K, Positive feedback such as yours is always a big motivator for us, the staff asked me to pass on their regards and hope that your travels continue to be happy and successful. Whenever you are back in Durban be sure to look us up. Thank you for your review. Michael Brooks More 

Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Describing Happy Hippo as a backpackers lodging facility is an understatement. This place looks like an urban loft apartment, but just for up to 65 people, yet the vibe is very relaxed. The facilities are excellent and staff always friendly. Best of all, it is only a 2 min walk to uShaka Marine World!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi LeonSteyn55, What a great review! Thank you for taking the time out to review the Happy Hippo. You have truly grasped what we were trying to achieve 9 years ago. Happy Hippo is evolving every day and when we receive such positive reviews it spurs us on to be even better! Thank you again, Michael Brooks More 

Milano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Very nice and clean hostel, kitchen is very clean and handy. Staff are also very friendly and the manager simply lovely! Since I wasn't able to find the taxi rank to sodwana bay he offered himself to take me there with his car the next morning! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Valesnail, Wow thank you very much for the review, it seems that the hard work that our staff are putting in, is really starting to pay off. Our staff can hold their heads up high and be proud of what they are achieving. Thank you again. Michael Brooks More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I stayed here one night and overall it was fine. The location is OK being close to the beach and to Ushaka Marine World where there's plenty of eateries. It's only a short walk to the main beach which is fairly quiet but I guess, in time, the place will get a bit more life. (Durban striked me as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to review the Happy Hippo. Your favourable comments are most welcome and we would love to host you again. Michael Brooks More 

Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

After travelling South Africa for three months I can honestly say the Happy Hippo was the ONE. It was what made Durban so special for me. The owners are the two most genuine people I have ever met - they looked after us in ways that go beyond the extra mile. Firstly they helped myself and my companion buy a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Wow! James and Cameron thank so much for your excellent review. It always rewarding making our guests feel so comfortable. Its true that we got to help you guys out but its something that was made easy by dealing with easy and happy go lucky guests. It was a pleasure to host you and we can only hope that by... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

My stay at Happy Happy was good enough. The whole place was clean. The kitchen was sparkling for a backpacker, but the place balances it out with dirty walls from bedroom to bar (odd). They do effort with trying to make it look nice, it has free tea and coffee (with fresh milk), a roof top bar, lots of chill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Anelda, Thank you for taking your time to review our lodge, you have pointed out some very positive points about our place and we thank you for that. However I am confused about your dirty walls comment. We are very aware that they could do with a lick of paint due to the high amount of traffic we have,... More 

George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I only stayed for one night waiting for a flight. Not a glamorous location, but just a short walk from Ushaka Marine World and the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful and I'd be happy to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Dan, Thank you for reviewing our hostel, we are happy that you found our lodge convenient and our staff friendly. We would be extremely pleased to host you again if you return to Durban Thanks again, Michael Brooks More 

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

But I wouldn't chose to stay again. Really close to the beach! In an industrial area, of car garages and breakers yards, not the best area. No food shops or restaurants nearby, unless you count the restaurants by Ushaka Marine World. There is a small touristy mall there too. Nothing much to see without a considerable walk. No key to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Victoria K, Thank you for taking the time out to review our lodge, sorry you did not enjoy it as much as we would have liked. I would just like to clarify a couple of things, the area we are located in is going through a regeneration phase and not all facilities have been put in place yet. Transport... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Happy Hippo Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hippo Accommodation

Address: 222 Mahatma Gandhi Road (previously Point Road), Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Hippo Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Happy Hippo Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay