We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Happy Hippo Accommodation

222 Mahatma Gandhi Road (previously Point Road), Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Happy Hippo Accommodation
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    52
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
26
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This would be a good choice of accommodation as part of your Baz Bus trip or staying over a few nights in Durbs. Very clean and comfortable rooms with good en-suite facilities. Only a 10 minute walk to the Durban beachfront.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Estcourt, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had an awesome fabulous time at the happy hippo..... The staff is a friendly joyful bunch of peeps...... Our room was very neat an tidy..... The atmosphere is always welcoming... The rooftop bar is awesome,.... very friendly bar personnel. You get to see wicked sunsets from the roof.,,,,, close to the beach to witness those magnificent early morning sunrises......... Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Suaifa A, Thank you for taking the time out to review our lodge. I'm not sure how to respond to such a superb review, other than thank you so much for recognising the good work my staff do and highlighting the great location we are situated in. It will only be a pleasure to host you again and we... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in July 2015. The minute we walked in we weren't really impressed with the set up. We specifically asked for a en-suite room but that was not the case. The kitchen and bathrooms are communal which was not ideal for us. The room we had wasnt really homely. There was a mouse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Madomise M, I must congratulate you on the most inaccurate review we have had to date. We can prove via your email correspondence that you never once asked for an ensuite room and unfortunately my staff are not able to read what our customers are thinking just from their emails. Your expectations clearly far outweigh your budget, as the... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The accommodation itself was definitely more along the lines of 4 stars, as it was very clean and an overall nice place. We stayed in the triple room for 3 nights. Only complaint about our room was that our light was broken, and they said they would fix it and never did (we stayed there 3 nights). However, they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Hannah T, Thank you for your review, we feel your pain. We are extremely sorry for your inconveniences regarding your booking and payment. We have looked into these problems,the light debacle happened because it is an industrial light fan and we had to call in the company who supplied them, unfortunately we were at the mercy of their specialist... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Really friendly and efficient staff. Really clean. Nice bar. I fully recommend this hostel. It is really near to the beach and restaurants. We stayed here with a tour group and I was glad it ended here. I am sorry we didn't stay longer in Durban.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi David M, Thank you for the fantastic review, it makes it all worthwhile when we can make our customers as happy as we made you. It would be a pleasure to host you again when you are back in Durban. Regards, Michael Brooks More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

Everything about this place was nice. Clean showers and bathrooms, clean dorms, closer to attractions in Durban, pleasant staff with good service, working wifi, laundry service. We had such a pleasant time and the owner answered all the questions we had about Durban. She made sure we had all the answers we needed. Right by the beach near nice restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Petped, Thanks you for the superb review, our staff are over the moon that they made your stay a pleasurable one. We are also glad you liked the hostel and we would love to host you again. Thank you, Michael Brooks More 

Good Thunder, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I loved the space that this backpackers occupies. We had a few surprises: one of the rooms charged/booked for us was occupied, and it took awhile (while we were very tired) to sort this out. In the morning, the desk clerk insisted we return the key for the room that was otherwise occupied. The other glitch was that our guide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

HI BeckyFjellandDavis, I would like to thank you for your objective yet positive review, I have investigated the room situation and taken appropriate action to stop confusion from our side like that happening again. Also with the bar situation, our bar staff had closed up but were waiting for your arrival in reception, we had been asked by your guide... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I only spent one night at the Happy Hippo while passing through Durban in transit, but it was a very enjoyable stay. I really liked the warehouse-turned-hostel feel of the place. It was very spacious with high ceilings and lots of different lounge areas. I stayed in a private room and it was very comfortable - perfect for a couple.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Audrey B for a really positive and good review, we look forward to hosting you again if you are ever in Durban. Once again thanks for your kind words. Regards, Michael Brooks More 

Cullinan, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I stayed at Happy Hippo in Durban south beach, during Durban tourism indaba 2015 it was great. It's just a walking distance from uShaka marine, restaurants, Durban harbour, etc. The staff is so helpful, kind and awesome!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Fundani-fundani, Thanks for your great review, making people happy is what we try to do, so when we have reviews such as yours it makes it all worthwhile. Thanks again, Michael Brooks More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Checked in at happy hippo for 2 nights. nice, large and clean accomodation. Car park behind te gate is wonderfull service. Wifi is good and 2hrs per day free of charge. Therfore the network does not get crowded. It is 500meters away from Ushaka waterpark, and the beach. The rooftop bar is a nice place to have a drink. Laundry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this review

Hello Brendv, Thanks for taking the time out to review our hostel. I'm very glad you had a good stay with us, I can only apologise for the pool table, it is old and in need of replacement, I am in negotiations with the supplier of the table as we have a contract with them. Hopefully we will have a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#10 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
1.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Edward
Protea Hotel Edward
#7 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#4 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 42 in Durban
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay