We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge

5 Nelson Palmer Rd, Durban 4126, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    9
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely helpful staff, very nice rooms, very clean. Views of the beach from decking area. Nice restaurant. There was a Zulu cooking lesson going on the night we stayed and it seemed they always had something planned to entertain there guests. Shared kitchen for guests. Swimming pool. Baz bus stop!! Would recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Emily, Thanks a lot for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as food at Blue Sky Mining. Hope to seeing you again in future. Wishing you all the best. Romy More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We stayed in the Great White Self Catering cottage at BSM and it was good value for money. We were given a warm welcome on arrival, checked in and shown around by a very friendly and chatty lady. Our self catering cottage was basic (wooden floors/walls etc) but clean and well kept. The only real problem we had with it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Frankie & Rob, Thank you very, very much for your positive comment with regards to your stay at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy your short stay overall. Indeed, the dogs can be quite annoying - during the day as well as at night. We will try to address... More 

Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Brilliant stay a year later at the slef catering unit with my family. staff always very polite and helpful.Very convenient to the beach with many sites to choose from. Food was good and recommend restaurants in the area were perfect.will make this a yearly tradition. Brie from the slef catering unit is awesome to say the least. Very nearly keet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Daryl, Thank you very, very much for your lovely comments! We are very glad to hear to you and your family enjoyed your second stay with us! Wishing you a great weekend and hope to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Romy More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

On arrival already did not receive a warm welcome. Rooms as expected, clean and maintained. For a backpackers the vibe was terrible, not because of the guests but staff were unacommadating. The view is wonderfull, what a shame about the service. Wont see me again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Magriet, First of all, my apologies for taking so long to respond to your review. We are very sad to hear that you were unhappy with the service received. In fact, our staff is known to be very friendly and helpful as per many guest's comment received especially at the end of last year! NB: December is a very... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

A secret little heaven along the coast. Thank you Fiona for excellent service and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The view was spectacular and bunny chow was very tasteful. Very clean rooms and good security. You will see us again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Tanja, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and food at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge! Hope to seeing you again in future. Best Regards, Romy More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We originally planned on staying a day or two, but kept extending our stay. They were busy, so every time we extended we had to change rooms, but that wasn't a problem. It meant we were able to experience different parts of Blue Sky mining. They have lots of ideas/knowledge about activities in Kwazulu Natal. They helped up book diving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so, so much for your awesome feedback regarding your recent stay at Blue Sky Mining! It is great to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us even though you had been moved around a lot=) NB: Would you be so kind as to please re-confirm the name of the room as per your recommendations as... More 

Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved this place which is across the road from Warner Beach. Went with out 3 & 1 year old and they loved the place didn't want to leave . Food was good and staff very friendly. A place well looked after on a daily basis and many returning guests who have nothing but good things to say. This plZce should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Daryl and Leyla, Thank you very, very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge! It is great to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay to the fullest! Indeed, it is hard work and very time consuming to maintain the premises - however, certainly worthwhile doing by receiving comments... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I spent one week in this beautiful and well-run place. The rooms are super clean and serviced on a daily basis. The food, especially the Indian bunny chows are superb. We were greeted by Fiona an amazing employee who we believe was the supervisor/manager as she looked after us during the entire stay. Both the rock pools... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Christine and Mark, Thank you very, very much for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at Blue Sky Mining! We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with room, grounds, facilities and services rendered at Blue Sky Mining! And yes, it is a "MUST" to try a traditional "Bunny Chow" as it is one of the most... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is one of my favourite backpackers. The rooms and the staff are very nice. They serve good food for a good price. Between the houses lays a beautiful garden with two pools. The decoration of the house is unique.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Leandra, Thank you very much for your awesome comment!!! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the food served at Blue Sky Mining! We hope to seeing you again in future. Wishing you a "Happy Easter"=) All the best, Romy More 

Saint Lucia, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We've only stayed here for one night but we were VERY sad to go! Blue Sky Mining is an unbelievable backpackers. Friendly staff, a great restaurant and well stocked bar - at very reasonable prices! The rooms are very well maintained and from our side, really not one complaint! You REALLY have to go out of your way to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Jaenie and Gerda, Thank you very, very much for your lovely feedback! It is great to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay to the fullest! Hope to seeing you again in future. Wishing you all the best! Romy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
18.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#10 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
19.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#29 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
20.0 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#4 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Karridene Beach
Protea Hotel Karridene Beach
#1 of 1 in Illovo Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hippo Hide Backpackers
Hippo Hide Backpackers
#19 of 62 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
24.3 mi away
Boma Lodge
Boma Lodge
#7 of 62 in Durban
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay