We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    11
    13
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
12
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

The facilities are good, but this place is very noisy. People party through the night regardless of whether it's Monday or Friday. The staff is great and very helpful. The place is close to eating places which is a plus

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm going to start with the positives which there is plenty of here. We pride ourselves on our staff. I'm glad you liked them. And yes we have substantial facilities and a "crackerjack" location. The party thing. Yes we are a festive place. That is our thing. It appears you stayed with us during season. Peeps... More 

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Great location but average stay. If you're a back packer into your partying this might be the place for you. We stayed in a double which was the same money as other places we've stayed in but nowhere near as nice. Tiny box room, uncomfortable bed, dirty shared bathroom. Good activities, cheap dorm beds, loud bar. Don't go for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Not our best review but I appreciate your honesty. The room. Yes some of our rooms are on the small side. That we can't change. but we are having a re look into the decor to try and make them a bit more appealing and check the beds for comfort. We do have some really... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The people at tekweni were really nice but: - double room was tiny with a minuscule window - bedsheets had hairs and stains all over them - the party really just consisted of unfriendly locals getting smashed, not particular inclusive I'd skip this place....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. "The people at Tekweni were really nice". We love that part of your review. That is our ultimate goal. Nice staff aiming at bringing more nice peeps together. Yes some of our rooms are on the smaller side but we try to make the most of them. The thing with the sheets is unacceptable though and... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We booked a dorm room for 6 people, ended up in a 10 bed room dorm. We complained and were told that all the rooms are same price and it is not possible to change. About the rooms: the beds are curved and it's horrible to sleep in there. If you move everyone is immediately awake. It is not really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I think. Definitely not our best. Yes are cleaning ladies are really nice as is all of our staff. Thanks. Sorry about the mix up with the dorms. It is a glitch in the system that happens sometimes. We were obviously very busy because we definitely would have changed it if we could. Last we checked... More 

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We have stayed in many hostels but this was by far the poorest hostel we have stayed in. Havind said that, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There are no towels supplied, the place is very old and in desperate need of a makeover. The location is great and the owners really need to put some money into updating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Definitely not our best. i am the owner as you mentioned me a couple of times in your review. I will take your review "on the chin". I know exactly when you were with us and part of the circumstance was unavoidable. The geyser for the hot water supply on the side of the backpackers you... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We ended up here after a long trip. We were upgraded because the dorms were full, but we didnt have to pay extra. The people are really nice and helpfull. Its close to a lot of nice restaurants and bars. But also the party in the hostel itself is worth a visit. The noice can get a bit much on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. You definitely get what we are about. Thank you. We hope to see you back again at some point. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

When one reaches a certain age you stop associating yourself with the backpacker lifestyle despite it still being all you can afford. It it thus always a treat to find a backpackers that accommodates all walks of life. Congenial staff that accommodate you gracefully when you continue to add nights to your already extended stay. Attention to detail, clean kitchen,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review. You really get us. We really aim at being a place that will appeal to all age groups. According to you we have achieved that. And "Crackerjack Vibe". Im going to use that in our future marketing. Thanks so much. Hope to see you back soon. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I came on the Baz Bus just in time for a Braai night, delicious! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I had a great time here. It was too cold for the pool but walking to the beach was lovely, and there is a grocery store 5 minutes away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We take great pride in our staff. So we love the title of your review. Thanks for the fantastic write up. We hope to see you back again. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in a dorm room. This is a great place to stay if you don't require much sleep. If the hostel isn't playing loud music than the club across the street is. There was also a big fight at 5 am one morning which woke everyone up. The desk staff during the day were nice but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Lots of positive and a bit of negative there. Yes we pride ourselves in being a festive place. We do our best to find an in between of good times and sleep time but occasionally the balance is a bit off. Sounds like you were with us at a very busy time. I'm sensing you did... More 

Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We shared a dorm with some South Africans who were great fun! During our stay in Tekweni we hang around with them. The dorm itself is a bit old (matresses as well) but the bathroom is clean and warm water. A big supermarket is closeby and around the corner there is a street with bars to have a cocktail or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you had a really good time with us and we hope to see you back again at some point. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tekweni Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay