We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    26
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
1
13
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately me and my girlfriend didn't have enough time on our trip and only stayed one night at Tekweni. It was among one of our best nights on the trip. Great times ahead if your booked in here. Tons of bar sports and lots of tequilas. Thanks for a memorable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I stayed at the hostel for a week, it is really good located in a safe zone, full of shops and nice restaurants. The stuff is super friendly and active, at least 3 times a week they arrange a common BBQ or Braai in South Africa. Clean swimming pool, and cool people always around ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Of all my memories in Durban, Tekweni is the best one. Every time I've stayed here has been great. The staff, facilities and the parties are some of the best you'll find anywhere. I cant wait to go back. Thanks for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I stayed at this Backpackers during Indaba 2015. The staff were very friendly, rooms were clean and the overall vibe was relaxed. There was also secure parking and overall a safe area. Within walking distance of Florida road and all the nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

Tekweni is the place to be if you would like good travel advice and a safe environment. Its right next to Florida Rd which has many good restaurants and a supermarkets. Its also only 20min walk from the beach. You can easily go for a run around the area (really pretty houses) or at the waterfront. Audrey and Ben are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review. Really glad you loved us and hope you make it back at some point. More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I spent 3 nights at tekweni whilst visiting Durban alone- all the staff were friendly and it was super easy to meet people. The vibe at the bar meant it was a great place to hang out, and evenings tended to end up in the pool! Definitely a place I'd recommend going to if you're looking to travel in Durban,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I see you really get what we are about. Fantastic! We hope to see you back again at some point. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

The facilities are good, but this place is very noisy. People party through the night regardless of whether it's Monday or Friday. The staff is great and very helpful. The place is close to eating places which is a plus

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm going to start with the positives which there is plenty of here. We pride ourselves on our staff. I'm glad you liked them. And yes we have substantial facilities and a "crackerjack" location. The party thing. Yes we are a festive place. That is our thing. It appears you stayed with us during season. Peeps... More 

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Great location but average stay. If you're a back packer into your partying this might be the place for you. We stayed in a double which was the same money as other places we've stayed in but nowhere near as nice. Tiny box room, uncomfortable bed, dirty shared bathroom. Good activities, cheap dorm beds, loud bar. Don't go for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Not our best review but I appreciate your honesty. The room. Yes some of our rooms are on the small side. That we can't change. but we are having a re look into the decor to try and make them a bit more appealing and check the beds for comfort. We do have some really... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The people at tekweni were really nice but: - double room was tiny with a minuscule window - bedsheets had hairs and stains all over them - the party really just consisted of unfriendly locals getting smashed, not particular inclusive I'd skip this place....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. "The people at Tekweni were really nice". We love that part of your review. That is our ultimate goal. Nice staff aiming at bringing more nice peeps together. Yes some of our rooms are on the smaller side but we try to make the most of them. The thing with the sheets is unacceptable though and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We booked a dorm room for 6 people, ended up in a 10 bed room dorm. We complained and were told that all the rooms are same price and it is not possible to change. About the rooms: the beds are curved and it's horrible to sleep in there. If you move everyone is immediately awake. It is not really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I think. Definitely not our best. Yes are cleaning ladies are really nice as is all of our staff. Thanks. Sorry about the mix up with the dorms. It is a glitch in the system that happens sometimes. We were obviously very busy because we definitely would have changed it if we could. Last we checked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#9 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#4 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#11 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#2 of 42 in Durban
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hippo Hide Backpackers
Hippo Hide Backpackers
#19 of 62 in Durban
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay