We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Durban accommodations

Hippo Hide Backpackers

2 Jesmond Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hippo Hide Backpackers to your Saves list
Hippo Hide Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
68%
Ranked #21 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Durban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Laura_and_Graham UK
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hippo Hide is a great haven in Durban. I stayed here for 9 weeks and had a fantastic time. The staff were helpful and really friendly, they spent a lot of time taking with us and solving all our problems! I stayed in one of the huts and it was beautiful! A little chilly in the middle of winter, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is amazing, everything is available. The staff have been very good. There are great views and a pool and a place to work or study. All the guests treat each other with respect and we even got to meet the owner Michellle, who was really friendly and helpful. Love Thandeka and Nonhlanhla

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Better than it's sister hostel Happy Hippo. In a gated house, with dorms and rooms in the garden, and communal areas. Not close to much, and a very long walk to the beach. No lockers for valuables, you had to leave them with reception. I only stayed one night so not much else I can comment on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were only here for one night, but it was a good night. The dorm is very spacious and clean. Their wifi wasn't working when we were there but I am sure it is going to be fixed soon. I think there are a lot of people living there on a slightly longer term so we sort of felt a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Brijerydoo, Thank you for taking the time out to review or lodge, it always great to have some positive feedback on how the lodge is running. The wifi is now totally free for our guests and is running okay again. Long terms guests can become too comfortable sometimes, especially when there is a large group. This is something we... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The "campsite" here is a tiny patch of grass inbetween the pool and rooms with absolutely NO PRIVACY whatsoever and no space for more than one tent or two small ones literally side by side. So we opted to stay in a "private" double which was anything but - right next to the car spaces, we heard car doors slamming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emmafu, Thank you for pointing out our problem with camping. We have at no time in eighteen years of trading claimed or advertised that we have a campsite. The service is only there for people trying to stretch their budgets. Your claim that you can only get two small ones side by side is fantastical at best as we... More

Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

the dorms are neat and tidy. comfortable and neat bedding. cool dorm with fan.bathroom and toilet en suite.. kitchen is neat and hygenic with lovely utensils.tea coffee sugar and milk free. microwave and clean fridge available. easy access to taxi and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. shops for provisions within walking distance from lodge.i reccomend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Vijay D, Thanks for the superb review, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my staff made you feel comfortable. Look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks again, Michael Brooks More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hippo Hide Backpackers Lodge is well located in Durban, you will find a checkers (supermarket) in walking distance close by. The nearest Mall is called Musgrave it includes a food court, cinema, Pick 'n' Pay and lots of stores... The Management at Hippo Hide Backpackers is very friendly, Ntando and Precious offer very good service. They helped us a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi JB, Thank you very much for the positive feedback, it is great to hear that my staff are making our guests happy and that the place was to your satisfaction. Thank you once again and we will strive to maintain these standards for all future tourists. Yours Sincerely, Michael Brooks More

Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I came to Durban for the first time I had some back luck with the choice of my backpacker – it was full, noisy and chaotic. So this time I decided to try different ones out before settling into the most suitable for my purposes for several weeks. At the end this was the Hippo Hide in Overport, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

We have to thank you for your review, it is both positive and constructive. We have taken on board everything you mentioned regarding maintenance and are in the process of fixing up these relatively easy things. We are sorry that these things have even occurred, I am sure that you noticed that the whole property was painted two months ago... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Hippo Hide and were overall disappointed with the service and accommodations. We stayed in the double room with the ensuite bathroom. On first inspection, the room appeared quaint and comfortable. We noticed a few moments later that the ensuite bathroom had NO DOOR! I would not have minded as much if I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rachel, it is always a shock when we get such a bad review, however we will take your points and gladly remedy them. I must point out though, that not once did you bring any of your concerns to the attention of my staff, if you had, we would have taken action immediately. Your reference... More

New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is a nice safe place to stat in Durban. Well maintained,centrally located, easily approachable. All the staff are cooperative, well behaved and cooperative. The place is away from noise and pollution free. Rooms are clean and bathrooms are also good.Garden place is well maintained. Oh pool is life of this place. Kitchen clean and well organized. I stayed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hippo Hide Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hippo Hide Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hide Backpackers

Address: 2 Jesmond Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hippo Hide Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Durban with
any amenities