We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Durban accommodations

Hippo Hide Backpackers

2 Jesmond Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hippo Hide Backpackers to your Saves list
Hippo Hide Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #20 of 60 Specialty lodging in Durban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013
Vijay D Richards Bay, South Africa
  • Reviews (19)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The "campsite" here is a tiny patch of grass inbetween the pool and rooms with absolutely NO PRIVACY whatsoever and no space for more than one tent or two small ones literally side by side. So we opted to stay in a "private" double which was anything but - right next to the car spaces, we heard car doors slamming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

the dorms are neat and tidy. comfortable and neat bedding. cool dorm with fan.bathroom and toilet en suite.. kitchen is neat and hygenic with lovely utensils.tea coffee sugar and milk free. microwave and clean fridge available. easy access to taxi and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. shops for provisions within walking distance from lodge.i reccomend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hippo Hide Backpackers Lodge is well located in Durban, you will find a checkers (supermarket) in walking distance close by. The nearest Mall is called Musgrave it includes a food court, cinema, Pick 'n' Pay and lots of stores... The Management at Hippo Hide Backpackers is very friendly, Ntando and Precious offer very good service. They helped us a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi JB, Thank you very much for the positive feedback, it is great to hear that my staff are making our guests happy and that the place was to your satisfaction. Thank you once again and we will strive to maintain these standards for all future tourists. Yours Sincerely, Michael Brooks More

Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I came to Durban for the first time I had some back luck with the choice of my backpacker – it was full, noisy and chaotic. So this time I decided to try different ones out before settling into the most suitable for my purposes for several weeks. At the end this was the Hippo Hide in Overport, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

We have to thank you for your review, it is both positive and constructive. We have taken on board everything you mentioned regarding maintenance and are in the process of fixing up these relatively easy things. We are sorry that these things have even occurred, I am sure that you noticed that the whole property was painted two months ago... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Hippo Hide and were overall disappointed with the service and accommodations. We stayed in the double room with the ensuite bathroom. On first inspection, the room appeared quaint and comfortable. We noticed a few moments later that the ensuite bathroom had NO DOOR! I would not have minded as much if I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Hippo Hide Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rachel, it is always a shock when we get such a bad review, however we will take your points and gladly remedy them. I must point out though, that not once did you bring any of your concerns to the attention of my staff, if you had, we would have taken action immediately. Your reference... More

New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is a nice safe place to stat in Durban. Well maintained,centrally located, easily approachable. All the staff are cooperative, well behaved and cooperative. The place is away from noise and pollution free. Rooms are clean and bathrooms are also good.Garden place is well maintained. Oh pool is life of this place. Kitchen clean and well organized. I stayed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A good and safe hostel which is located about 40 minutes away from the beach by foot. Quiet location, far away from noise of Durban city. But there are no restaurants in the direct surrounding. Friendly and helpful personnel, clean bedroom, bathroom and blankets on beds. Nice garden and original pool. But unfortunately, the surrounding of dorm-house is smelly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at Hippo Hide are very friendly and helpful. We had several day trips organized for us at good prices. The location is very safe, with a security gate in a quiet residential neighborhood. But it is at the bottom of a steep hill, and the local buses never seem to come. The closest shopping center is a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at The Hippo Hide 3 - 7 December 2012 Booking: We needed a place to stay on very short notice and they were able to accommodate us. Just has a side note: they didn't ask for a copy of our ID numbers or identification which I don't think is smart on their part because what if thief had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Hippo Hide has a great location in a safe neighborhood in Durban. When we stayed we did not feel unsafe walking to dinner (Cafe 1999 is a 15 minute walk). That said it is very hilly in the region so expect a bit of a workout. The downside on the location is that it is a bit far out from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hippo Hide Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hippo Hide Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hide Backpackers

Address: 2 Jesmond Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hippo Hide Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer