We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Vereeniging hotels

BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal to your Saves list
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
60%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rochelle12345 Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
25
Solo
0
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hosted our Annual Conference at Riviera on Vaal 26 - 28 August 2014 (All 91 rooms booked).Up until today i can not find anything to fault them on. I was onsite from 25-28th and not for one moment i had to look for staff to assist with any of my needs as there was always someone at arm's length.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vereeniging, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Vanderbijlpark Business Chamber was privileged enough to host one of our management meetings on The Petit Verdot. The team at this beautiful venue was accommodating, professional and very helpful. The Bon Hotel at Riviera on Vaal joined the Vanderbijlpark Business Chamber as a corporate member. The boat trip was exquisite with tranquil surroundings. The food that was served for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Corrie888 Thank you for the privilege of hosting the Vanderbijlpark Business Chamber, and for the compliments posted. We are happy to be associated with the chamber and look forward to the upcoming event. Craig Swart General Manager More

CPT-South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros:the hotel was nice.on the river.peaceful, perfect for quiet getaway.Staff were helpfull and friendly. Cons:gym only had 3 equipment,2 of which was not working. food was okay rooms:very clean,bathrooms outdated and needs some upgrading.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good day ABAAJacobs Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I am glad that you found the rooms clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I am also pleased to let you know that we have moved our Gym to a bigger space next to Murphys Kids club. The new gym has double the space and a lot more... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great night stop at this hotel with Family, the Family room had adequate comfort for the entire Family. Early check in was arranged as per my humble request, it was very quick and without glitches.....courtesy of the friendly staff. For the end of winter season the Vaal can be very cold, we do appreciate the enough blankets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Nkosana M Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. I am pleased that you managed to get some rest in between catching up with friends and working. I am happy to report that we have just signed off approval for the Gym to move to a bigger space next to Murphys Clubhouse that is far... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the venue was clean well maintained, I would like to have more functions there in the future and would gladly recomend it anyone planning a function of any sort

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day ImbaliPrimary Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting your event at our Hotel. We look forward to hosting more in the future. Craig Swart General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I decided to have a quick break near JHB. We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend and found it a bit disappointing. Booking in wasn't so smooth, with trainees at the front desk and the lady a bit surely. Even though the views from our room were great ( we had one of the executive suits)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Elmarie2014 Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your husband and yourself did not have the rest that you deserved at our property. I am glad that you found the hotel to be in a good condition and the staff friendly, however experiencing a not so smooth check in and not... More

cape town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

An overnight stop en route home. The hotel is right on the banks of the Vaal River and the outside verandah, garden and pool area is really beautiful. We were there in winter, but still enjoyed a sundowner on the patio. Rooms are all being upgraded and ours had a small sitting area which was useful. Bathrooms are small, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day gramench Thank you for the kind words on your stay with us. My team and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the next time you visit it will be more than just an overnight stop. I am also pleased to let you know that we launched our new wine list... More

JHB
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a buffet dinner there recently. It was expensive and the food was mediocre. Really disappointing when in the past we had great meals there. Everything except the chicken casserole and the fresh fruit salad was tasteless and unappetizing. Our waitron, Irene, was friendly and efficient but like the cold plates, the restaurant was lacking! So sad!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear reidJHB Please accept my sincerest apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your visit to Matthews Restaurant. We have just launched a new a La Carte menu, and my team and I will be focusing on our buffet to improve the variety and quality so that it can be restored to the level that we... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A beautiful setting overlooking the Vaal river, rooms were of a high standard, service was helpful and friendly with the staff going out of there way to accomodate us. A perfect place for a conference or short gettaway to refresh and unwind.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Mr. Koekemoer My team and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words on your stay and on the friendliness of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Craig Swart General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel building and grounds are in great condition and very well maintained. A lovely building indeed. Our suite was spacious, clean and comfortable and the location on the river is fantastic with wonderful views - perfect for a sundowner.It is also clear that much effort has been put in to the quality of the food, as service problems aside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day John H Thank you for your kind words on the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. It is important for us to get feedback on the things that we are doing right but more importantly on what we are not doing right. I would thus like to apologize for the lapses in service experienced... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Vereeniging with
any amenities