We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Vereeniging hotels

BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal to your Saves list
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
60%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Vereeniging
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Nkosana M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (50)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
25
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great night stop at this hotel with Family, the Family room had adequate comfort for the entire Family. Early check in was arranged as per my humble request, it was very quick and without glitches.....courtesy of the friendly staff. For the end of winter season the Vaal can be very cold, we do appreciate the enough blankets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the venue was clean well maintained, I would like to have more functions there in the future and would gladly recomend it anyone planning a function of any sort

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day ImbaliPrimary Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting your event at our Hotel. We look forward to hosting more in the future. Craig Swart General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I decided to have a quick break near JHB. We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend and found it a bit disappointing. Booking in wasn't so smooth, with trainees at the front desk and the lady a bit surely. Even though the views from our room were great ( we had one of the executive suits)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Elmarie2014 Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your husband and yourself did not have the rest that you deserved at our property. I am glad that you found the hotel to be in a good condition and the staff friendly, however experiencing a not so smooth check in and not... More

cape town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An overnight stop en route home. The hotel is right on the banks of the Vaal River and the outside verandah, garden and pool area is really beautiful. We were there in winter, but still enjoyed a sundowner on the patio. Rooms are all being upgraded and ours had a small sitting area which was useful. Bathrooms are small, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day gramench Thank you for the kind words on your stay with us. My team and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the next time you visit it will be more than just an overnight stop. I am also pleased to let you know that we launched our new wine list... More

JHB
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a buffet dinner there recently. It was expensive and the food was mediocre. Really disappointing when in the past we had great meals there. Everything except the chicken casserole and the fresh fruit salad was tasteless and unappetizing. Our waitron, Irene, was friendly and efficient but like the cold plates, the restaurant was lacking! So sad!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear reidJHB Please accept my sincerest apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your visit to Matthews Restaurant. We have just launched a new a La Carte menu, and my team and I will be focusing on our buffet to improve the variety and quality so that it can be restored to the level that we... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful setting overlooking the Vaal river, rooms were of a high standard, service was helpful and friendly with the staff going out of there way to accomodate us. A perfect place for a conference or short gettaway to refresh and unwind.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Mr. Koekemoer My team and I are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words on your stay and on the friendliness of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Craig Swart General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel building and grounds are in great condition and very well maintained. A lovely building indeed. Our suite was spacious, clean and comfortable and the location on the river is fantastic with wonderful views - perfect for a sundowner.It is also clear that much effort has been put in to the quality of the food, as service problems aside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day John H Thank you for your kind words on the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. It is important for us to get feedback on the things that we are doing right but more importantly on what we are not doing right. I would thus like to apologize for the lapses in service experienced... More

Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had a wonderful time at the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. When you visit the Riviera on Vaal ask for an east-facing room so that you can watch the sunrise over the Vaal River - what a spectacular view! There is much to do during your stay, but be sure not to miss the cruise along... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Good Day Iga Thank you for your review on our hotel. My staff and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the BOn Hotel Riviera on Vaal. We cant wait to welcome you back to enjoy the sunrise over the river. Regards Craig Swart General manager More

Germiston
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and myself stayed at the Hotel on two occasions. Both times the service was shocking and the buffet at dinner was terrible and cold. The staff were rude and you had to struggle to get service. Will definitely not stay at the Hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear TerryP9465ZU Thank you for your feedback on your stay. It saddens me that you received poor service delivery on two occasions. I would like to inform you that the ownership and managemnet of Riviera on Vaal has been taken over by Bon Hotels on the 3rd April 2014. Our main focus since taking over has been to improve on... More

Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I live in Three Rivers and only come to this hotel to enjoy thestunning view on the Terrace. Most of the time you have to beg a waiter to attend to you and the service is very slow. There are also not enough umbrellas. I long time stopped having lunch or dinner here as the buffet is aweful and extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Acting General Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this review

Dear visitor, thank you for your return visits to the Riviera and your interest shown in providing us with most valuable feedback. The team of the now newly branded BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, has as a core value, the wish to appeal to and attract our local community residents, to share and enjoy in the beauty of this jewel... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: Mario Milani Drive | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1930, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Vereeniging with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club is situated on a unique bend of the scenic Vaal River and a quick 45 minutes drive from Johannesburg. This luxurious resort caters for discerning business and leisure travellers alike. Whether you visit the hotel for a family getaway or for a conference, your needs will always be exceeded.This is one of few child friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance for family entertainment as well as business travel. Always ready to accommodate, amuse and entertain everyone with ample choices.The resort has 89 stylish and spacious rooms all featuring a unique angle of the Vaal River – where you can experience optimum quality, comfort and elegance during your leisure holidays. The accommodation packages include all the Vaal River resort’s entertainment offers ranging from golf and spa to delicious dining and pleasure cruises as well as water sports adventures. The hotel blends a comfortable stay seasoned with great activities that you will truly appreciate. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer