We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Capital Empire

177 Empire Place, cnr Rivonia Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, South Africa (Formerly Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Capital Empire
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Capital Empire
Add Photo

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    10
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
3
1
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great, modern apparthotel, convenient location close to shopping, conference venue and airport train. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. International plug was a bonus. Wifi works well (but you pay). Small gym, spa and business centre a nice touch. Part of a chain so you have plenty of options of sister properties even within Sandton. But security could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent all round experience with very good service, very clean environs and friendly staff. Perfect location just a few hundred meters from Sandton Mall. The Sandton area is relatively safer compared to other parts of South Africa. I felt very comfortable moving around the area with my valuables.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Capital Empire Hotel is a very nice European style hotel. Very beautiful rooms with a very nice bathroom. Although I had to wait a while to get my bath fixed, they managed to fix it after a few days, so I am enjoying it to the max :) Very friendly staff at breakfast and in the bar. Very small bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay was just so good! Such nice helpful and friendly staff, well appointed rooms, all the self catering items where thought of, even a washer and tumble dryer! Dinner menu was great and Breakfasts were also impressive! I will tell all my friends and i, myself, will also be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 2nd stay at this hotel, after a few hiccups at our first stay we decided to give it another go. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for our fairly long stay of two weeks. It has a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, great fridge, dining area, good size living area, balcony, big main bedroom and very large bathroom. Quality of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maputo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Good place to stay. I already recommend to my friends. I stayed in the rooms adviseble for family and this was fantastic. I would recommend to have in the room a list of things and how touse the facilities in the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnedette, Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear "claudiocV6174ZE", Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Capital Empire Hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words and it makes us very proud to know that our staff have lived up to your expectations and that you have recommended us already. Thank you for the... More 

Windhoek
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Stayed at the Capital Empire for one night and was pleasantly surprised. Security is real tight, for ease of mind in the center of Johannesburg. The rooms are adequately furnished and the design is well considered. Excellent gym and meeting facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnedette, Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear "imagine_kok", Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review. It is wonderful to know that we have lived up to your expectations and that our team has lived up to the promise by providing you with genuine and true hospitality. We look forward to welcome you back to The Capital Empire Hotel again... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

This was my second visit and I must say that it was better than the first visit. I liked the welcoming reception. They do not have great attention to detailed requests such as special room locations, etc.The staff do try to fix their mistakes which I liked. I found the restaurant service to poor. The waitron did not pay attention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burnedette, Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear "GrantH490", Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at The Capital Empire Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with our service delivery. It is very disappointing to know that we did not provide the high service level we strive to provide every guest. Your... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I recently stayed in this hotel and I chose it because I read the reviews saying it was a safe property. IT IS NOT. I went down for dinner and when I came back, my door was OPENED and I had 3 thousand stolen. The room next to us had also the door opened. The manager Christine said she would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Burnedette, General Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Fernanda, We have noted your review and we would like to respond as follows: You reported a theft and an immediate investigation was conducted. We did meet on the day of your departure and I confirmed that the alleged incident was top priority and would be investigated by me. Your safety and security is of paramount importance, therefore... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

The Capital Empire is a hybrid of a serviced apartment and hotel. The rooms are appointed to a high standard and the location is very convenient for Sandton and Rosebank. There is a small , but well equipped gym. Our stay was ultimately pleasant, although marred by avoidable customer service issues at the outset, which made our experience Very Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burnedette, Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear "n1968ick", Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with such a detailed review on your recent stay with us at The Capital Empire Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us with regards to your card payment on check in, your room being noisy and the confusion with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay