We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Capital Empire

4.0 of 5 177 Empire Place, cnr Rivonia Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, South Africa (Formerly Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Capital Empire
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Capital Empire
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
2
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On the 6th February 2015 at approximately 10pm I made made a booking for a 3 Bedroom Apartment at The Capital Empire on Booking.com and received a confirmation via email from booking.com When We arrived at approximately 3pm on the 9th February 2015 to check in, I was advised that as they had only just received notification of our booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

used single and double suites in the hotel for overseas guests coming to my daughter wedding. The accomodation and service in the hotel are 5 stars! The suites are magnificent- excellent design and beautiful furniture with a wonderful kitchen! The staff (tatho,heidi, Brandon ,Busi and all the others) were very helpful and understanding! The position of the hotel is perfect-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are fine (but noisy), staff is very pleasant (maybe asking a little too often if everything is ok...) and the location is great: walking distance from the shopping mall and very safe. But I have to say that the food is very disappointing. Breakfast is the same every single day: sausage and bacon are always overcooked, sorry I should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdrianW66, General Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear (DARBAX) Thank you for your feedback. We really do appreciate all the feedback that we can get. I was pleased to hear that you did have some positive aspects to your stay and where treated well by the staff. With regards to the your food and beverage experience, I sincerely apologise that we were not able to satisfy your... More 

Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

A group of 6 were attending a conference at the Sandton Convention Centre. This property was perfectly located, with a 4 min drive to the convention centre and within walking distance to Sandton City. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and it felt like home! Everything was perfect, including excellent service from the staff. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Spacious and comfortable accommodation in a superb area of Sandton. The establishment is well run and spotlessly clean. All the staff from the front desk, security and cleaning were friendly and welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This Hotel has been nothing short of magnificent. My stay was certainly a great one. The hotel staff are all great, friendly and always willing to help. I definitely must say the staff made the whole experience for my family in your beautiful hotel. I would recommend this hotel to the people I know and I will definitely be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I have to say one of the best Hotels in Johannesburg, always excellent friendly service and always willing to help if you need something. Very neat and clean at all times, food is amazing. Will definitely return and will recommend this Hotel to anyone. Everything you need if you have to leave home for business of pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Management and staff useless. Option of a "quiet room" chosen but ended up in a room on the busiest junction of main road....why offer this free option when booking the room only to be put there? Needless to say I didn't sleep a wink and I'm no light sleeper!! No running water next day but manager promised to send bottled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear “Mart1n2014”, Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with The Capital Empire Hotel. Unfortunately the water incident was something completely out of our control and once we were notified of this matter we immediately had our secondary water supply filling up our tanks and all rooms had water 20minutes later. I do agree... More 

New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This lovely place is for those who have all the time in the world. If you need fast service, please do not stay here. The housekeepers take hours to service an apartment - the housekeeper would clean the dishes, leave the apartment for 20 mins, come back to the apartment to clean the living room, leaving the apartment for another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnedette, Guest Relations Manager at The Capital Empire, responded to this review

Dear “ujwalaevani”, Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced thus far with regards to your room not being cleaned to your satisfaction. The General Manager has addressed this with our Executive Housekeeper who will on a daily basis be in contact with you to make sure that your room has been cleaned timeously and to your... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The hotel is very modern, comfortable and pleasant and is very near from Mandela Square (5min by foot). During my two nights stay on November 28th 2014: 1. I would recommend more carpets coverage in the room, the room floor feels and looks uncomfortable and freeze. 2. Some snacks and beverages would be pleasant to have in the room freezer... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Capital Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Empire

Address: 177 Empire Place, cnr Rivonia Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2146, South Africa (Formerly Empire Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capital Empire 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Capital Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Empire Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sandton

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay