We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Sandton hotels

InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers to your Saves list
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
PeterD11 Hamilton, Canada
  • Reviews (284)
  • Photos (78)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    109
    31
    16
    3
See reviews for
19
59
28
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The lobby appeared very busy when I arrived but I was quickly helped to register and was in my room in no time. My room is well appointed and comfortable and I had a very good first night sleep, which was a pleasant surprise after flying for 18hrs. All the staff I have encountered are very friendly and helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After recent stays at more modest venues in Tana River, Kenya, this was an absolute treat. Notwithstanding the relativity, this is an excellent hotel in every aspect. Location, fine and creative food, luxurious rooms, friendly and attentive staff and, the most powerful shower I've come across, perhaps they only comparable parallel with some parts of the Tana River.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I do trust that I will have the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit? More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in the VIP section top floor. Hotel staff were well clued up and very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the SkyBridge access to Sandton City and the easy walk to Nelson Mandela Square. The rooms were clean with everything you need. Enjoyed the little touches of the shower caps and most of all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and rating and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in 2014. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located across from a very large shopping centre (via a safe walk bridge). The hotel is modern and luxurious. Rooms are well appointed and modern reflecting the Intercontinental hotels standard. The spa, restaurant, room service and club floor are also of a high standard. We had a number of problems with the bed configuration and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems encountered with your room and the TV and the time taken, however, I am pleased to hear that everything was resolved to your satisfaction and also that the rest of your stay was good. More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is not bad but as usual in Sandton the staff need more one to one management as they don’t exactly exude job satisfaction or friendliness. The hotel is well equipped and the food is reasonable but I will be trying another venue for my next trip as everything was OK but not better than that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you did you enjoy your last stay with us More

Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a great hotel that has close access to great shopping. There is an covered bridge attached to the hotel that leads you into Sandton Shopping Center so you do not have to worry about safety. The staff are always helpful and extremely friendly. My mother had a operation and could not leave the room so they never had... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I wish your mother a speed recovery and trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again More

Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in this hotel several times since 2013. I enjoyed each moment I spent there, except one time when high security measures were put in place especially to protect some government members from SADC countries. However, thanks to the hotel management and staff for the courtesy notification about the ongoing event and for all efforts to reduce inconvenience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoy staying with us and thank you for the great feedback. I do trust that I will have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back on your next visit. More

Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've staid here before it is in a good location you are able to walk over to the mall easily which is great for food options. There were a number of minor problems though that added up to a less than average experience. There were problems with some of the electrical outlets not working. The wifi has a 3 device... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than average stay with us but thank you for the feedback. More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is quite large and the rooms are well appointed. However, the atmosphere here is somewhat tense. I went to the hotel bar in the main lobby to order food and a beverage in the evening by myself. My travel partner was not well. As I was going back up to my room, a man in a suit with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the unnecessary verbal abuse you witnessed. I also apologise for the lack of service and attention to detail that you experienced with several departments. However, I do trust that your safari was wonderful and that you saw the Big Five and lots of other animals! More

gaborone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay was great breakfast needs improvement.Rooms are very spacious and clean the service at the hotel is also 5 star.The location is also ideal as it is next to the mall . The pool area is also very nice if u have kids or would just like to relax the gym is also well equipped. I would definitely recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased to advise that we now have a new delectable breakfast offering, which I trust you will enjoy on your next visit. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers

Address: Corner Maude & Fifth Streets, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Hotel Sandton
Intercontinental Johannesburg Sandton Hotel
Intercontinental Sandton
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers Greater Johannesburg

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
5:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Sandton #2 Spa Hotel in Sandton #6 Romantic Hotel in Sandton #7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the safe hub of Sandton, Johannesburg with direct access to: shopping malls, Sandton Convention Centre, Food, Wine and excursions. Perfect for business of leisure. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
231

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer