We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Sandton hotels

Michelangelo Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Sandton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Wendy H Luanshya, Zambia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (408)
  • Photos (174)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    110
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
109
37
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luanshya, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is undoubtedly one of the best in Johannesburg and a favourite of mine. With sincere respect to management please don't leave it too long before a plan is executed for room refurbishments. They are beginning to look a little tired and it would be a shame to let them deteriorate further. Otherwise, a lovely hotel to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gauteng
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our kids had organised a party with friends and we were evicted for the night. We spent the night at the Michelangelo Hotel and it was great. Everything in the room was perfect,The linen was the best.best. Mbali served us breakfast the next morning and it was one of the best breakfast in Gauteng and her service was impeccable.I can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have now stayed in this hotel for 1 week and have another week to go. I normally write the reviews near the end of my stay or after I have left. This hotel is just disappointing in so many ways, however its just not bad enough to change hotels. The rooms are OK looking dated and tired they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Feanorq8 Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the service deficiencies you have thus far encountered. I assure you this is not our usual standard and these issues have been addressed. However we must reiterate that the signing of the breakfast bill is a procedural standard for us to keep track of all... More

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here on a number of occasions in recent years and quality of services is very good. The staff have always been attentive and friendly, especially the concierge. will definitely return when i next back in the country

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary T Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your feedback in particular your comment regarding our Concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 7 nights for business. I don't often review hotels unless they really make an impression - I really loved this hotel in every way. It is attached to a large mall, and surrounded by terrific restaurants and other entertainment is you need/ want it ( like casino, cinema). The hotel can arrange transport that is safe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toni T Thank you for your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our property and staff and are delighted your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A huge hotel right on Mandela square. With it's old charm, it's comfortable and luxurious. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. The wifi is just ok, you have to constantly reconnect. No irons in the room, but the staff will press your clothes upon request. Great bar downstairs and good breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Branchlikeatree Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for your comment regarding our staff and rooms. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed my stay at the Michelangelo. Amazing rooms and very central to everything. Would recommend it to business people as it is within walking distance of the Gautrain and the ICC in sandton JHB

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarcSizeland Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you for a ensuring our recent stay in Joburg was a memorable one. What made the stay so comfortable apart from the obvious luxurious surrounds and amenities was most definitely the level of service shown to us by the staff. Every point of contact with the staff at the Michelangelo exceeded our expectations. From Elmarie in reservations to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T T Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of the entire team, I extend our gratitude for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that your overall experience was a positive and memorable one and that your expectations were exceeded. Furthermore thank you for mentioning our staff in general and in... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had my wedding there and Michelle and Dean are spectacular. They helped me with everything from start to finish and Michelle was also there to offer me words of encouragement :) The rooms are beautiful and immaculate. The staff are warm and friendly. Room service was good and speedy. Thank you for making my wedding day and my stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lalaN81 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your special day with us. We are thrilled we managed to make your wedding day a memorable one and that you found our staff to be warm and friendly in particular Michelle and Dean. We hope to welcome you back in the... More

New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Much nicer to stay in Sandton than in jo'burg. This is beautiful property with very nice rooms and great service. Five star property that is perfect for business stays. Convenient to get to j'burg. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WC8882013 Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton #3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton #3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton #6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
242

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer