We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Sandton hotels

Michelangelo Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Sandton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Travelergirl998 Baltimore, Maryland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (412)
  • Photos (174)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (84)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    111
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
111
37
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here in March of this year and it was the best experience I have had in a hotel. As someone who has visited over 30 countries this means something to me. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. The ensured that we were comfortable and went above and beyond what was expected. I swear this is the last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was lucky enough to stay here, as my partner was on business. Staff are all extremely friendly, well presented and helpful. Room was on the small side, but had everything we needed, with a nice balcony view of the city. Bathroom very nice. Common areas very clean, quiet and posh. Spa had a good selection of treatments, and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Michelangelo Hotel in Santon is by far the best city hotel I ever stayed in. If I could I would gave them 7 stars. Their service and attention to detail is unbeatable. I found all staff extreamly friendly, helpfull and very well trained. The food is of outstanding quality. It is ideal for business meetings and is very well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mwanza, Tanzania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location in Johannesburg could not be better , overlooking Nelson Mandela Square whilst having breakfast was ideal . Being on top of the best shopping mall in town was a nice plus as well and a dozen good restaurants were within a couple of minutes walk . The rooms were spacious enough but the furnishings looked a little tired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frank R Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo. From the friendly staff to the best breakfast we've ever had, it was truly a memorable experience. The ambience throughout the hotel was lovely. The rooms are elegant but do need a bit of refurbishment. Other than that it was a great stay overall. Thanks for taking such great care of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kubashni07 Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted your experience was a memorable one and that you enjoyed our breakfast in particular. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Luanshya, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is undoubtedly one of the best in Johannesburg and a favourite of mine. With sincere respect to management please don't leave it too long before a plan is executed for room refurbishments. They are beginning to look a little tired and it would be a shame to let them deteriorate further. Otherwise, a lovely hotel to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy H Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your feedback and have noted your comments. Thank you for your support over the years and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Gauteng
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our kids had organised a party with friends and we were evicted for the night. We spent the night at the Michelangelo Hotel and it was great. Everything in the room was perfect,The linen was the best.best. Mbali served us breakfast the next morning and it was one of the best breakfast in Gauteng and her service was impeccable.I can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bredenoord Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review. We are delighted that your stay was a memorable one and that your kids managed to have a successful party in the process! We will certainly share your comments with the team in general and Mbali in particular. We hope your kids have another party soon and look forward... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have now stayed in this hotel for 1 week and have another week to go. I normally write the reviews near the end of my stay or after I have left. This hotel is just disappointing in so many ways, however its just not bad enough to change hotels. The rooms are OK looking dated and tired they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Feanorq8 Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the service deficiencies you have thus far encountered. I assure you this is not our usual standard and these issues have been addressed. However we must reiterate that the signing of the breakfast bill is a procedural standard for us to keep track of all... More

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here on a number of occasions in recent years and quality of services is very good. The staff have always been attentive and friendly, especially the concierge. will definitely return when i next back in the country

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary T Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your feedback in particular your comment regarding our Concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 7 nights for business. I don't often review hotels unless they really make an impression - I really loved this hotel in every way. It is attached to a large mall, and surrounded by terrific restaurants and other entertainment is you need/ want it ( like casino, cinema). The hotel can arrange transport that is safe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toni T Thank you for your wonderful review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our property and staff and are delighted your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Roberto Rosa General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 135 West Street, Nelson Mandela Square | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Johannesburg
Michelangelo Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Sandton #3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton #3 Luxury Hotel in Sandton #6 Business Hotel in Sandton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A member of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Michelangelo Hotel guarantees visitors a five-star stay whether spending the day to attend a conference, staying overnight or merely visiting for a breakfast, lunch or dinner meeting. The splendor of the hotel's Renaissance architecture in the heart of Sandton's business and leisure district, as well as the service excellence and world-class facilities on offer, sets The Michelangelo apart from its competitors. Built around a central atrium, guests enjoy the decadent use of space which gives the feeling of grandeur in an area where space is at a premium. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
242

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer