We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Sandton hotels

Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grayston Drive & Webber Road | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive to your Saves list
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
47%
Ranked #33 of 44 hotels in Sandton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014
Peter C Asker, Akershus, Norway
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Akershus, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Internet WiFi works as it should. The bed is comfortable. The staff smile a lot and remember your name on the second day. The price is 1/3 of the nearby Protea Hotels and this worked for me because I did not need a restaurant on call all day. The take-aways from Spur and the Grillhouse arrived warm and tasty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Been going there for as long as I can remember but the last time I was there 3 of our cars where stolen in the car park and we were told by management that you park at your own risk. Their cameras where not working, their gate was not working and they had 2 guards working while this was happening!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention - we will certainly look into this matter. More

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room was small but adequate. Good, hot shower. Old aircon, but works adequately once you get the hang of it. Iron delivered to room quickly on request. Had a lower ground room with a view of a wall, even though I requested an upper level room, but glad our room was quiet. Didn't take the breakfast option as breakfast ends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

You have to pay 195 rand for one day Internet access. Service not the best, unable to charge drinks to my room or pay by card, insisted on cash only!!!!!! Why???? Food terrible and it's not from the hotel, it comes from a take out restaurant and its delivered wrapped in foil. When I was told 45 mins when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From one extreme to the other! If you ever find yourself in Johannesburg avoid the town lodge in Sandton. We were far from warmly greeted. We ordered food which turned up about an hour later and freezing cold, as it was made somewhere else off the premises, it came wrapped in foil and all the sauce spilled onto my lap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cape Town
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spent a month at the Town Lodge (yes a month). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located in Sandton which is great. I was disappointed to find that items like an iron and hairdryer were kept at reception and that I had to pay for Wifi. I also had a bad experience with salmon I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rethink your booking at the town lodge! waited 15 minutes before being served a beverage due to the waitress assisting clients to order food over the phone from Mr.Delivery. Reception so poor in the dining hall you cannot even connect to google home page. There is a menu in the room, displaying wonderful food, but while sitting in the dinning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we will look into the points you have made. More

Saitama, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here once quite a long time ago, in 1999. We just wanted to find a safe hotel near the mall. We had a double room, which was clean and quiet. We could enjoy watching various African birds in the garden. The breakfast was good, the reception staff were helpful.This place is great for both business and leisure travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - why not come back for another visit? More

Durban
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

When you're looking for a place to stay, and you don't need more than a comfortable bed for the night... then this is place. It's local to most Sandton businesses for quick easy access. And if you've been at News Cafe till late, you can even walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about our hotel - we hope to welcome you again soon. More

Nottingham Road, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A clean comfortable hotel centrally situated in Sandton . I got in early and they let me check in at 09H00 - staff very friendly and willing to assist. Parking is free , but Internet is excessive and cell reception ( MTN) shocking -

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive

Address: Cnr Grayston Drive & Webber Road | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive Hotel Sandton
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive Greater Johannesburg

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A patio overlooking the swimming pool makes the hotel a relaxing spot in the hub of Sandton. Situated within close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes, 3 minutes drive to the shopping centres of Sandton City and Village Walk and a 30 minute drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
213

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer