We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Bryanston

3.0 of 5 cnr Main Road & Peter Place | Bryanston West, Sandton 2125, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
1
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Checked in for four working days. The hotel was nice and clean, the staff all round was fantastic. I loved the food, did not have breakfast though as I was not told it was included/not included in my room accommodation tariff. anyways I loved the fresh muffins in the morning on my way out to meetings. Beautiful place and venue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're happy that you enjoyed the meals on offer as well as the muffins. It's also great to hear that you found the hotel to be peaceful and relaxing. We can't wait to have you stay with us again! More 

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hotel was a real gem and the only 3 star experience we had was the bill! the rooms must have recently been upgraded...the towels were of a decent size and we even has tea an coffee facilities in the room and a complimentary beverage service in the lobby. The staff were friendly and efficient and it is really great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're happy to hear that you experienced 4 star service! It's also pleasing to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient - something that we pride ourselves on. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Durban
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Checked in for 3 days of visit to JHB, quick and efficient check in, complimentary fruit juices and bottled water on arrival, friendly and accommodating staff yet I didn't even make a booking or reservation . The porter was friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious and neat, very comfortable bed and pillows, huge shower and clean bathroom. Did not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a quick and efficient check-in process. It's also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed friendly and accommodating service from our staff - something which we pride ourselves on. We're also thrilled to hear that you were happy with the standard of the rooms and that you were... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel to stay for business. The staff are pretty helpful and nice. Kind of enjoyed my stay. The rooms are decent not extravagant but having the basic major needs. The major challenge is Internet provision which is given for only an hour and I don't think that's enough for business people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

We thank you for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff helpful and friendly. We will look into the issue with regard to the wifi offering. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at the City Lodge Bryanston for business for a few nights and overall thought it was okay. I would stay there again if I have to be in the area, but not without shopping for some snacks. For a basic business hotel it was fine, but the lack of real food is problematic unless you want to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

We thank you for the constructive review. We're glad that you found the room functional and to your satisfaction/ We have also noted your issues regarding the breakfast options. We hope that you will stay with us again. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed there recently for one night when my wife was giving birth at the Sandton mediclinic across the road. The reception service was pretty good and friendly. The rooms are very dated and are in serious need of a revamp. The bathrooms seem extremely old. Plenty black mildew on the shower tiles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We'd like to congratulate you on the birth of your child. We will take the issues you have raised into consideration and take action where it is needed. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I choose this hotel whenever I need to stay in the Bryanston area. The staff are extremely friendly and the room is comfortable. Whenever I have a problem the staff will go out of their way to help. The hotel is very simple, with no airs and graces, but it provides a level of comfort which is more than adequate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're so pleased to hear that we are your 1st choice when you travel to Bryanston. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to believe that in this day and age, a hotel catering for the business traveller could be so bad - but you better believe it...the City Lodge in Bryanston, Johannesberg is that hotel! Where to begin? With the completely useless staff at reception,not the duty manageress who just did the verbal shoulder-shrug and batted off complaints by handing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Please accept our apologies -we will most definitely look into this as we do with these sorts of matters. Please note that we only recently started offering one hour free so this is an improvement for us. Thank you for informing us about the issues you came across during your stay. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was perfectly friendly. when I returned early evening to have something to eat., It took an eternity and a great deal of chasing to get them to produce food from their menu (an hour and a half). They said it was because of the slowness of the microwave. If this comment gets them to upgrade their microwave ovens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the food. We will definitely look into the microwave dilemma. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A neat and tidy hotel located near all amenities. The hotel is also close to coachmans crossing which boasts numerous eaterys. The rooms are roomy and clean. The dining room also catering very well for the discerning breakfast eater.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bryanston, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. We hope to see you soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Lodge Hotel Bryanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bryanston

Address: cnr Main Road & Peter Place | Bryanston West, Sandton 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bryanston 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bryanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bryanston Hotel Sandton
City Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay